Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:24 PM   #1
royslr21
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
4GB RAM to 20GB?

hey everyone !
i have a question - i have 2011 mid imac 27' with 4GB x2 RAM SLOTS , so i still have 2 free slots
my question is if i i buy 2x 8GB RAM and adding it on the same imac it will be a problem? is imac 2011 runs only up to 4ram every slot?

tnx for the help !
royslr21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:31 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by royslr21 View Post
hey everyone !
i have a question - i have 2011 mid imac 27' with 4GB x2 RAM SLOTS , so i still have 2 free slots
my question is if i i buy 2x 8GB RAM and adding it on the same imac it will be a problem?
No problem at all.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 05:18 PM   #3
bflowers
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Yes, it will seem faster, and have less (probably zero over a long period of time) page outs. That will completely ruin your argument for needing a new iMac
bflowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 06:42 PM   #4
TRAV9614
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
I am typing this on a 2011 27" 3.4 i7 iMac with 20gb of ram and it works fine.
__________________
2012 15" cMBP, 2.3 GHz i7, 16 GB RAM, 256GB SSD + 500 GB HDD; iPad2 16 Gb; iPhone 5 16gb
TRAV9614 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 06:38 AM   #5
royslr21
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
ok tnx allot now i can buy for sure !
royslr21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 12:36 PM   #6
Imac Sam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Harrisonburg, Virginia
I have 24 in mine. 2-4GBs and 2-8GBs. Works great!
__________________
Imac(2011) 27 with 256Gb SSD, 1Tb Hd, and 24Gb RAM
Gold Iphone6 128Gb, White Ipad Air 128Gb, White Ipad Mini 32Gb, Black Ipad-2 32Gb; ATV-2
www.mountcrawfordweather.org
Imac Sam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 12:44 PM   #7
JoeFkling
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
had 24 no problem and now at 20 and still no problem. You will be fine.
JoeFkling is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 09:48 PM   #8
Kashsystems
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
No problems running that exact same config right now. I had one of my ram sticks go bad so I put in my original 4 gigabytes.
Kashsystems is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rMBP 13" (late 2013) 4GB RAM vs 8GB RAM Thomasasz MacBook Pro 9 Nov 10, 2013 05:38 PM
Resolved: Does macbook (late 2007) support a maximum of 4gb RAM or 6gb RAM? ItsDaKronic MacBook 2 Sep 18, 2013 07:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC