Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 4, 2013, 10:36 PM   #1
Imola Ghost
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Question about a Time Machine backup?

I used Time Machine to backup my previous MBP before I sold it. Now that I have my new MBP, I did a clean install of Mountain Lion as soon as I turned it on.

I'd rather manually add the applications myself. Can I just drag/copy the applications I want from my Time Machine backup to install them on the new MBP?
Imola Ghost is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 10:38 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
With most applications you might be able to do it, but the settings will not be transferred that way. Other, more complex applications, the one coming with a proper installer, will probably not work that way.

In Migration Assistant you can choose to only transfer applications if you want to.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 01:53 AM   #3
Imola Ghost
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
So there's some migration assistant that allows me to bring over only selected applications?

How do I use this and where is it located?
Imola Ghost is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 02:57 AM   #4
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imola Ghost View Post
So there's some migration assistant that allows me to bring over only selected applications?

How do I use this and where is it located?
Migration Assistant / Setup Assistant information:
Setting-up a new Mac from an old one, its Backups, or a PC
which includes:more information: Apple OSX and Time Machine Tips
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 09:36 AM   #5
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imola Ghost View Post
So there's some migration assistant that allows me to bring over only selected applications?

How do I use this and where is it located?
You can use Migration Assistant to transfer over apps, but it is an all or nothing affair. If you check the box in Migration Assistant to move apps, they all get moved over.

You could still just use Migration Assistant then immediately afterward go into the Applications folder and delete the apps you don't want.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC