Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad > iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 3, 2013, 02:57 PM   #1
serr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Target disc mode for the iPad. How?

I want to back up my iPad by cloning the disc image like I do with Carbon Copy Cloner for the Mac. How do you bring up the iPad in target disc mode (or whatever term is used for it if different)?

Apparently most Apple forum 'power users' don't even know there's a hard drive in their computer (emphasis on 'users' I guess) so it's just not possible to even get this question across on that forum. Frustrating...
serr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 02:59 PM   #2
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
You can't. iPad's don't have a disc mode like iPods. The closest thing would be only applicable to the first generation iPad.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 07:45 PM   #3
serr
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
You can't. iPad's don't have a disc mode like iPods. The closest thing would be only applicable to the first generation iPad.
Go on...
I have a 1st gen iPad.
serr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 07:49 PM   #4
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
You need to boot your iPad from a SSH ram disk and then using a SSH tunnel over USB use dd to copy the entire iPad's NAND or each partition to a disk image.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 08:41 PM   #5
Mike Oxard
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
I want to back up my iPad by cloning the disc image like I do with Carbon Copy Cloner for the Mac. How do you bring up the iPad in target disc mode (or whatever term is used for it if different)?

Apparently most Apple forum 'power users' don't even know there's a hard drive in their computer (emphasis on 'users' I guess) so it's just not possible to even get this question across on that forum. Frustrating...
DiskAid might do what you want, check it out:

http://www.digidna.net/diskaid

I think you can get a disc out code from The Cult of Mac podcast, "The Cultcast"
Mike Oxard is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 03:44 PM   #6
serr
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Thanks for the tips!
serr is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad > iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Target disc mode not working. Meister Mac mini 5 Dec 8, 2013 09:33 AM
iPad: Target vs Walmart for iPad Air (Target Sells it for $20 less) rampras iPad 2 Nov 1, 2013 09:25 AM
Upgrading os using target mode Abdulhaq Mac mini 1 Apr 28, 2013 03:56 PM
Target display mode? lulla01 iMac 3 Nov 30, 2012 04:14 PM
iMac not booting, HD not mounting in Target Disc Mode bpm30 iMac 11 Jun 19, 2012 10:50 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC