Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:18 PM   #251
deconstruct60
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galatian View Post
Why now? Seriously they might as well just wait a few months more until Ivy-Bridge EX processors are out, with the possible inclusion of a dual 8-10 core, 16-20 hyper threaded cores...using Sandy-Bridge EX processors would be outdated.
Apple isn't going to use -EX processors. Folks seem to be deeply confused.

Core i7 Extreme ===> -E
Xeon E5 1600/2600 ===> -EP
Xeon E5 2400 ===> -EN
Xeon E7 ====> -EX

The E7 ( -EX) are intended for 2-4 socket server machines. There are no 4 socket Mac Pros coming. Which makes the -EX tradeoffs and huge additional expensive not cost effective.

The E5 1600/2600 series are priced and are the natural follow ons to the Xeon 3500/3600 and 5500/5600 series used in the 2009-2012 Mac Pros.
1600's for a single CPU socket model. 2600's for the double socket model.

The 2400 (and 1400 ) models are not targeted toward workstations. They have a more limited PCI-e lane count -24 instead of 40 lanes and more limited memory bandwidth. ( they are for cheaper servers with very limited number of PCI-e slots. )

The E5 1600 and Core i7 Extreme are basically the same design with some options turned on/off respetively. i7 gears more at overclocking (which Apple is extremely likely not going to want to support) and 1600's at classic Mac Pro differentiation like ECC and stability.




Quote:
Originally Posted by bergert View Post
I am thinking the same- only it's not going to happen. The Sandy bridge E5-26xx is not (yet) shipping for all SKU's and in quantities. My best guess is that for the E5-36xx you have to wait at least another 12 months !
It likely isn't going to be 36xx. Intel has to adding "v2" after the product to indicate Ivy Bridge. The first two number prefix will stay the same.

Intel is deviating slightly but in general:

[from older article http://www.anandtech.com/show/4259/w...gship-improves ]

There aren't going to be any 3 socket configs.

as for the E5 series being incomplete....

First you didn't include both the 1600 and 2600 .

1600 series.
http://ark.intel.com/products/series/63197

The roll-out of the 1600 series ( or old Xeon 3600 series ) has been the more problematical issue over the last 3 years; not the dual socket offerings.

The 1600 series is complete enough for a "good, better, best" offering with the E5 1620 , 1650 , 1660 . Those are about the same part price points that Apple has used in those Mac Pro configs in the past.

Likewise in the 2600 series. The E5 2620 (or 2630 with price increase) , 2630 (or 2640 ) , and E5 2665 (or 2670 with price bump) all hit the same part price points that Apple has used in the past.

There are no missing Sandy Bridge offerings that the Mac Pro needs.

All indications that Ivy Bridge isn't really going to substantially change the prices or TDP with the v2 offerings. The top end will get a higher core count and the lower core counts will get a clock speed bump but it is approximately the same design constraints.

Last edited by deconstruct60; Feb 6, 2013 at 02:24 PM.
deconstruct60 is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:21 PM   #252
Porco
macrumors 68000
 
Porco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
I'm guessing if there's a 'new' model soon it'll just be a different model number to indicate fans that comply with the EU regs. No point getting excited yet IMHO.
__________________
I really wish Apple would use the option key a little more, and the command key a little less.
*soundcloud/fdporco*
Porco is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:25 PM   #253
righteye
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by mouser45 View Post
With the current trends of things here's what to expect:

1. 30% thinner design

2. non-upgradable parts

3. 40% less packaging (for the environment, man)



Missing anything?
No Optical Drive! we do not need one know best

No Access Panel!!

Last edited by righteye; Feb 6, 2013 at 02:45 PM.
righteye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:26 PM   #254
bergert
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Get your tech right please !

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDoe98 View Post
The latest Intel Xeon CPUs aren't due until July??
Thumb resize.
Recall, the MacPro uses the INTEL XEON - and you are talking about the PC-version (i.e. single socket). As a Mac user, you should know Apple only uses the XEON (=server) dual socket CPU (i.e. E5-26xx, not i5 or i7) for the MacPro. And INTEL has not even shipped the Sandy bridge E5. So what are you talking about ? Ivy XEON (E5-36xx) has not even been announced yet (2014?) - and you are drooling over some CPU which may come in 2015 ?

http://ark.intel.com/products/series/61422
PS: I own and use two MacPro's personally, and I know of another 20 (or so) at work. Every one of them is a dual-CPU.
bergert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:27 PM   #255
RickyB
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
Since they are assembled in Cork, Ireland

Feb - April
And in France....
RickyB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:31 PM   #256
deconstruct60
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjs862 View Post
The Mac mini only has 2 DIMMS while the iMac has 4.
The 2012 iMac 21.5" only has two. Only the 2012 27" still has 4 DIMM slots.

Apple is betting on memory density to go up. 16-32GB ( with 2x 8 or 16GB DIMMs) is enough for a very large fraction of 21.5" buyers.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by bergert View Post
And INTEL has not even shipped the Sandy bridge E5. So what are you talking about ?....
....
http://ark.intel.com/products/series/61422
.
What are you talking about? It would not be in ark if was not already shipping. The Sandy Bridge E5 shipped back in 2012.
deconstruct60 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:31 PM   #257
Chupa Chupa
macrumors G3
 
Chupa Chupa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by powers74 View Post
I'm willing to be sorely disappointed along with you! You got my +1.
Heh.
__________________
Walled Garden ≠ Prison:
"People who use Apple products considered their options, and chose Apple. If they regret their decision, they can dump it at any time." -- Harry McCracken, Technologizer.com
Chupa Chupa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:38 PM   #258
Mattww
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
It will be interesting to see what changes are made in the case design. The existing one has been refined over the years and is cool running, quiet and easy to access.

Hope they keep multiple 3.5" drive bays for large capacity drives as the rate of progress since 3 and 4TB arrived has been slow. 5.25" bays are less important with optical discs being less commonly used day to day but some additional 2.5" bays for SSD drives for boot etc. without having to use the 3.5" bays would be very useful.

Thunderbolt and USB 3 are pretty much a given and I expect Firewire 800 to go but with the option of a Thunderbolt to FireWire adaptor.

The main thing is that they keep support for a full size high end upgradable GPU as these are still advancing faster than processors so need replacing more regularly.

I wouldn't be surprised if the Mac Pro became a CTO only machine as it probably doesn't make sense to stock multiple configurations these days. As long as Apple offer the option of more cores than consumer machines and ECC memory for reliability that should keep folks happy.
Mattww is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:41 PM   #259
bergert
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by deconstruct60 View Post
Apple isn't going to use -EX processors. Folks seem to be deeply confused.
The 1600 series is complete enough for a "good, better, best" offering with the E5 1620 , 1650 , 1660 . Those are about the same part price points that Apple has used in those Mac Pro configs in the past.
You almost get it only: read this page:
http://ark.intel.com/products/series/63197
Max CPU Configuration 1

The current MacPro would use E5-2620/2650 or 2670. The E5-16xx only for single socket model.

In any case, none of these (neither 16xx nor 26xx) are readily available !
Recall these were announced back in 2010 to be availabe in Q2/2011. 2 years later they are not shipping.

E5v2 was promised for 2012 here:
http://www.engadget.com/2012/10/17/i...5-2600-v2-cpu/ (you are right they call it v2 instead of 36xx now)
bergert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:49 PM   #260
JohnDoe98
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by bergert View Post
E5v2 was promised for 2012 here:
http://www.engadget.com/2012/10/17/i...5-2600-v2-cpu/ (you are right they call it v2 instead of 36xx now)
Do you even bother to read your sources? The first link you gave in response to me indicated, contrary to your claim, that the SB E5 had already launched. They are on the market already. Now, another source you provide, gives exactly the same info I gave and which you railed on me for, i.e. your so called E5v2 has a projected launch date of Q3'13, not 2014 or 2015 as you tried to claim.

Maybe you should read more attentively before posting?
JohnDoe98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:50 PM   #261
bergert
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by deconstruct60 View Post
What are you talking about? It would not be in ark if was not already shipping. The Sandy Bridge E5 shipped back in 2012.
yes, I had a colleague he wanted to order 4 in October; he had to wait 5 weeks for delivery from the distributor. And right now, he wants to build another 2 servers (=4 CPU's) and the E5-2620 is again on back-order.

And if you look at the chart - only 3 out of 12 E5-26xx SKU's *ARE* actually being produced.

ARK says: "Launched No"
bergert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:50 PM   #262
JesperA
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sweden
I dont have any Mac Pro and i dont work in an environment that uses any Mac Pros so i have very little knownledge of how people uses their Mac Pro, with that said, i really want go get my hands on a new Mac Pro in 2013 but contrary to what i have seen on other wishlists, the only internal "storage" i would like to see is just 2,5" drives, enough to put 4 or 6 of them into the Mac Pro.

As for the 3.5", you guys that have wished for this, do you really need it internally in the Mac Pro? Doesnt any storage array work in your environment, like Drobo, Synology, Pegasus thunderbolt arrays, WD have some TB enclosures too, you could build your own storage array with FreeNAS, 14TB for less than 800USD or in a more professional environment: Equallogic or other SAN:s.

Is it really terrible important with internal 3.5" bays in Mac Pro that wastes space that could be used for PCI slots, more RAM slots, and other I/O related stuff, shouldnt a Mac Pro be 100% focused on performance now that there is so many storage solutions available?
JesperA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:52 PM   #263
Cole Slaw
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
I hope this is true. I would be interested in getting a new Mac that isn't welded shut and allows for the user to do some upgrades on their own.
__________________
Mac Mini 2.3 i7/960gb ssd + 1tb /16gb RAM | 27" Thunderbolt Display | MacBook Air 11" i7/256/8gb RAM | iPod Classic 160 gb | iPhone 5S 64 gb
Cole Slaw is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:52 PM   #264
JesperA
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by bergert View Post
ARK says: "Launched No"
No, the ARK does not say "Launched NO", those are 2 separated columns, the no is for the column "Embedded Options Available - NO"

And "Launched" is for the column "Status".

Those CPU:s you linked to was launched over 1 year ago.
JesperA is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:54 PM   #265
JohnDoe98
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by bergert View Post
yes, I had a colleague he wanted to order 4 in October; he had to wait 5 weeks for delivery from the distributor. And right now, he wants to build another 2 servers (=4 CPU's) and the E5-2620 is again on back-order.

And if you look at the chart - only 3 out of 12 E5-26xx SKU's *ARE* actually being produced.

ARK says: "Launched No"
LOL. So it's confirmed you don't know how to read. Under the status column it says "launched", under the embedded options available column it says "no" for many of them. That doesn't mean they aren't launched, it means they are launched with no embedded options available.
JohnDoe98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:56 PM   #266
Rampage Dev
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
To make it clear what I posted earlier about thunderbolt:

All iMac's, Mac Mini, Mac Book Air's and Mac Book Pro's that have thunderbolt have integrated GPU's on the CPU regardless if they have a dedicated card. So please do not state that your system does not because this is untruthful.

Intel requieres that all thunderbolt connections must be connected to the IGPU then to the physical connector that is on the board. Since the Mac Pro does not have any IGPU and the SB-E chips do not have a IGPU thunderbolt can not be on the new Mac Pro's. Since Intel requires that the IGPU must be on the CPU there is no chance that the Mac Pro will have thunderbolt. If they do allow this then Intel will be served many lawsuits for lying and miss representation of there product and the standard.
Rampage Dev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:58 PM   #267
Larry-K
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peace View Post
Maybe I have. Maybe I haven't..

Does it look like a 50LB iPhone?
Larry-K is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 02:58 PM   #268
relimw
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by bergert View Post
yes, I had a colleague he wanted to order 4 in October; he had to wait 5 weeks for delivery from the distributor. And right now, he wants to build another 2 servers (=4 CPU's) and the E5-2620 is again on back-order.

And if you look at the chart - only 3 out of 12 E5-26xx SKU's *ARE* actually being produced.

ARK says: "Launched No"
You're crazy Amazon will ship them today (not v2).

Besides, you need to learn to read tables better, the "No" refers to the Embeddable option
__________________
Powerbook 1Ghz 17"
Mac Mini 1.42GHz; 1GB RAM; AE+BT
Mac Mini 1.42GHz; 1GB RAM
Mac Pro 3GHz; 12GB; x1900; AE+BT
relimw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 03:01 PM   #269
JohnDoe98
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by relimw View Post
You're crazy Amazon will ship them today (not v2).
Not readily available, only 14 in stock /s
JohnDoe98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 03:03 PM   #270
tann
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nottingham, England
I think a lot of us called this when we heard the old Mac Pro wasn't been changed to meet regulations.

They knew it was coming so instead of meeting them with an old machine, they'll just use this moment to introduce a nice new one!
__________________
2013 13" MacBook Air i5/8GB/256GB || White 64GB iPhone 5 || 32GB Cellular Silver iPad rMini!
Follow me on Twitter!
tann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 03:04 PM   #271
Rampage Dev
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fithian View Post
I have a 2011 MacMini with an i7 2.7GHz and a discrete GPU AMD Radeon HD 6630M with Thunderbolt. No IGPU.
Yes, you do have a IGPU. Its on the CPU dye and runs all the time. Please know your hardware before stating something that is factually incorrect. HD3000 is on the CPU dye.
Rampage Dev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 03:05 PM   #272
relimw
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDoe98 View Post
Not readily available, only 14 in stock /s
Amazon ok, build me a new MacPro with these 56 chips, smart*ss
__________________
Powerbook 1Ghz 17"
Mac Mini 1.42GHz; 1GB RAM; AE+BT
Mac Mini 1.42GHz; 1GB RAM
Mac Pro 3GHz; 12GB; x1900; AE+BT
relimw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 03:12 PM   #273
Larry-K
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperA View Post
I dont have any Mac Pro and i dont work in an environment that uses any Mac Pros so i have very little knownledge of how people uses their Mac Pro, with that said, i really want go get my hands on a new Mac Pro in 2013 but contrary to what i have seen on other wishlists, the only internal "storage" i would like to see is just 2,5" drives, enough to put 4 or 6 of them into the Mac Pro.

As for the 3.5", you guys that have wished for this, do you really need it internally in the Mac Pro? Doesnt any storage array work in your environment, like Drobo, Synology, Pegasus thunderbolt arrays, WD have some TB enclosures too, you could build your own storage array with FreeNAS, 14TB for less than 800USD or in a more professional environment: Equallogic or other SAN:s.

Is it really terrible important with internal 3.5" bays in Mac Pro that wastes space that could be used for PCI slots, more RAM slots, and other I/O related stuff, shouldnt a Mac Pro be 100% focused on performance now that there is so many storage solutions available?
No, it should not be 100% focused on performance, because no two people agree on what performance is. It should be focused on a high level of flexibility, unlike virtually all of Apple's other offerings, so that I can make the performance choices I want. I want enterprise class HDDs and SSDs and lots of 'em, video cards that aren't from the last decade and I don't want a bunch of extra junk on my desk.
Larry-K is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 03:13 PM   #274
righteye
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperA View Post
I dont have any Mac Pro and i dont work in an environment that uses any Mac Pros so i have very little knownledge of how people uses their Mac Pro, with that said, i really want go get my hands on a new Mac Pro in 2013 but contrary to what i have seen on other wishlists, the only internal "storage" i would like to see is just 2,5" drives, enough to put 4 or 6 of them into the Mac Pro.

As for the 3.5", you guys that have wished for this, do you really need it internally in the Mac Pro? Doesnt any storage array work in your environment, like Drobo, Synology, Pegasus thunderbolt arrays, WD have some TB enclosures too, you could build your own storage array with FreeNAS, 14TB for less than 800USD or in a more professional environment: Equallogic or other SAN:s.

Is it really terrible important with internal 3.5" bays in Mac Pro that wastes space that could be used for PCI slots, more RAM slots, and other I/O related stuff, shouldnt a Mac Pro be 100% focused on performance now that there is so many storage solutions available?
Any 3.5'' drive bay can be converted to 2.5'' with a new caddie from OWC and other vendors.
The second OD bay can be converted to house another drive 3.5'' or 2.5''.
If you use a PCIe SSD that gives you 6 drives altogether.
More important is that they will be 6G so if you are using SSD drives they can be utilised to their full potential.
righteye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 03:15 PM   #275
komodrone
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Ming-Chi Kuo didn't see this coming.
komodrone is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Office for Mac to Come Next Spring, Office for iOS Not Arriving Until Fall 2014? MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 134 Feb 1, 2014 07:18 PM
Apple Updates Final Cut Pro X with 2013 Mac Pro Compatibility, 4K Content MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 106 Jan 1, 2014 07:50 PM
Does anyone know when the apple stores will have mac pro 2013? The Doctor11 Mac Pro 8 Dec 31, 2013 06:51 PM
Photo: New Mac Pro Arriving at Apple Retail Stores [Fake] MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 59 Dec 18, 2013 07:20 AM
Mac Pro 2013 and Apple iTV Hige Apple TV and Home Theater 6 Oct 20, 2013 06:40 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC