No wave editor in Pro Tools? - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 2, 2013, 11:13 AM   #1
Spoiled
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
No wave editor in Pro Tools?

Is there no wave editor in Pro Tools 10, or is it just me who can't find it?
Spoiled is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 08:45 PM   #2
Freqsound
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
The waveform editor in ProTools is called the Edit Window. Using command-equal sign will toggle between the Mix and Edit window, and/or open either window if they are not already open. You can also access them from the Window menu.
Freqsound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 08:54 PM   #3
Buenos Aires
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
No there is no destructive wave editor in PT. As opposed to Logic where you have the sample editor.
So as said above you can only make non-destructive editing in the edit window.
A workaround could be to consolidate the edited region (option+shift+3) and export the consolidated clip as an audio file (in the clip list , right click export clip as file)
Buenos Aires is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 02:16 PM   #4
Freqsound
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
No there is no destructive wave editor in PT.


That is not true. The Pencil tool can perform destructive edits on a waveform, but the tool doesn't become active unless you are zoomed in to sample level. The tool appears grey while over the waveform when its inactive and in color when its active. You'll know you're zoomed in far enough when the waveform no longer appears as filled in shapes, but as a line. These edits are undoable only in the short term. Once you hit save or close the file you can NOT undo these edits.

-Glenn
www.freqsound.com
Freqsound is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools/Logic pro people jboyd710 MacBook Pro 6 Jul 20, 2013 04:11 PM
Baseline Macbook Pro 13" For HD Video Editing, Pro Tools, Photoshop and more. trialsjames MacBook Pro 6 Aug 25, 2012 02:48 AM
Avid's Pro Tools X and Retina Macbook Pro Santiago17a Digital Audio 11 Jul 31, 2012 12:15 PM
Pro Tools 10 on 10.8 CrAkD OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jul 21, 2012 03:10 PM
Pro Tools 10 and processing power on my MacBook Pro- constant overloads NBarnes21 Digital Audio 2 Jul 3, 2012 01:57 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC