Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:22 PM   #1
echomango
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Question about late 2012 iMac and After Effects

I love my new Imac 27 and it has been flawless on almost everything. But today I ran into a strange problem with After Effects. This was the first time using AE on the new machine. CS3 had been activated a while back and photoshop and others are working just fine. When I put an mp3 file into a composition and try to preview the sound comes back an octave or two lower than it should be. Weird. I tried the same file in an older imac with AE and it worked just fine. Could it be a setting somewhere that I have missed?

Any help will be most appreciated!

Tom
echomango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:23 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Tried it with an uncompressed WAV or AIFF of that MP3 yet?
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 03:10 PM   #3
echomango
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Tried it with an uncompressed WAV or AIFF of that MP3 yet?
Thanks for this. I saved the file as an .aif and now when I try and preview the audio file it hangs. When I try to preview an mp4 it goes very quickly through it, like about 5x as fast from normal speed.

This is all very odd since I used AE on this computer a while back but before I activated my CS3. The activation option seems to be greyed out in the help menu. When I try to register it says no connection to the internet. Could it be due to not having registered? This is nuts.
echomango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 03:45 PM   #4
profphil
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Have no knowledge of After Effects or CS3 unfortunately but audio files playing faster seems to point to a higher sample rate being used. Maybe see if there are sample rate options somewhere in your software? Good luck anyway.
profphil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:09 PM   #5
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by echomango View Post
I love my new Imac 27 and it has been flawless on almost everything. But today I ran into a strange problem with After Effects.
Who else thought this was another image retention thread?

(Sorry, not helpful I know. )
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC