Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 1, 2013, 08:15 PM   #1
childoftheko4n
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
New Airport Extreme Setup: Accessing the HDD

Hey All,

So i went ahead and got myself an airport extreme as i need a new router. I have an external 1TB drive plugged in, and am able to access while on the network with no problems via mac, iphone and ipad.

However i am having some difficulty in seeing a way to connect outside the network via iOS. At the moment (temporary setup, not my chocie) i have the following setup, which seems to give me a hard time connecting otuside via any device.

modem - linksys router - AEBs

I am awful with networking
childoftheko4n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 05:29 AM   #2
rockarollr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Have you tried going into the settings of the Linksys router and turning off the hardware firewall? That could be blocking access to the hard drive from the Internet.
rockarollr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 09:35 AM   #3
satcomer
macrumors 68040
 
satcomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upstate NYS
You could research the devices port that use remote access and compare that to the ports (that you need to open on the Linksys ports) to the "Well Known" TCP and UDP Ports By Apple software Products. However if you are not super tech savy I urge you use services like Slink or ShareTool (as well as others that could do the same) and use one of those remoter services.
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 2.8 Quad(Rev B.), 16 G RAM, OS X 10.9, 23'' LCD
Mac Book Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, SuperDrive, 2G RAM, OS X 10.7.5
iPad 3, 32 black
satcomer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 09:41 AM   #4
monokakata
macrumors 6502a
 
monokakata's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hilo, Hawai'i
Other posters interpret "connect outside the network" as meaning that you'd like to get into your network and at the drive from outside -- from another location.

But I'm wondering if you don't mean "get outside," that is, connect to the internet.

If the Linksys is doing the routing (meaning, acting as the DHCP server and NAT) have you set the AE to "bridge" mode, so that it doesn't try to be a router/NAT itself?

When I made some changes to my Time-Warner account, they brought me a Ubee modem/router combo which (until I figured out how to place the Ubee into bridge mode) insisted on being the NAT and DHCP server, and the only way I could make my Time Capsule work was to switch it into bridge mode.

You say that it's not your choice, but does this mean you can't get rid of the Linksys?

Or can you at least temporarily take it out of the chain and go directly modem-->AE? If that works, then you know where the problem lies.
monokakata is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC