Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 3, 2013, 08:49 AM   #1
benji21
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: LA
New router = dropped speeds

I was having a connection speed of 15 to 17MBPS and now since I have installed a new router, I'm getting 2 to 3MBPS. :/

What could of gone wrong? what do I need to check to hopefully get these speeds back up to what they were?

and I ge these speeds with wired and wireless.

Thanks,
benji
benji21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 08:54 AM   #2
MarkG21
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Maybe there is a firmware update available? Which router?
MarkG21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 09:00 AM   #3
benji21
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: LA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkG21 View Post
Maybe there is a firmware update available? Which router?
Hi, it's a TP-Link router
benji21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 09:07 AM   #4
marzer
macrumors 65816
 
marzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by benji21 View Post
I was having a connection speed of 15 to 17MBPS and now since I have installed a new router, I'm getting 2 to 3MBPS. :/

What could of gone wrong? what do I need to check to hopefully get these speeds back up to what they were?

and I ge these speeds with wired and wireless.

Thanks,
benji
If you provide details of your setup people will have a better chance of assisting. Make/model, what bands are you running, how many devices and how are they linked together. What kind of distances you are operating across.
marzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 11:52 AM   #5
Primejimbo
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago area
Could be anything. If you live in a condo or apartment you're probably fighting other routers signals. Other issues could be mirror, microwaves, and other things. I would see if there is a firmware updates, change the radio channels, and like the above comment, how close are you to the router?
Primejimbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 12:02 PM   #6
benji21
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: LA
I've PM'd you prime
benji21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 04:34 AM   #7
benji21
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: LA
Okay, so I just plugged in the router that my service provided me and the speed is back up to it's norm. It doesn't like having a different router than the one I had.. weird.

Thanks to everyone who helped though!
benji21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC