Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:56 PM   #1
MustangGT
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Eduke32 with Duke Nukem 3D on iMac

Hi all,


I am trying to play Eduke32 on my new iMac. (I just purchased the machine a couple of days ago, and am a novice in OS X).

Anyhow, I understand that I need a legal copy of Duke Nukem 3D game in order to play Eduke32. Setting aside the ancient versions I have on CD for DOS, I decided to purchase a copy from GOG. Investment of $5.99 didn't seem to high to get rid of the dependency on optical disks.

Anyhow, now I have Duke Nukem 3D from GOG, which plays, but Eduke32 does not - complaining it can't find DUKE3D.GRP file. I simply can not find this file in the copy I got from GOG

Can anybody please help?


Cheers


GT
MustangGT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 02:11 PM   #2
iMacFarlane
macrumors 65816
 
iMacFarlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Phaselocking Psychos somewhere on Pandora
Right click the Duke file you got from GOG, and select "Show Package Contents" from the menu that pops up. If, for some reason, you didn't immediately enable right-clicking when you powered on your iMac for the first time, you can "option click" the file instead.

Anyway, once you are inside the finder window displaying the internals of the GOG Duke package, hunt around until you find the goods. They are in there. Once you find them, move them / copy them outside to your desktop or whatever, then put them into the location eduke32 advises.

" . . . and I'm all out of gum!"
__________________
Knowledge is power. Learn something new every day!
iMacFarlane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 02:26 PM   #3
MustangGT
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMacFarlane View Post
Right click the Duke file you got from GOG, and select "Show Package Contents" from the menu that pops up.
Well, I have the new Apple mouse, I forgot how it is called (Magic, I think), but it has only one button covering the entire surface.


Quote:
Originally Posted by iMacFarlane View Post
If, for some reason, you didn't immediately enable right-clicking when you powered on your iMac for the first time, you can "option click" the file instead.
What is "option click"? I assume it is holding down the "option" key, while clicking with the only mouse button I have, isn't it? That doesn't give the additional menu, just makes the file name editable, or if I keep "option" key pressed and double click, it launches the installer again.
MustangGT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 03:41 PM   #4
Miharu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Finland
It's control-click to emulate right button mouse click also you can enable right click for your mouse from the system preferences. You right click with the magic mouse by taking off your index finger and clicking with a finger on the right side. But it has to be enabled from the mouse settings.
Miharu is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duke Nukem (Next Gen) ValtermcPires Console Games 6 Feb 2, 2014 05:21 PM
Classic Platformer 'Duke Nukem 2' Hits the App Store MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 20 Apr 9, 2013 06:52 AM
OS X: Is it possible to play Duke Nukem 3D/ Doom on a Mac and how? ugr Mac and PC Games 13 Feb 4, 2013 02:02 PM
GOG.com Offering Classic FPS Duke Nukem 3D For Free MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 47 Dec 17, 2012 02:56 PM
OS X: Duke Nukem 3D Free at GOG.com Duouk2000 Mac and PC Games 0 Dec 13, 2012 01:38 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC