Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 3, 2013, 09:32 AM   #1
Stayfly2407
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: VA
LTE and Microcell

Does anyone know if the AT&T microcell is LTE compatible? I have a iP5 and microcell, 4G connects with no problem but we just got LTE in my area in VA just this past week and i havent been able to connect to LTE while at home. Anyone have any knowledge on this?
Stayfly2407 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 09:38 AM   #2
balbrt1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I can not help you with the Iphone 5 and microcell but hopefully someone will soon. I have a microcell and works perfectly will microcell. I did read some posts on here on how to get the microcell and Iphone 5 to work. Maybe if you do a search it will show up. the instructions was quite detailed... Good luck
balbrt1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 09:41 AM   #3
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
LTE is only for data, right? When you make a voice call, the phone switches back to 4G.

Do you not use WiFi for data when you're at home with the microcell?
aristobrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 09:57 AM   #4
Givmeabrek
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NY
The microcell is not LTE compatible. But since you are home and probably on wifi it shouldn't matter.
Givmeabrek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 10:03 AM   #5
Parky84
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I have a microcell with iPhone 5 but no lte. I use the wifi for data. The calling works great with the iPhone 5.
Parky84 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 10:05 AM   #6
Stayfly2407
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: VA
No, you all are misunderstanding me. My microcell connects to my iphone5 with no problem. I'm not asking about data, the point if the microcell is to boost your cell signal which it does but if I'm on the phone it's no longer on LTE it switches back to 4G. I don't want to use wifi anymore because LTE is way faster than the broadband Internet in my house plus I have unlimited data. So wifi is no longer needed
Stayfly2407 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 10:09 AM   #7
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stayfly2407 View Post
No, you all are misunderstanding me. My microcell connects to my iphone5 with no problem. I'm not asking about data, the point if the microcell is to boost your cell signal which it does but if I'm on the phone it's no longer on LTE it switches back to 4G. I don't want to use wifi anymore because LTE is way faster than the broadband Internet in my house plus I have unlimited data. So wifi is no longer needed
YOU dont understand. LTE is ONLY used for a data connection, not for voice. all voice connections are sent over EDGE/3G/HSPA+. this is why the phone switches to 4G when you make a call. as the other said, which is correct, the microcell is only for EDGE/3G/4G connections, not LTE data. you need to use your wifi for faster data. if your wifi is that much slower than LTE, you need to upgrade your home cable service.

EDIT: it says right on the at&t microcell website that its for 3G/4G connections....not LTE.
__________________
Verizon iPhone 5S 32GB Space Grey
iPad Mini 16GB Black, iPad 1 32 GB Black
iPod Touch 4th Generation 64GB Black
Apple TV 3rd Generation, Apple AirPort Express 2nd Generation
dictoresno is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 10:17 AM   #8
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stayfly2407 View Post
No, you all are misunderstanding me. My microcell connects to my iphone5 with no problem. I'm not asking about data, the point if the microcell is to boost your cell signal which it does but if I'm on the phone it's no longer on LTE it switches back to 4G. I don't want to use wifi anymore because LTE is way faster than the broadband Internet in my house plus I have unlimited data. So wifi is no longer needed
If LTE is faster than your WiFi when the MicroCell is turned off, then you probably have such a good signal in your home now that the MicroCell is unnecessary. I used to have a MicroCell at my place, but then AT&T improved the signal here to the point that the MicroCell was pointless. I brought the thing to my parents house so my phone would work in their dead spot.
bohbot16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 10:28 AM   #9
Stayfly2407
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: VA
Oh I DO understand how it works. And my signal is not good at all without the microcell
Stayfly2407 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 10:29 AM   #10
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
The microcell is primarily used to help a dead spot or spotty home reception. The use of sharing data is a plus side of using it for up to 4 devices. But it's not meant to replace a home Internet connection. They wouldn't allow you to kill LTE bandwidth by substituting it as your home replacement Internet. And it clearly states on the website that it doesn't include LTE. This is why you won't get LTE connection while connected to the microcell. If you want LTE, disconnect from it. Your question has been answered. You are clearly at an impass. Bad network connection but you may get LTE or good microcell connection for voice and 4G data but no LTE. You can't have both.
dictoresno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 10:33 AM   #11
Stayfly2407
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: VA
You mean impasse
Stayfly2407 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 11:07 AM   #12
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stayfly2407 View Post
Oh I DO understand how it works. And my signal is not good at all without the microcell
What speedtest results do you get on WiFi at home vs LTE at home? Just trying to understand the difference better.
bohbot16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 12:02 PM   #13
Stayfly2407
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bohbot16 View Post
What speedtest results do you get on WiFi at home vs LTE at home? Just trying to understand the difference better.

Heres the difference, at least where I live. Im in Va Beach, Va
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 2.PNG
Views:	26
Size:	175.0 KB
ID:	394292   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 1.PNG
Views:	17
Size:	191.7 KB
ID:	394293  
Stayfly2407 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 12:07 PM   #14
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stayfly2407 View Post
You mean impasse
If we are going to start splitting hairs, sure. What cable company do you have. Might wanna cough up some more money for the next tier of data speeds. And 15 down isn't that bad. It's still fast enough for most web browsing and streaming. I had 15/15 with Comcast for years and it was perfectly fine.
dictoresno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 12:11 PM   #15
einmusiker
macrumors 68020
 
einmusiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Location: Location:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stayfly2407 View Post
No, you all are misunderstanding me. My microcell connects to my iphone5 with no problem. I'm not asking about data, the point if the microcell is to boost your cell signal which it does but if I'm on the phone it's no longer on LTE it switches back to 4G. I don't want to use wifi anymore because LTE is way faster than the broadband Internet in my house plus I have unlimited data. So wifi is no longer needed
I get what you're trying to do but it won't work because the microcell requires wifi to work anyway. But yes as the others said LTE is data only so the microcell will not oost your LTE signal. Ive thought through all of this myself and stuck with my vzw unlimited lte for these reasons

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stayfly2407 View Post
Heres the difference, at least where I live. Im in Va Beach, Va

Those LTE speeds are impressive but take into consideration the ping. Your low wifi ping will mean that the real world differences wont be very significant
__________________
I <3 Macbook pro, I <3 GoOgle Voice, I <3 my Android phone.
waiting for the shtuff to hit the fan when people start using tons of data on LTE :Popping popcorn:

Last edited by einmusiker; Feb 3, 2013 at 02:59 PM.
einmusiker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 12:16 PM   #16
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stayfly2407 View Post
Heres the difference, at least where I live. Im in Va Beach, Va
So if you're getting 5 bars of service at home like in your LTE speedtest screen shot, why bother with the MicroCell at all?
bohbot16 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 12:17 PM   #17
wxman2003
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
To OP, even if you could boost LTE, you probably wouldn't see speeds like you see elsewhere around town. Your home internet speed is not that slow anyway and for all practical purposes would not see any difference. 14 Mbs is more than fast enough to stream HD movies, etc. Plus your lower home ping time is better than the AT&T time. Just because you may get 5 bars at home does not mean you would get 50 Mbs DL speeds. My guess, it would be lower if in a residential area.
__________________
iMac I5, Macbook, iPad Air, iPad rMini, iPhone 5s, ATV 3
wxman2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 01:23 PM   #18
CoMoMacUser
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bohbot16 View Post
If LTE is faster than your WiFi when the MicroCell is turned off, then you probably have such a good signal in your home now that the MicroCell is unnecessary.
No, AT&T would prefer that you stay connected to your microcell -- it's actually a femtocell; microcells cover larger areas and are often outdoors -- in order to free up capacity on their macro sites. Femtos are as much about macrocell capacity for all subs as they are about reliable coverage for individual customers.
CoMoMacUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 03:47 PM   #19
Stayfly2407
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bohbot16 View Post
So if you're getting 5 bars of service at home like in your LTE speedtest screen shot, why bother with the MicroCell at all?
I stepped outside in my driveway to get 5 bars of LTE. When i go in the house LTE switches back to 4G
Stayfly2407 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 03:52 PM   #20
Mrfatboy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stayfly2407 View Post
I stepped outside in my driveway to get 5 bars of LTE. When i go in the house LTE switches back to 4G
The femtocell is locking your iphone to it and forcing you to use 4G. I'm not sure if there is a way to use the femtocell AND receiving LTE at the same time.
Mrfatboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 04:26 PM   #21
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrfatboy View Post
The femtocell is locking your iphone to it and forcing you to use 4G. I'm not sure if there is a way to use the femtocell AND receiving LTE at the same time.
which is what i said. you cant. LTE is network only, the microcell allows only 3G/4G. the OP wants it both ways and cant.....he has to choose one way or another. the microcell cannot and will not receive an LTE signal.....it doesnt even have an LTE radio in it. i dont see the issue here. its been explained over and over. it cant be done. when i had at&t, i was able to get a weak (2 bar) LTE signal in my area. however, the phone refused to stay on it and favored the stronger 4G signal (5 bars). this is to preserve battery life. once he steps inside, the LTE signal drops, in favor of the stronger 4G signal.
__________________
Verizon iPhone 5S 32GB Space Grey
iPad Mini 16GB Black, iPad 1 32 GB Black
iPod Touch 4th Generation 64GB Black
Apple TV 3rd Generation, Apple AirPort Express 2nd Generation
dictoresno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 11:39 PM   #22
adam044
macrumors 65816
 
adam044's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Boston
Microcells eat your battery
adam044 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:38 AM   #23
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam044 View Post
Microcells eat your battery
anything that uses a cellular network connection wastes battery
__________________
Verizon iPhone 5S 32GB Space Grey
iPad Mini 16GB Black, iPad 1 32 GB Black
iPod Touch 4th Generation 64GB Black
Apple TV 3rd Generation, Apple AirPort Express 2nd Generation
dictoresno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 07:02 AM   #24
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam044 View Post
Microcells eat your battery
I've found that they make my battery life better, as my phone gets 5 bars and doesn't have to work as hard as when it has a weak signal. I've only ever used them with WiFi for the data.
bohbot16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 08:21 AM   #25
Mrfatboy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by adam044 View Post
Microcells eat your battery
Microcells don't hurt battery life. They only can help by giving your phone a signal to lock on to. A phone drains the battery more when there is no signal because it is constantly searching for one.
Mrfatboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get LTE inside my apt and wireless much faster than 4g ATT in L.A? LTE in L.A?? jstar002 iPhone 0 Jan 4, 2013 04:47 PM
CDMA+LTE vs. GSM+LTE and Battery Life codeman7 iPhone 1 Sep 23, 2012 07:05 AM
LTE not connecting on iPhone 5 with AT&T (iPad connects to LTE though) chasemay iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Sep 22, 2012 03:27 PM
AT&T LTE indicator not appearing in LTE-covered area thetaco25 iPhone 14 Sep 21, 2012 01:36 PM
LTE microcell? when? portishead iPhone 2 Sep 12, 2012 08:44 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC