Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 5, 2013, 11:40 AM   #1
Myiphone7
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
If I have an AT&T iPhone 5 and it's been unlocked, can I put in a Verizon sim to chec

Can I put in a Verizon sim to check if it's unlocked?

Or a T-mobile sim that's inactivated?

What will it say in the top left corner?

Thanks in advance.
Myiphone7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 11:42 AM   #2
iParis
macrumors 68040
 
iParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to iParis Send a message via MSN to iParis
I'm pretty certain a Verizon SIM won't work as the GSM iPhone 5 lacks the CDMA hardware, scold me if I'm wrong. And yeah, if you've been told it's unlocked then a T-Mobile SIM should work and I believe it will say "T-Mobile" in the top left.
__________________
- AirPort Express 2012
- iPhone 6 128GB / Space Gray / Verizon / iOS 8.02
- iPhone 5 64GB / Black & Slate / iOS 8.0.2
- MacBook C2D 2.4GHz / 8GB ram / 250GB HD / OS 10.10
iParis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 11:44 AM   #3
Myiphone7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iParis View Post
I'm pretty certain a Verizon SIM won't work as the GSM iPhone 5 lacks the CDMA hardware, scold me if I'm wrong. And yeah, if you've been told it's unlocked then a T-Mobile SIM should work and I believe it will say "T-Mobile" in the top left.
I read a Verizon iPhone 5 will work with an AT&T sim

And will it say tmobile even if the sim is unactivated?
Myiphone7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 11:57 AM   #4
iParis
macrumors 68040
 
iParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to iParis Send a message via MSN to iParis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myiphone7 View Post
I read a Verizon iPhone 5 will work with an AT&T sim

And will it say tmobile even if the sim is unactivated?
An AT&T SIM will work in an Verizon iPhone 5, not including LTE, but a Verizon SIM won't work in an AT&T iPhone 5.
__________________
- AirPort Express 2012
- iPhone 6 128GB / Space Gray / Verizon / iOS 8.02
- iPhone 5 64GB / Black & Slate / iOS 8.0.2
- MacBook C2D 2.4GHz / 8GB ram / 250GB HD / OS 10.10
iParis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 12:11 PM   #5
Myiphone7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iParis View Post
An AT&T SIM will work in an Verizon iPhone 5, not including LTE, but a Verizon SIM won't work in an AT&T iPhone 5.
Odd. I wonder why?
Myiphone7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 12:21 PM   #6
CEmajr
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myiphone7 View Post
Odd. I wonder why?
Because Verizon still uses CDMA for voice and the AT&T iPhone 5 does not have a CDMA radio.
CEmajr is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 12:24 PM   #7
Myiphone7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEmajr View Post
Because Verizon still uses CDMA for voice and the AT&T iPhone 5 does not have a CDMA radio.
Makes sense.

I'm glad gsm is global makes unlocking an AT&T iPhone 5 worth it.

Does anyone know what my carrier will say if I purchase an unactivated t mobile sim to check if I'm unlocked?
Myiphone7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 12:30 PM   #8
CEmajr
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
It will still say Tmobile.
CEmajr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 12:51 PM   #9
HiddenPuppy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Wow, sounds like the same discussion:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1537775
HiddenPuppy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 01:04 PM   #10
Myiphone7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiddenPuppy View Post
Wow, sounds like the same discussion:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1537775
4S is different.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by CEmajr View Post
It will still say Tmobile.
Thanks
Myiphone7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 01:04 PM   #11
Interstella5555
macrumors 603
 
Interstella5555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myiphone7 View Post
Odd. I wonder why?
Odd that you don't understand how different cell tech works? I'd say yes, but then again you never cease to amaze me with your threads....
Interstella5555 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 01:07 PM   #12
barkomatic
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manhattan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myiphone7 View Post
Makes sense.

I'm glad gsm is global makes unlocking an AT&T iPhone 5 worth it.

Does anyone know what my carrier will say if I purchase an unactivated t mobile sim to check if I'm unlocked?
AT&T wouldn't say anything about putting a T-mobile sim into the iPhone. Someday, they may contact you (unlikely) about why your iPhone got unlocked on contract--but it wouldn't be specifically because you swapped the sim.

I tested using an activated T-mobile sim and could send and receive texts, calls and data.
barkomatic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 01:27 PM   #13
HiddenPuppy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myiphone7 View Post
4S is different.

----------



Thanks
He was talking about an iPhone 5 in the other thread too, I mentioned the 4s would not work as does the iPhone 5 because the 4s SIM chip is for foreign use only.
HiddenPuppy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 02:59 PM   #14
Myiphone7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by barkomatic View Post
AT&T wouldn't say anything about putting a T-mobile sim into the iPhone. Someday, they may contact you (unlikely) about why your iPhone got unlocked on contract--but it wouldn't be specifically because you swapped the sim.

I tested using an activated T-mobile sim and could send and receive texts, calls and data.
I don't care to use t mobile. I like AT&T's LTE and service.

But I want to check if its unlocked with a t mobile sim.

I hope it'll still work even if the t mobile sim is inactivated.
Myiphone7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2013, 07:13 PM   #15
C DM
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myiphone7 View Post
Odd. I wonder why?
Verizon's SIM is there really for Verizon's LTE service and essentially nothing more, so it won't do much in a phone from another carrier.
C DM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 10:47 AM   #16
Satnam1989
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEmajr View Post
It will still say Tmobile.

it will say No Service FYI....why would a unactivated SIM say T-Mobile on the top left....without signal bars....without service....

there's two of you that said it will say "T-Mobile" maybe u should do some research b4 misguiding ppl
Satnam1989 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 11:29 AM   #17
CEmajr
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satnam1989 View Post
it will say No Service FYI....why would a unactivated SIM say T-Mobile on the top left....without signal bars....without service....

there's two of you that said it will say "T-Mobile" maybe u should do some research b4 misguiding ppl
Unactivated Tmobile sims DO say T-Mobile. I actually work for Tmobile so I see this everyday. The brand new ones we sell will say Tmobile at the top left when put into an iPhone even though service has not been activated yet. If you try to place a call it will direct you to customer care to activate the SIM card.

Don't confuse brand new unactivated SIM cards with a used deactivated SIM. A deactivated SIM will say 'no service' and if you try to place a call it won't do anything.
CEmajr is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 05:03 PM   #18
Myiphone7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEmajr View Post
Unactivated Tmobile sims DO say T-Mobile. I actually work for Tmobile so I see this everyday. The brand new ones we sell will say Tmobile at the top left when put into an iPhone even though service has not been activated yet. If you try to place a call it will direct you to customer care to activate the SIM card.

Don't confuse brand new unactivated SIM cards with a used deactivated SIM. A deactivated SIM will say 'no service' and if you try to place a call it won't do anything.
Ok great.

Last edited by Myiphone7; Feb 6, 2013 at 06:47 PM.
Myiphone7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 11:33 PM   #19
Satnam1989
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEmajr View Post
Unactivated Tmobile sims DO say T-Mobile. I actually work for Tmobile so I see this everyday. The brand new ones we sell will say Tmobile at the top left when put into an iPhone even though service has not been activated yet. If you try to place a call it will direct you to customer care to activate the SIM card.

Don't confuse brand new unactivated SIM cards with a used deactivated SIM. A deactivated SIM will say 'no service' and if you try to place a call it won't do anything.
Thats something new its been a while since I used a T-mobile SIM, Last one I had was back little over a year ago and it didnt say T-Mobile, thanks for clarifying.
Satnam1989 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2013, 09:10 PM   #20
kevrunner
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by CEmajr View Post
Unactivated Tmobile sims DO say T-Mobile. I actually work for Tmobile so I see this everyday. The brand new ones we sell will say Tmobile at the top left when put into an iPhone even though service has not been activated yet. If you try to place a call it will direct you to customer care to activate the SIM card.

Don't confuse brand new unactivated SIM cards with a used deactivated SIM. A deactivated SIM will say 'no service' and if you try to place a call it won't do anything.
Is this still the case? I just unlocked (confirmed unlocked with Apple) an AT&T iPhone 5 and am have an unactivated T-Mobile nano-sim in it currently. Unfortunately, it is showing up with no signal in the top left instead of T-Mobile. Both through T-Mobile chat and calling the store they said the sim needs to be activated with a number in order to pick up the signal.

Can anyone provide a final verdict?
kevrunner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 03:04 AM   #21
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevrunner View Post
Is this still the case? I just unlocked (confirmed unlocked with Apple) an AT&T iPhone 5 and am have an unactivated T-Mobile nano-sim in it currently. Unfortunately, it is showing up with no signal in the top left instead of T-Mobile. Both through T-Mobile chat and calling the store they said the sim needs to be activated with a number in order to pick up the signal.

Can anyone provide a final verdict?
an unactivated SIM card, when inserted into an unlocked iphone will say "No Service". the phone will recognize the fact that a SIM has been inserted as long as its unlocked. the only time it will show the carrier logo instead of "No Service" is if the card is active and connects/registers with a cell tower.

if you venture out of cell range, the phone will also say "No Service" instead of the carrier name, since its not connected to a tower anymore. same thing.

i have personally put my old at&t SIM card, which is deactivated, into my Verizon iphone 5. the phone will say "Searching.." then change to "No Service" once it sees the card inactive. however, in the phones about screen, it does indeed acknowledge the SIM as being at&t and says so in the carrier info part.

bottom line is the phone WILL NOT say the carrier name of the SIM card unless its active and connected to a tower, since thats where it gets the carrier identifier from.
__________________
Verizon iPhone 6, 128GB Space Grey
iPad Mini 16GB Black, iPad 1 32 GB Black
iPod Touch 4th Generation 64GB Black
dictoresno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 05:34 AM   #22
AppleFanatic10
macrumors 68020
 
AppleFanatic10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Los Angeles but missing San Diego </3
Send a message via AIM to AppleFanatic10 Send a message via Skype™ to AppleFanatic10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myiphone7 View Post
Can I put in a Verizon sim to check if it's unlocked?

Or a T-mobile sim that's inactivated?

What will it say in the top left corner?

Thanks in advance.
I don't think you can put a Verizon sim in but I'm pretty sure the T-Mobile sim will work.
__________________
White Unibody MacBook, 2.4GHz, 1TB HD, 8GB RAM, OS X 10.9.4
iPad Mini 1Gen 16GB
iP6 SG 16GB 9/30/2014
RIP Grandma 5/10/1930 - 9/24/2012
AppleFanatic10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 11:03 AM   #23
Mwinder123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satnam1989 View Post
it will say No Service FYI....why would a unactivated SIM say T-Mobile on the top left....without signal bars....without service....

there's two of you that said it will say "T-Mobile" maybe u should do some research b4 misguiding ppl
I have an inactivated sim from tmobile and it does in fact say tmobile when I put the sim in.
Mwinder123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 11:18 AM   #24
Satnam1989
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mwinder123 View Post
I have an inactivated sim from tmobile and it does in fact say tmobile when I put the sim in.
this is definitely new..never seen it on any of my phones
Satnam1989 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will Unlocked iPhone 5s with T-Mobile SIM work with AT&T LTE after switching SIM? howierr iPhone 8 Sep 3, 2014 10:59 AM
Can I put an AT&T SIM in the Verizon 5c or 5s and get LTE? mactumors iPhone 1 Sep 10, 2013 11:36 PM
Can I use a verizon sim card in an unlocked at&t iphone 4 davejane iPhone 4 Nov 5, 2012 05:35 PM
iPhone 4S: factory unlocked vs. AT&T unlocked vs. Verizon unlocked 13ms13 iPhone 3 Oct 3, 2012 01:30 PM
Are all Verizon iPhone 5s SIM unlocked? hanzisripped iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 12 Sep 25, 2012 02:05 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC