Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Old Jan 31, 2013, 04:56 PM   #1
rockyroad55
macrumors 68040

College students, how do you use your iPad?

I'm a student trying to see if an iPad will help me in my studies. Just looking to see how the rest of you guys use it for academics.
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:06 PM   #2
David58117
macrumors regular

When I had mine, I would use goodnotes and a stylus to take notes, either over downloaded slides or by creating a virtual notebook and using it as a notebook replacement.

I would also be running a voice recorder app and recording the audio lectures.

I could then email the mp3 or exported pdfs to myself and study on any device.

I've since sold my iPad and moved on to a macbook air - but am really missing the iPad.

If you're studying a subject that requires tons of equations and math - the iPad with a stylus is simply unbeatable.
David58117 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:17 PM   #3
Stooby Mcdoobie
macrumors 6502a

The iPad came out during my third year of college, so I was only able to use it for about two and a half semesters before I graduated. It was great for reviewing my professors' PowerPoint slides while studying for tests. Substantially reduced my need to print things. None of my books had an ebook version, unfortunately, but there is another reason an iPad is a great tool to have.

I don't see it as practical for note taking, especially if you have to draw a lot of diagrams, or for writing long papers. But maybe there is better note taking software now than when I first got my iPad.
Stooby Mcdoobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:20 PM   #4
rockyroad55
macrumors 68040

Quote:
Originally Posted by David58117 View Post
When I had mine, I would use goodnotes and a stylus to take notes, either over downloaded slides or by creating a virtual notebook and using it as a notebook replacement.