Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:32 PM   #26
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by pooleman View Post
Someone just posted this same issue on another thread.
MOD NOTE: We are trying to avoid just this by having ONE thread on trouble/troubleshooting for the evasi0n JB. Please assist us during this time of heavy traffic.

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:53 PM   #27
Darkhrse99
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwm2 View Post
A computer, running Windows (XP minimum), Mac OS X (10.5 minimum) or Linux (x86 / x86_64)

The above was taken from the evasi0n website.
My computer is running 10.5.8. So I'd think it was capable .
Darkhrse99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:57 PM   #28
bmwhd
macrumors 6502a
 
bmwhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
My windows 7 PC won't run the evasi0n executable. It says I need to run in Administrator mode and errors out. This is true even if I right-click and choose "Run as Administrator".

I get the prompt from Windows asking if I want to allow the executable to make changes on my PC but that's immediately followed by a popup from evasi0n saying I need to run as Administrator.

This is a work PC and I don't have admin password but my account is typically able to run things as part of the admin group.
bmwhd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:57 PM   #29
bandofbrothers
macrumors 68040
 
bandofbrothers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Uk
Can anyone else confirm they have powered down their iPhone and reboots ok.

ie : The jailbreak is a true un-tethered version.
__________________
MacBook Air 11 Core i5 1.6GHz 4GB 128GB 1.6GHz dual-core Intel Core i5.

iPhone 6 Plus 16GB Space Grey - iOS 8.1
iPad Air 16GB Space Grey. - iOS 8.1
bandofbrothers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:09 PM   #30
jwm2
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bandofbrothers View Post
Can anyone else confirm they have powered down their iPhone and reboots ok.

ie : The jailbreak is a true un-tethered version.
Yup just rebooted my iphone 4s and ipad 3, no problems at all.
__________________
Handmade Natural Skin Care Products for Geeks (owned and operated by my wife)
Xbox 360 Controller Mods (owned and operated since 2001)
jwm2 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:09 PM   #31
nepalisherpa
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bandofbrothers View Post
Can anyone else confirm they have powered down their iPhone and reboots ok.

ie : The jailbreak is a true un-tethered version.
Just to reply to you, I went ahead and rebooted my phone (unplugged). Everything is still working great!
__________________
Macbook Air 11" 2013/i7/8GB RAM/250GB SSD
iPhone 6+ 64GB Space Gray
nepalisherpa is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:11 PM   #32
bandofbrothers
macrumors 68040
 
bandofbrothers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Uk
Quote:
Originally Posted by nepalisherpa View Post
Just to reply to you, I went ahead and rebooted my phone (unplugged). Everything is still working great!

Cheers.



----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwm2 View Post
Yup just rebooted my iphone 4s and ipad 3, no problems at all.

Thank you.

__________________
MacBook Air 11 Core i5 1.6GHz 4GB 128GB 1.6GHz dual-core Intel Core i5.

iPhone 6 Plus 16GB Space Grey - iOS 8.1
iPad Air 16GB Space Grey. - iOS 8.1
bandofbrothers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:15 PM   #33
Corey Grandy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by bandofbrothers View Post
Can anyone else confirm they have powered down their iPhone and reboots ok.

ie : The jailbreak is a true un-tethered version.
iPad 4 reboots perfect; iPhone 4S, not so much.

Edit: iPhone seems to be fine after a few more reboots. Have rebooted it twice without it plugged in at this point.
__________________
MBP, Mid-2010 | 2.4GHz i5, 180GB SSD, 1TB HDD, 8GB RAM
iPad 4 WiFi | Black, 16GB
iPhone 4S | Black, 64GB

Last edited by Corey Grandy; Feb 4, 2013 at 01:23 PM.
Corey Grandy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:18 PM   #34
nepalisherpa
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Not sure if anyone has posted this yet, but, after a reboot, the default weather app will crash. Just in case if anyone likes the default weather app.
__________________
Macbook Air 11" 2013/i7/8GB RAM/250GB SSD
iPhone 6+ 64GB Space Gray
nepalisherpa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:20 PM   #35
cambookpro
macrumors 601
 
cambookpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Berks, England
Does the first reboot take longer than usual?

Edit: Stuck on Apple logo
Had to hard reset when plugged into computer... anyone confirm it's always like this?
__________________
MacBook Pro | iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air | Apple TV
cambookpro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:22 PM   #36
shareef777
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by cambookpro View Post
Does the first reboot take longer than usual?
I had to force reset (hold power/home buttons). After that it boots fine, though the Weather app crashes upon launch. Outside the weather app, all else is good.
__________________
MacBook Pro (mid 2012) | Retina 15.4" | 2.7GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 768GB flash
iPhone 6+ | Black | 64GB
iPad Air | Black | 128GB
shareef777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:26 PM   #37
cambookpro
macrumors 601
 
cambookpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Berks, England
Just me, or iTunes not seeing phone after jb?
__________________
MacBook Pro | iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air | Apple TV
cambookpro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:27 PM   #38
bandofbrothers
macrumors 68040
 
bandofbrothers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Uk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corey Grandy View Post
iPad 4 reboots perfect; iPhone 4S, not so much.

Edit: iPhone seems to be fine after a few more reboots. Have rebooted it twice without it plugged in at this point.
Phew ! lol


Well we all knew some teething issues may be evident !
__________________
MacBook Air 11 Core i5 1.6GHz 4GB 128GB 1.6GHz dual-core Intel Core i5.

iPhone 6 Plus 16GB Space Grey - iOS 8.1
iPad Air 16GB Space Grey. - iOS 8.1
bandofbrothers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:29 PM   #39
Jman13
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Columbus, OH
For me a shut down and turn on works fine. A restart through NCSettings (or anything else) causes it to fail to boot. You can get it to boot by entering safe mode via holding volume up on a hard reset. Then, shut down and turn on to get out of safe mode.

So, true untethered, but an annoying bug that hopefully will be fixed soon.
Jman13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:29 PM   #40
bandofbrothers
macrumors 68040
 
bandofbrothers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Uk
Quote:
Originally Posted by cambookpro View Post
Just me, or iTunes not seeing phone after jb?


Ive not seen any owners reporting this.

have you tried shutting down iTunes and re starting and did you also follow the advice to ensure iTunes was shut down whilst running the jb ?
__________________
MacBook Air 11 Core i5 1.6GHz 4GB 128GB 1.6GHz dual-core Intel Core i5.

iPhone 6 Plus 16GB Space Grey - iOS 8.1
iPad Air 16GB Space Grey. - iOS 8.1
bandofbrothers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:29 PM   #41
cambookpro
macrumors 601
 
cambookpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Berks, England
Just me?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-02-04 at 19.28.39.png
Views:	58
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	394461  
__________________
MacBook Pro | iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air | Apple TV
cambookpro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:39 PM   #42
cambookpro
macrumors 601
 
cambookpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Berks, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by bandofbrothers View Post
Ive not seen any owners reporting this.

have you tried shutting down iTunes and re starting and did you also follow the advice to ensure iTunes was shut down whilst running the jb ?
Weird, plugged it in and out about 5 times and it suddenly recognised it... May go back to stock until early issues are ironed out.
__________________
MacBook Pro | iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air | Apple TV
cambookpro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:48 PM   #43
ipos
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011


getting this when updating my ipad os
any solution?
ipos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:55 PM   #44
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwhd View Post
My windows 7 PC won't run the evasi0n executable. It says I need to run in Administrator mode and errors out. This is true even if I right-click and choose "Run as Administrator".

I get the prompt from Windows asking if I want to allow the executable to make changes on my PC but that's immediately followed by a popup from evasi0n saying I need to run as Administrator.

This is a work PC and I don't have admin password but my account is typically able to run things as part of the admin group.
Your account at work probably doesnt have the correct security privilages.
Run it from home logged in an admins account.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 02:04 PM   #45
Prawnstar69
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
iphone 4s 6.1 reboots just fine actually really fast and weather app still works
Prawnstar69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 02:09 PM   #46
thefordmccord
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Your account at work probably doesnt have the correct security privilages.
Run it from home logged in an admins account.

I had this same problem. It doesn't seem to recognize an admin account that is a member of a domain. You will have to log in with a local administrator account.
thefordmccord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 02:12 PM   #47
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by thefordmccord View Post
I had this same problem. It doesn't seem to recognize an admin account that is a member of a domain. You will have to log in with a local administrator account.
Oh, that explains it.
Good info, thanks.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 02:16 PM   #48
bandofbrothers
macrumors 68040
 
bandofbrothers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Uk
Quote:
Originally Posted by cambookpro View Post
Weird, plugged it in and out about 5 times and it suddenly recognised it... May go back to stock until early issues are ironed out.

Im glad you got this resolved.

Try to hold on as i'm sure bugs will be ironed out quickly !

__________________
MacBook Air 11 Core i5 1.6GHz 4GB 128GB 1.6GHz dual-core Intel Core i5.

iPhone 6 Plus 16GB Space Grey - iOS 8.1
iPad Air 16GB Space Grey. - iOS 8.1
bandofbrothers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 02:19 PM   #49
slowsupra
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Been all over the place post JB, hung on finding offsets had to hard boot twice and now everytime I reboot I end up having to hard boot once or twice to get it to boot. Tried to re-jailbreak too. At least iTunes sees it hopefully a restore will fix all the JB wonky-ness.

EDIT: Either threatening to go back to non-JB, opening iTunres and letting it see the phone, or just waiting for things to settle (some sort of cache?) fixed it I can now reboot did it 3 strait times unplugged. It's an iPhone 5 if that matters.
slowsupra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 02:36 PM   #50
rtk86
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Encryted backups can't be unchecked

I am stuck between a rock and a hard place on this one. I was able to successfully jailbreak my ipad mini. However, my iphone 5 has a profile on it that I need for my work email that requires encrypted backups. Now, before anyone states the obvious, to install the profiles requires me to use a security program called mobileiron which checks for jailbreak. So I can't simply delete the profile, jailbreak and then add it back as at that point I won't be able to connect to work email anymore because mobileiron will tell the server the phone is jailbroken. Seems like it's not going to be possible for me to do this but let me know if you guys have any ideas.
rtk86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: is it the evasi0n or 7.0.6 ? 5aga Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Feb 28, 2014 06:29 PM
General: Evasi0n 1.01 is out TriJetHero Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 48 Dec 28, 2013 12:53 PM
iPhone: Please help with 4S 6.1.2 evasi0n xabi Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 May 14, 2013 11:59 AM
iPhone: evasi0n 1.3.... mickehed Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Feb 13, 2013 02:59 AM
iPhone: Trouble connecting to VW Jetta Bluetooth after Evasi0n jailbreak. JBryan84 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Feb 8, 2013 07:28 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC