Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 4, 2013, 03:46 PM   #51
Grolubao
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
As usual didn't work properly in the Mac version, had to DFU restore. Windows version, no problems
Grolubao is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 03:47 PM   #52
iRetired
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: WNY
I'm using Tapatalk to write this. I downloaded the program from evaders site onto my phone then copied it over to my PC. It is running Win 7 64-bit SP1. I unzipped the file, read the instructions, connected my iPhone 4S using the cable and started the program. When the progress bar got to 60 percent I had to unlock the screen and tap the Jailbreak icon on the phone. It finished and installed Cydia. Cydias site has a message that they're under heavy load now. Jailbroken at last!

Last edited by iRetired; Feb 4, 2013 at 03:49 PM. Reason: Spelling
iRetired is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:09 PM   #53
misterjay
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Mine's stuck on "Finding offsets".

Anyone help?
misterjay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:19 PM   #54
Netherscourge
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Is it safe to just leave the phone plugged in during the entire process?

My phone is in "Patching Kernel" stage right now, via the app itself on the phone.

The evasi0n PC program says the Jailbreak is done.

I left it plugged into my PC and haven't touched anything. Just curious.

Also - how long does the patching kernel process last? It's been about 3 minutes so far...?

Is is safe to exit the evasi0n PC program once it says it[s done and has the EXIT button lit up, even though the phone appears to still be patching itself?
Netherscourge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:22 PM   #55
cambookpro
macrumors 601
 
cambookpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Berks, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by bandofbrothers View Post
Im glad you got this resolved.

Try to hold on as i'm sure bugs will be ironed out quickly !

Went back to stock just in case I can't turn it back on as during school it has to be switched off. Will be back as soon as it's working a bit more smoothly
__________________
MacBook Pro | iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air | Apple TV
cambookpro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:25 PM   #56
kalirob99
macrumors 65816
 
kalirob99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: California
Send a message via AIM to kalirob99
Blah, the Apple servers are so overloaded that I'm getting the below message after a restore. >__< The iPhone is saying the same thing. I guess I'm stuck for the time being.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	27.0 KB
ID:	394481  
kalirob99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:25 PM   #57
JLemm
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cincinnati, Oh
Send a message via AIM to JLemm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netherscourge View Post
Is it safe to just leave the phone plugged in during the entire process?

My phone is in "Patching Kernel" stage right now, via the app itself on the phone.

The evasi0n PC program says the Jailbreak is done.

I left it plugged into my PC and haven't touched anything. Just curious.

Also - how long does the patching kernel process last? It's been about 3 minutes so far...?

Is is safe to exit the evasi0n PC program once it says it[s done and has the EXIT button lit up, even though the phone appears to still be patching itself?
Same... I clicken the exit button though..

Just saw this, it worked for me!:

One of the team member @pod2g has tweeted that the issue could be resolved simply by doing a force reboot. To do a force reboot, you need to press home+power button of your iOS device until the device shows an Apple logo.
__________________
2012 iMac 21.5" 2.8GHz i7
2013 Macbook Air 13" 1.3GHz i5
iPad Air (32GB)
iPhone 6 AT&T Space Gray (64GB)
JLemm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:29 PM   #58
Netherscourge
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
UPDATE:

It's done. Cydia icon is there!

Weather app works fine too. (iPhone 4S, JB via Windows evasi0n installer)



It looks like it was just hanging at the Patching Kernel stage for a long time and then finally rebooted on it's own.

All my old apps are still there too. Looks like nothign changed except the new cydia icon.

Piece of cake!




EDIT - that may have been the easiest jailbreak ever. I literally pressed two buttons - 1 on the PC and one on the phone.

10 minutes later, it's done. Nothing messed up either.

Last edited by Netherscourge; Feb 4, 2013 at 04:35 PM.
Netherscourge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:45 PM   #59
TheSwede
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netherscourge View Post
UPDATE:

EDIT - that may have been the easiest jailbreak ever. I literally pressed two buttons - 1 on the PC and one on the phone.

10 minutes later, it's done. Nothing messed up either.
are you able to download any tweaks yet from Cydia?
TheSwede is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:52 PM   #60
Cody3133
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Little thing bugging me is my iPad mini shows up as iPad 2 on cydia
Cody3133 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:57 PM   #61
LSUtigers03
macrumors 68000
 
LSUtigers03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I've seen people saying that you need to upgrade to 6.1 via iTunes and not the ota. If you've done the ota already will the jailbreak still work?
LSUtigers03 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 05:02 PM   #62
dbags1234
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
can someone help me PLEASE, i DL evasion, im running mac osx 10.5.8, which supposedly is new enough to run evasion, when i go to start it , the program quits unexpectedly , and i cannot relaunch, i DL it 3 times and every time i open it up this is happeneing, any feedback appreciated..thanks
dbags1234 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 05:13 PM   #63
ipos
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipos View Post
Image

getting this when updating my ipad os
any solution?
anyone could advise, pls.
ipos is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 05:49 PM   #64
psywzrd
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbags1234 View Post
can someone help me PLEASE, i DL evasion, im running mac osx 10.5.8, which supposedly is new enough to run evasion, when i go to start it , the program quits unexpectedly , and i cannot relaunch, i DL it 3 times and every time i open it up this is happeneing, any feedback appreciated..thanks
This may sound really basic but reboot your computer and try again.
psywzrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 05:51 PM   #65
JMC08
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Truly sorry if this has been asked/answered, but has anyone tried to jailbreak without the fresh restore to 6.1? ie going through Itunes to update to 6.1, keeping data intact and not setting up as new ---> restoring from backup
JMC08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 05:53 PM   #66
pooleman
macrumors 65816
 
pooleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Eastern CT
Currently there is a note on the top of my Cydia page that says...

"This device is currently in the TSS queue."

What does this mean? Also, I can't seem to download or even see any of my past purchases. Do I have to wait until I am "out of the queue" to see my stuff and use Cydia?
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus, AT&T 64GB Space Gray!!!!!!!Mac Mini (latest model), iBook G4, Mac Mini (mid 2007), iPhone, iPhone 4, ATV3, iPad 2, iPad Mini, iPad Air.
pooleman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 05:56 PM   #67
jayp92
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grolubao View Post
As usual didn't work properly in the Mac version, had to DFU restore. Windows version, no problems
How did you manage the DFU restore?

I'm running a (bricked) iOS 6.01 on iPhone 5

DevTeam tool's don't seem to be compatible yet and iTunes won't let me restore because it knows I jailbroke (unsuccessfully)

ahhh
jayp92 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 05:56 PM   #68
psywzrd
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Just tried rebooting my iphone 5 and I've been stuck on the Apple logo for at least 5 minutes now. Anyone try rebooting their phone yet?
psywzrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 05:58 PM   #69
solo118
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMC08 View Post
Truly sorry if this has been asked/answered, but has anyone tried to jailbreak without the fresh restore to 6.1? ie going through Itunes to update to 6.1, keeping data intact and not setting up as new ---> restoring from backup
I just updated normally last night, and restoring from backup (by accident I clicked it)

Anwyays I JBed today, no problem.
__________________
iPhone 6 at&t/2012 Macbook Pro Retina 13"/ iPad Mini
solo118 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 05:59 PM   #70
MastahRiz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Weather app attempts to open and almost loads the first screen but then instantly crashes for me.

iPhone 5, iOS 6.1, Evasion win-1.0.
MastahRiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 06:05 PM   #71
Dorv
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Cydia Crashes

On both of my 6.1 devices, when JB then restored from iCloud backup, Cydia crashes on open.
Dorv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 06:09 PM   #72
ntegra
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
07:09 I was stuck on "Finding Offsets..." for about 5 minutes... eventually went to the Apple logo.
07:14 Currently stuck on Apple logo
07:18 Apple logo disappeared for 3 seconds then reappeared
07:18 Phone vibrated and lock screen showed up

I'm officially jailbroken!

If you get stuck anywhere, JUST BE PATIENT.

Last edited by ntegra; Feb 4, 2013 at 06:20 PM.
ntegra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 06:23 PM   #73
Grolubao
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayp92 View Post
How did you manage the DFU restore?

I'm running a (bricked) iOS 6.01 on iPhone 5

DevTeam tool's don't seem to be compatible yet and iTunes won't let me restore because it knows I jailbroke (unsuccessfully)

ahhh
Honestly, I find it very hard to imagine you have your iPhone 5 bricked. Just enter DFU mode and restore to 6.1. Have you tried this?
Grolubao is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 06:34 PM   #74
coolhands
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Turned off my 4s and went to turn it back on and it's stuck on the apple logo...won't boot up. Time to restore
coolhands is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 06:42 PM   #75
Adutrumque
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sweden
I found one hell of an annoying bug .

When you open simple folders there is now a 3 second delay before it opens . Happens occasionally .
Adutrumque is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: is it the evasi0n or 7.0.6 ? 5aga Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Feb 28, 2014 07:29 PM
General: Evasi0n 1.01 is out TriJetHero Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 48 Dec 28, 2013 01:53 PM
iPhone: Please help with 4S 6.1.2 evasi0n xabi Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 May 14, 2013 12:59 PM
iPhone: evasi0n 1.3.... mickehed Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Feb 13, 2013 03:59 AM
iPhone: Trouble connecting to VW Jetta Bluetooth after Evasi0n jailbreak. JBryan84 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Feb 8, 2013 08:28 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC