Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 4, 2013, 11:53 PM   #1
soamz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orissa, India
Send a message via AIM to soamz Send a message via MSN to soamz Send a message via Yahoo to soamz Send a message via Skype™ to soamz
Question How to install SSD to Mid 2010 iMac 27?

Hi, I have a iMac Mid 2010 model. It has 1TB internal drive, but its kind of slow. So, I would like to attach a SSD drive and let the apps and OS work from the SSD then .

Yesterday I called my local Apple guy and asked him to open the machine .
I already bought a Crucial m4 256GB SSD . But we saw that, there is no extra contact for attaching an additional drive. We took out the super drive , but the contacts dont match with the SSD contacts.

So, whats the best way to do it ?

Do we need to get some extra conversion wire kit to attach somewhere ?

IM tired of Apple limitations.
soamz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 02:25 AM   #2
n-i-k-k-o
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Calne, Wiltshire, UK
First Google search result based on your thread title yields this:

http://www.twam.info/hardware/apple/...d-2010-27-imac

If your "Apple guy" is stumped then I suggest you find your nearest Authorized Apple Reseller and ask them to help you.

N
n-i-k-k-o is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 02:38 AM   #3
soamz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orissa, India
Send a message via AIM to soamz Send a message via MSN to soamz Send a message via Yahoo to soamz Send a message via Skype™ to soamz
I had checked it last week. It was confusing.
soamz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 02:42 AM   #4
eawmp1
macrumors 601
 
eawmp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: FL
If you read the link you need the adapter kit and cable for the optical bay.
As for replacing the SATA drive it should have been a simple swap.

You should be tired of your apple guy's limitations.
eawmp1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 02:57 AM   #5
soamz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orissa, India
Send a message via AIM to soamz Send a message via MSN to soamz Send a message via Yahoo to soamz Send a message via Skype™ to soamz
I dont want to replace my current SATA .

I know, its simple, if I do that way. But I want to use my SATA and SSD both.
soamz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:10 AM   #6
eawmp1
macrumors 601
 
eawmp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: FL
You HAVE to use an adapter to put any SATA drive into the optical bay. The first response linked a site that said as much. Here is another option. Either options allows you to have 2 SATA drives in your iMac (at the expense of the optical drive).

That the iMac is not a Mac Pro is by design and not a "limitation". That third parties offer workarounds is a blessing.
eawmp1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:15 AM   #7
soamz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orissa, India
Send a message via AIM to soamz Send a message via MSN to soamz Send a message via Yahoo to soamz Send a message via Skype™ to soamz
http://store.mcetech.com/Merchant2/m...roduct_Count=6

THis looks really good. But has anyone tried it ?
soamz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:24 AM   #8
eawmp1
macrumors 601
 
eawmp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: FL
Search.


I've used it in a MacBook Pro.
eawmp1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:29 AM   #9
soamz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orissa, India
Send a message via AIM to soamz Send a message via MSN to soamz Send a message via Yahoo to soamz Send a message via Skype™ to soamz
Ok then if you can just reply my question :

1. So, I simply get this and remove my super drive. Place this one in place of the super drive. And it has slot for placing the SSD I have.

Then it has its own contacts to attach the SSD and it has its own contacts to connect to the contacts hanging near the super drive in an iMac ?

Do we need do to anything else ?
soamz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 03:52 AM   #10
eawmp1
macrumors 601
 
eawmp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: FL
It is all you need. They even have the option of a USB external enclosure for the optical drive.

Here is an installation guide.
eawmp1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 04:23 AM   #11
soamz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orissa, India
Send a message via AIM to soamz Send a message via MSN to soamz Send a message via Yahoo to soamz Send a message via Skype™ to soamz
Ok what I understood is :

1. Open the iMac.
2. Take out the SATA Drive, by taking out its contacts and power cord.
3. Take out the super drive.
4. Place the SATA drive inside the Optibay. [Here the question is, has the OptiBay got all contacts for the SATA drive and what about the power cord for the SATA ?]
5. And place the SSD in the old SATA drive location, by attaching to glue or sticks ?
soamz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 05:45 AM   #12
dangerly
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by soamz View Post
Ok what I understood is :

1. Open the iMac.
2. Take out the SATA Drive, by taking out its contacts and power cord.
3. Take out the super drive.
4. Place the SATA drive inside the Optibay. [Here the question is, has the OptiBay got all contacts for the SATA drive and what about the power cord for the SATA ?]
5. And place the SSD in the old SATA drive location, by attaching to glue or sticks ?
Take a look at iFixit guide for installing a second HDD in a 27" iMac, the procedure will be the same for the installa tion of SSD:
http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Installi...d+Drive/8955/1
dangerly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 09:01 AM   #13
Bacci
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Why give up your DVD drive if you have a 27" iMac?

This is imho the better way:

http://blog.macsales.com/13963-owc-i...-27-apple-imac

I've done it myself and it's easy.
Bacci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 09:21 PM   #14
soamz
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orissa, India
Send a message via AIM to soamz Send a message via MSN to soamz Send a message via Yahoo to soamz Send a message via Skype™ to soamz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacci View Post
Why give up your DVD drive if you have a 27" iMac?

This is imho the better way:

http://blog.macsales.com/13963-owc-i...-27-apple-imac

I've done it myself and it's easy.
Oh good. How much does it cost ?

And SSd doesnt need power cable. So, where does this cable get into ?

The super drive contacts ?
soamz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 01:42 AM   #15
Bacci
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I bought the kit, but I guess if you have a lot of the tools already you could buy them separately.

Instructions can be found
here, that will answer your cable questions too.
Bacci is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want to Upgrade Mid 2010 iMac with SSD PeteyV iMac 3 Jan 11, 2014 03:16 AM
[MBP Mid-2010] Dual Boot OSX-7 SSD:install on HDD Bay and move to Optibay? DioBrando MacBook Pro 7 May 22, 2013 10:26 AM
Mid 2010 Imac Firewire ssd? oililymad iMac 2 Jan 24, 2013 07:37 AM
mid 2010 iMac ssd? macmee iMac 3 Dec 14, 2012 12:08 PM
Best SSD for a Mid 2010 27" iMac? Locker iMac 15 Dec 9, 2012 04:49 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC