Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Wmaph12

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 2, 2013
Hi all,

So a bit of back story- never had a mac before but am in a situation where I need to get a new laptop as my windows one is on its last legs.

I'm a second year university student that does physics so I quite often will end up processing masses of information using excel, Mathematica or matlab. I'm also going to pursue a PhD so will need it to have oomf over the next few years. Apart from that I will only use it for watching movies and Internet uses as I don't game.

So I'm definitely decided on the MBP 13" but I'm undecided on some of the configurations. Mainly is it worth getting a configuration of i7 processor, 8gb ram and SSD drive or would an i5 8gb hard drive be usable?

I want it to be fast day to day so have been considering the ssd memory (if I get this from the apple store does it just give you the ssd drive or is it hard drive +ssd. Cost is a bit of an issue (no more than £1200- inc student discount) but again I'm investing for the next 3 years. The las thing is how likely is it that retina will become standard in the summer release?

Spink10

Suspended
Nov 3, 2011
Oklahoma
i5 or i7 are both good - its still dual-core

RAM - upgrade yourself - saves lots of $$
HDD - upgrade yourself - saves lots of $$ Apple charges too much for SSD

rMBP standard this summer - 50/50 (I personally think it will still exist at least in the 13inch model - otherwise base MBP price point will be to high - no way apple drops rMBP 500)

Wmaph12

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 2, 2013
Will I see the difference in the i7 core given its only duel? If not then I'd get the i5 processor and maybe just do the ram upgrades ( don't want the faff of reinstalling the os from a USB image) also do custome upgrades voint apple warranty?

Spink10

Suspended
Nov 3, 2011
Oklahoma