Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:08 PM   #1
tbluhp
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
iphone 5 on tmobile

ok so the t-mobile 1900mhz is in my area alot of people I know get it but me no. I have verizon iphone 5 with a precut down micro sim card. Why can't I get good data only able to get EDGE others get 3g or 4g uisng tmobile iphone 5.
tbluhp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:11 PM   #2
dtbratt
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stoney Creek, ON
T-Mobile is currently reframing their network. You just may not get it in your area.
__________________
dtbratt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:13 PM   #3
CEmajr
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
The refarming process is still incomplete and a work in progress. Even in the markets that they have announced as "live" are not 100% yet. You will have to wait until they finish.
CEmajr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:14 PM   #4
AlphaDogg
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtbratt View Post
T-Mobile is currently reframing their network. You just may not get it in your area.
You mean like a picture?

I think you mean refarming..

OP: are you on prepaid or postpaid?
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:22 PM   #5
Ann P
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California
They'll probably get to you. Right now I'm stuck in between two cities that get 3G/4G, while my own does not!
Ann P is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:26 PM   #6
tbluhp
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaDogg View Post
You mean like a picture?

I think you mean refarming..

OP: are you on prepaid or postpaid?
Hi I am on montly 4G prepaid postpaid if got would cost $300

Also dose it matter if it was the ATT or Verizon Phone.
tbluhp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:33 PM   #7
AlphaDogg
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbluhp View Post
Hi I am on montly 4G prepaid postpaid if got would cost $300
If you have a data plan, no matter if it's pre- or post-paid, you should be getting 3G on your iPhone. However, that isn't true if tmobile isn't done refarming their network in your area. Where do you live?

Doesn't matter, AT&T and VZW iPhones both work on T-Mobile's 3G network.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:53 PM   #8
Satnam1989
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
 
see vendor information in user profile
Both AT&T and Verizon iPhone 5 will Support T-Mobile HSPA+ (21mbps or if its DC-HSPA+ up to 42mbps "4G" Data Speeds), However if in near future T-Mobile launches LTE on band 4 and/or 7a (if im correct i know Verizon is on 700c) then Only AT&T iPhone 5 will support LTE.
Satnam1989 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:58 PM   #9
tbluhp
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaDogg View Post
If you have a data plan, no matter if it's pre- or post-paid, you should be getting 3G on your iPhone. However, that isn't true if tmobile isn't done refarming their network in your area. Where do you live?

Doesn't matter, AT&T and VZW iPhones both work on T-Mobile's 3G network.
Funny I just got off the phone with a friend and when I did it showed up 3G then a second later went down to E. It must be my house. I think I will just stick with verizon or get a nexus 7 and see if I really get 4G?
tbluhp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 09:20 AM   #10
upnorth85
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
You will find wildly different feedback about the refarmed 1900 Mhz 3G network of T-mobile. Many were using exclusively Edge/2G for years and the mere sight of occassional 3G or infrequent 3G elates them. Then there are others who have had great Verizon experience and come to T-mobile to save money who will be very disappointed with the shoddy T-mobile network. Even though T-mobile claims over 100 million US population covered, they refuse to put up any 1900 Mhz 3G coverage maps. They are deliberately misleading customers of other networks by using 3G/4G on their coverage maps without specifying that this does not include iPhone coverage. I personally bought an iPhone 5 after Minneapolis was refarmed for 1900 Mhz frequency on 3G. What I got was frequent Edge coverage, dropped calls, frequent no network status. I finally moved back to my Samsung Galaxy S2 on T-mobile's 4G network, which I would say is pretty good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbluhp View Post
ok so the t-mobile 1900mhz is in my area alot of people I know get it but me no. I have Verizon iPhone 5 with a precut down micro sim card. Why can't I get good data only able to get EDGE others get 3g or 4g uisng tmobile iphone 5.
upnorth85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC