Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:55 PM   #1
ugr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Is it possible to play Duke Nukem 3D/ Doom on a Mac and how?

I've always wanted to play duke nukem 3D or doom on a mac, but they are strictly windows games! I know that ports are made for windows games, so is there a port or any other way to play duke nukem 3D or doom on a mac?
__________________
Make sure to come to my website, ultimategamereviewer.webs.com! We review Wii, DS, 3DS,PC,Mac and PS3 games!
ugr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 06:43 PM   #2
ScottishCaptain
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
No, they're DOS games. The Windows ports came after the original DOS versions.

What you want is Boxer (boxerapp.com). This app will let you setup a virtual DOS computer that runs under Mac OS X, and through that you can easily play Doom and Duke Nukem 3D exactly the way you would have played them in '96.

-SC
__________________
2010 Mac Pro (MacPro5,1), 2*2.93ghz, 64GB, 4x2TB, Apple RAID Card, 5970 GPU, 2xSD, Eizo CG276W
ScottishCaptain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:37 PM   #3
labars
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Actually, www.gog.com has Duke Nukem 3D available for Mac, and a bunch of other retro games as well. Check them out!
labars is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 06:21 AM   #4
iMacFarlane
macrumors 65816
 
iMacFarlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Phaselocking Psychos somewhere on Pandora
To answer the OP's question, these folks had the following to say:

Duke Nukem: "Come get some!"
Space Marine: "Hell, yes!"

Don't settle for DOS emulators that replicate that experience you had on your 486SX back in the day. Each of these have source ports that, while they require the game files from the games to play, are free. With modern graphics, console options, control options, resolution options, lighting, 3D acceleration support, etc., those alien bastards are going to pay for shooting up your ride like never before!

For Duke Nukem, google "eduke32"
For Doom (Doom II, Hexen, Heretic), google "doomsday engine"
For Descent (I and II), google "dxx-rebirth"
__________________
Knowledge is power. Learn something new every day!
iMacFarlane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 06:58 PM   #5
ScottishCaptain
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Don't settle for DOS emulators that replicate that experience you had on your 486SX back in the day. Each of these have source ports that, while they require the game files from the games to play, are free. With modern graphics, console options, control options, resolution options, lighting, 3D acceleration support, etc., those alien bastards are going to pay for shooting up your ride like never before!
Isn't replicating the experience you had back in the day precisely the point of playing these old games again?

If it isn't, then why stop at eduke32? Why not go all the way to Duke Nukem Forever, where they overhauled everything and turned it into Just Another Generic FPS? Why stop at Doom II when you can have Doom 3 (which I thought was a great game by the way)? Why stop at Command and Conquer 1995 (Tiberium Dawn) when you can have C&C 4?

It's not the same. Being blasted with 640x480 resolution in a limited colour palette is what makes it awesome. That cheesy General MIDI music from SimCity 2000 and the decrepit graphics is what totally takes you back to 1994. If I didn't care about the time travel, then I'd just play SimCity 4.

Now get off my lawn.

-SC
__________________
2010 Mac Pro (MacPro5,1), 2*2.93ghz, 64GB, 4x2TB, Apple RAID Card, 5970 GPU, 2xSD, Eizo CG276W
ScottishCaptain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 02:41 PM   #6
MustangGT
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMacFarlane View Post
To answer the OP's question, these folks had the following to say:
... Don't settle for DOS emulators that replicate that experience you had on your 486SX back in the day. Each of these have source ports that, while they require the game files from the games to play, are free. With modern graphics, console options, control options, resolution options, lighting, 3D acceleration support, etc., those alien bastards are going to pay for shooting up your ride like never before!

For Duke Nukem, google "eduke32"
Well, your reasoning makes sense, but it just doesn't work for me. To play eduke32, I need original disc. Which I do. Actually I have two, normal edition, and platinum edition, but both are for DOS. )Clearly, I was a great fan of the game )

Besides, my brand new iMac doesn't have an optical disk reader Any suggestions?
MustangGT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 04:28 PM   #7
bobriot
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Wait a sec, I play dos games on the mac and I can tell no difference to what I used to play in 1995.

Get Boxer (http://boxerapp.com)

Get the CD Rom of duke nukem 3d (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/duke-nukem...item3f21940e18)

Get some


-------------------
Hail to the king baby
bobriot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 07:46 AM   #8
Irishman
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ugr View Post
I've always wanted to play duke nukem 3D or doom on a mac, but they are strictly windows games! I know that ports are made for windows games, so is there a port or any other way to play duke nukem 3D or doom on a mac?
The closest you can get right now is playing Duke Nukem 3D on iOS. It plays fine on the iphone, but the controls work better on either of the iPads (4th gen or mini).

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangGT View Post
Well, your reasoning makes sense, but it just doesn't work for me. To play eduke32, I need original disc. Which I do. Actually I have two, normal edition, and platinum edition, but both are for DOS. )Clearly, I was a great fan of the game )

Besides, my brand new iMac doesn't have an optical disk reader Any suggestions?
Pick up a Superdrive and be happy.
Irishman is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 08:18 AM   #9
iMacFarlane
macrumors 65816
 
iMacFarlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Phaselocking Psychos somewhere on Pandora
Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangGT View Post
Well, your reasoning makes sense, but it just doesn't work for me. To play eduke32, I need original disc. Which I do. Actually I have two, normal edition, and platinum edition, but both are for DOS. )Clearly, I was a great fan of the game )

Besides, my brand new iMac doesn't have an optical disk reader Any suggestions?
I don't think you got my point . . . if you have the original disk, do an install into a DOS machine (WinX, DOS, Boxer, DosBox, whatever). Then follow the instructions for "eDuke32" in order to play your game, Mac OSX native, transforming your Boxer version on the top of the picture, to the eDuke32 version on the bottom of the picture. Nice, no?



And as far as the lack of optical disc on your Mac:
1. Boo, Apple! Boo!
2. Surely you have an old clunky windows machine or a friend has one. Install the game on that machine and just copy the files to a thumb drive to put back on your Mac.
__________________
Knowledge is power. Learn something new every day!
iMacFarlane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 08:31 AM   #10
Irishman
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMacFarlane View Post
I don't think you got my point . . . if you have the original disk, do an install into a DOS machine (WinX, DOS, Boxer, DosBox, whatever). Then follow the instructions for "eDuke32" in order to play your game, Mac OSX native, transforming your Boxer version on the top of the picture, to the eDuke32 version on the bottom of the picture. Nice, no?

Image

And as far as the lack of optical disc on your Mac:
1. Boo, Apple! Boo!
2. Surely you have an old clunky windows machine or a friend has one. Install the game on that machine and just copy the files to a thumb drive to put back on your Mac.
Hey, love the accelerated version of Duke you showed. Where can one find it, and how high a resolution can it play?
Irishman is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 09:42 AM   #11
iMacFarlane
macrumors 65816
 
iMacFarlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Phaselocking Psychos somewhere on Pandora
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irishman View Post
Hey, love the accelerated version of Duke you showed. Where can one find it, and how high a resolution can it play?
Have a look at post #4 in this thread, but here's the skinny:

For Duke Nukem, google "eduke32"
For Doom (Doom II, Hexen, Heretic), google "doomsday engine"
For Descent (I and II), google "dxx-rebirth"

I'm pretty sure these will run at any resolution you can support. Can't vouch for retina, though, as I don't have one of those fancy things.

Shake it, baby!
__________________
Knowledge is power. Learn something new every day!
iMacFarlane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:15 PM   #12
MustangGT
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMacFarlane View Post
I don't think you got my point . . . if you have the original disk, do an install into a DOS machine ...
I do not have an old DOS machine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iMacFarlane View Post
And as far as the lack of optical disc on your Mac:
1. Boo, Apple! Boo!
It is not that I am missing optical discs.

Anyhow, I purchased a copy of Duke Nukem 3D (Atomic Edition) from got yesterday. At $ 5.99 it is a bargain. I guess I can also use it as a basis for installation of Eduke32, right?
MustangGT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 02:02 PM   #13
Renzatic
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Who puts the washers in the woods?
Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangGT View Post

Anyhow, I purchased a copy of Duke Nukem 3D (Atomic Edition) from got yesterday. At $ 5.99 it is a bargain. I guess I can also use it as a basis for installation of Eduke32, right?
Yup. The GOG version uses the same files and executables from the original game, so it'll work just fine with EDuke32.

And while we're here talking about old FPS games from days of yore, I'm gonna throw out my props for Blood. It's probably one of the most woefully neglected games from the golden age of the genre. It even beats out Duke Nukem 3D in my opinion.
Renzatic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 02:02 PM   #14
iMacFarlane
macrumors 65816
 
iMacFarlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Phaselocking Psychos somewhere on Pandora
Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangGT View Post
Anyhow, I purchased a copy of Duke Nukem 3D (Atomic Edition) from got yesterday. At $ 5.99 it is a bargain. I guess I can also use it as a basis for installation of Eduke32, right?
Yes, all you need are the "game files" that are located inside the file you got from GOG. If memory serves, you need a file called "DUKE.GRP" or something like that, the instructions are all in the eDuke32 docs and on the webpage for it. I played through the whole game again last year, and it was hella fun. So much better than the Forever Fiasco.
__________________
Knowledge is power. Learn something new every day!
iMacFarlane is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duke Nukem (Next Gen) ValtermcPires Console Games 6 Feb 2, 2014 05:21 PM
General: Old school DOS GAIMZ on iOS - DOSPad (Duke Nukem, Doom, Homm, Star Wars, Rayman) Arthanic Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Sep 15, 2013 11:49 AM
OS X: Eduke32 with Duke Nukem 3D on iMac MustangGT Mac and PC Games 3 Feb 4, 2013 03:41 PM
GOG.com Offering Classic FPS Duke Nukem 3D For Free MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 47 Dec 17, 2012 02:56 PM
OS X: Duke Nukem 3D Free at GOG.com Duouk2000 Mac and PC Games 0 Dec 13, 2012 01:38 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC