Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 6, 2013, 06:45 PM   #1
Parise
macrumors 6502a
 
Parise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Orlando, FL
Apps won't work with Jailbreak?

Tried to open my Directv app today and received the following:

"This app is not supported on jailbroken devices. Please connect to Apple iTunes to update or restore your device."

wtf?

Anyone know of any other apps like this?
Parise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 06:48 PM   #2
Adutrumque
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sweden
I think there is a tweak that hides the fact that your iDevice is jailbroken.
Adutrumque is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 06:49 PM   #3
Troneas
macrumors 65816
 
Troneas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: At the hacks section.
i havent seen anything like this in my apps.


maybe directv is concerned you might hack or exploit it with a jailbreak.
Troneas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 07:23 PM   #4
PaintTheSkyGrey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
You need to install the xCon beta from this repo:

http://n00neimp0rtant.dyndns.org/repo/

I had the same issue, and the current release of xCon doesn't fix it. I read somewhere that the beta worked, so I found the beta repo and sure enough, it does!

Hope this helps!
PaintTheSkyGrey is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 08:30 PM   #5
BumpyFlatline
macrumors 68030
 
BumpyFlatline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
You need xCon. Just like Apple and jailbreak hackers, apps that offer entertainment content like directv, it's a cat and mouse game. Not sure of your situation but directv was recently updated (on January 13) and with each update they usually implement jailbreak detection codes. I'm not sure if you had the most recent version or not prior to the 6.1 jailbreak but either way xCon should do the trick. I'm not sure if its updated yet for the latest directv version or not but try it out. If its not working yet just wait, the developer is really good at updating that tweak.

On a side note, I think there's a companion package for con which prevents the App Store from updating a particular app so you don't run into this problem where the app won't work on a jailbroken device.

Edit: whoops looks like PaintheSkyGrey beat me to it. Grab the tweak from his beta repo. I don't use xCon or any apps that would require it so I was running off of memory. Good luck!
BumpyFlatline is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 10:07 PM   #6
rman726
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
xCon doesn't work on the current DirecTV app.
__________________
64GB iPad 4G LTE White | 32GB iPhone 5 Black | 16GB Asus Nexus 7 | 32GB HP Touchpad
rman726 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 11:02 PM   #7
Jman13
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Columbus, OH
The beta Xcon listed above does work on DirecTV. The one currently released does not. Update with the beta and you're good to go.
Jman13 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 11:29 PM   #8
shenan1982
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaintTheSkyGrey View Post
You need to install the xCon beta from this repo:

http://n00neimp0rtant.dyndns.org/repo/

I had the same issue, and the current release of xCon doesn't fix it. I read somewhere that the beta worked, so I found the beta repo and sure enough, it does!

Hope this helps!
This is very good to know! Thanks!
shenan1982 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 11:49 PM   #9
ideal.dreams
macrumors 68000
 
ideal.dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: OH
Time Warner Cable did the same for their Live TV app but there's a tweak called "FakeTimeWarner (FTW)" that fixes the problem. Try searching for "DirectTV" in Cydia and see if that returns anything since xCon didn't work.
__________________
15" rMBP: 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM, 2.3 GHz Quad Core i7, OS X 10.9.2
Silver iPhone 6: 128GB, iOS 8.0
Silver iPad Air 16GB + WiFi, iOS 8.0
ideal.dreams is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 02:33 AM   #10
simeezee
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
How about the Time Warner Cable SportsNet app?

It says "Sportsnet is not supported on "jailbroken" devices. Please restore your iOS device to factory defaults, then reinstall Sportsnet"
simeezee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 03:07 AM   #11
forza69
macrumors 6502a
 
forza69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
It's also happening with Redbox Instant. Just noticed the same with my DirecTV app. Really sucks. I'll try out xCon and I will not be renewing my Redbox Instant subscription once the free trial is over lol.
__________________
Late 2012 MacBook Pro 15.4" Retina Display | iPhone 5s Space Gray 32GB | iPhone 6 Plus Silver 64GB | iPad Air Silver 32GB
forza69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 01:14 AM   #12
simeezee
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by simeezee View Post
How about the Time Warner Cable SportsNet app?

It says "Sportsnet is not supported on "jailbroken" devices. Please restore your iOS device to factory defaults, then reinstall Sportsnet"
Actually xCon fixed the Time Warner Cable SportsNet app. Thanks guys.
simeezee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 06:31 PM   #13
ou1987
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
How do I download the beta version?
ou1987 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 01:11 PM   #14
lissa5168
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East TN
Read post #4.
__________________
iPhone 4S 16 GB black
lissa5168 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 03:51 PM   #15
Cooknn
macrumors 68020
 
Cooknn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaintTheSkyGrey View Post
You need to install the xCon beta from this repo:

http://n00neimp0rtant.dyndns.org/repo/

I had the same issue, and the current release of xCon doesn't fix it. I read somewhere that the beta worked, so I found the beta repo and sure enough, it does!

Hope this helps!
My DirecTV app works now. Thanks!
Cooknn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 03:54 PM   #16
wknapp0924
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Honolulu, HI
Quote:
Originally Posted by ou1987 View Post
How do I download the beta version?
Goto Sources in Cydia and enter that address and add the repo, open repo download Xcon Beta.
wknapp0924 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2013, 01:53 PM   #17
kkjellquist
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wknapp0924 View Post
Goto Sources in Cydia and enter that address and add the repo, open repo download Xcon Beta.
Thanks
kkjellquist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2013, 06:20 PM   #18
porscherain
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Xcon does work for TWC Sportnest. They updated the app to version 1.2.2 today, can anyone confirm that Xcon still works?
porscherain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2013, 07:11 PM   #19
bobright
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaintTheSkyGrey View Post
You need to install the xCon beta from this repo:

http://n00neimp0rtant.dyndns.org/repo/

I had the same issue, and the current release of xCon doesn't fix it. I read somewhere that the beta worked, so I found the beta repo and sure enough, it does!

Hope this helps!
PTSG,

You are the man cheers DTV app now working !
bobright is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2013, 06:32 AM   #20
brayhite
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: N. Kentucky
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaintTheSkyGrey View Post
You need to install the xCon beta from this repo:

http://n00neimp0rtant.dyndns.org/repo/

I had the same issue, and the current release of xCon doesn't fix it. I read somewhere that the beta worked, so I found the beta repo and sure enough, it does!

Hope this helps!
simply awesome. thanks!
__________________
Feasog Rua
brayhite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2013, 01:55 PM   #21
mofoliar
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
just d/l newest directv to stream some tv, and it did not work out! I d/l

Xcon and dtvrunner from Cydia and we are GOLDEN!

1.14.4
__________________
Iphone 5S 16G
Imac 21" i5 8G ram, Mavericks (late 2011)
Ipad 4 Air wifi/att data 32G
iMac 27" i7,SSD,16G ram 4G Gddr5 video 13'
mofoliar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2014, 03:52 PM   #22
Jwalking
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Followed directions, found xCon Beta 5, downloaded. Now can't open any apps. Tap on an app, it looks like it's going to open, then it doesn't. Had to remove!!!
Jwalking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2014, 04:32 PM   #23
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
Get newest xCon from GitHub, it will not interfere with the launch of other apps

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1688031
__________________
iPhone 6+ iPhone 5S
iPad 4 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2014, 02:49 AM   #24
shenan1982
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhlizard View Post
Get newest xCon from GitHub, it will not interfere with the launch of other apps

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1688031
Why is it still called xcon if someone else is writing it? And why won't they add it to cydia.
shenan1982 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2014, 08:49 AM   #25
cubicle101
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaintTheSkyGrey View Post
You need to install the xCon beta from this repo:

http://n00neimp0rtant.dyndns.org/repo/

I had the same issue, and the current release of xCon doesn't fix it. I read somewhere that the beta worked, so I found the beta repo and sure enough, it does!

Hope this helps!
I've tried to add this repo and get the message that the hostname cannot be found. Is this repo still active? If not has the XCon beta been made available elsewhere?
cubicle101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is jailbreak of 7.0.4 being work-on by evad3rs or somebody? LoMayoKicksU Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Nov 22, 2013 09:26 PM
Iphone apps won't work after restore CanadianGeek iPhone 0 Sep 27, 2013 10:06 PM
iPhone: Cydia + Safari won't work after Jailbreak... what to do axesd Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Apr 14, 2013 04:29 AM
iPhone: Jailbreak 6.1 Alarm Won't Work? Gredy Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Feb 5, 2013 10:23 PM
I was told that due to the bigger screen on the new iPhone, my apps/games won't work. Xandros iPhone 16 Sep 12, 2012 05:52 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC