Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 6, 2013, 09:35 PM   #1
iTundra
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Can't see FireWire 800 port

Trying to capture some video from an older DV cam. Using a 4pin > 9pin (800) cable. iMovie only shows the isight camera, nothing for DV. Boot to Win7 and Sony Vegas capture also shows only the isight camera, no DV. Video is playing correctly on camera LCD and camera is set to DV Out (and has always worked in the past on other computers). Nobody locally stocks a 4pin>6pin thus my using the 4pin>9pin.

Am I correct that any firewire device should work on the 800 port (fully backwards compatible)?

Any thoughts on what to do?

Thanks,
iTundra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 09:39 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
There is some evidence (LethalWolfe does know it better), that FW800 and modern Mac OS X versions do not play well with DV camcorder/players connected via a 4-pin to 9-pin cable.

I got it to work via daisy chaining my MBP via FW 800 to a FW 800 HDD and connecting the DV camera via FW to the HDD, but even that did not work every time.

You could get a 4-pin to 6-pin cable via MonoPrice for not much money.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 09:47 PM   #3
iTundra
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Thanks. We need this captured by late tomorrow morning which is why I had to go with the only cable I could find locally at the end of the day (at one time I had a few of these but they seemed to have slithered off). I did order a 4>6 cable this afternoon just in case but it won't be here till Fri.
iTundra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2013, 10:11 PM   #4
wonderspark
macrumors 68030
 
wonderspark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Denver, CO
I have a 4-pin to 9-pin (FW400->FW800) cable that I use to capture video on my Mac Pro, so I know it works on OSX 10.6.8. It worked flawlessly, every time.

I use Adobe Premiere to capture, though. I can't tell you anything about iMovie or Vegas.

Perhaps you can ensure/check that the capture program is set properly.
__________________
Wait a second... So you're telling me anything that happens in the sky is legal, and there's a giant crime-blimp flying around this place? I don't know how I missed that.
wonderspark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 01:03 PM   #5
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
I've yet to make a professional Sony DV Cam play well with any Mac..My personal cam is fine though
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 01:07 PM   #6
iTundra
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by wonderspark View Post
Perhaps you can ensure/check that the capture program is set properly.
Thanks. I've checked everything that I can think of and nothing shows up in either iMovie or Vegas (under Win7) except the iSight camera.

Doubly frustrating: I borrowed a 4pin > 6pin from a friend early this morning based on posts here and his experience having problems with Apple's 800, only to find out that my mac pro has ZERO 400 ports, only 9pin 800 ports. Umph.
iTundra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 01:19 PM   #7
MacTech68
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia, Perth
Quote:
Originally Posted by iTundra View Post
Thanks. I've checked everything that I can think of and nothing shows up in either iMovie or Vegas (under Win7) except the iSight camera.

Doubly frustrating: I borrowed a 4pin > 6pin from a friend early this morning based on posts here and his experience having problems with Apple's 800, only to find out that my mac pro has ZERO 400 ports, only 9pin 800 ports. Umph.
What model is the Sony camera, and what MacOS & iMovie version are you using?

Also, what do you see (if anything) in the "Firewire" section of "System Profiler" ?

Do you have any other Firewire devices attached?

Try using a different port - MacPros should have Firewire ports both front and rear.

Some Sony tech docs say to shut down the Mac, THEN connect the camera, power on the camera and then power on the Mac. Odd, yes, considering Firewire is supposed to be hot-pluggable.

EDIT: Some of the tips here may also help - especially the settings on the camera (toggling them to force a change), the Nikon Transfer app, and Adobe bridge issues.

https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
__________________
iBook14" 1.42Ghz, G4 DigitalAudio 733Mhz, iMac Snow 700Mhz, iBook SE 466Mhz, PowerBook Pismo 500Mhz, G3 B&W, G4 MDD 1.25Ghz, iMac 233 1998, iMac G4 USB2 1.25Ghz, iMac C2D 2.16Ghz, MacMini G4 1.25Ghz

Last edited by MacTech68; Feb 7, 2013 at 01:29 PM.
MacTech68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 01:23 PM   #8
wonderspark
macrumors 68030
 
wonderspark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by iTundra View Post
Thanks. I've checked everything that I can think of and nothing shows up in either iMovie or Vegas (under Win7) except the iSight camera.

Doubly frustrating: I borrowed a 4pin > 6pin from a friend early this morning based on posts here and his experience having problems with Apple's 800, only to find out that my mac pro has ZERO 400 ports, only 9pin 800 ports. Umph.
Yes, that's the reason I bought that 4-9 pin cable in the first place.

Honestly, it should just work in any FW800 port. I've only used mine in the front ports, and no rebooting or anything. I hope you get it sorted out. That would drive me insane.
__________________
Wait a second... So you're telling me anything that happens in the sky is legal, and there's a giant crime-blimp flying around this place? I don't know how I missed that.
wonderspark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 08:36 PM   #9
iTundra
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Thanks all.

I tried a number of things and nothing worked. This is apparently a known problem (800 port incompatible with some older firewire devices) in Apple that is rumored to be fixed in more recent shipments. Genius bar folks so far not very helpful.
iTundra is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewire 800 to usb archdelux Mac Peripherals 12 Jan 10, 2014 07:13 AM
Firewire 800 RAID 0 gibkibonzo Mac Peripherals 6 May 31, 2013 03:22 AM
FireWire 800 or 400 and what to get DeafRaiders Buying Tips and Advice 5 Dec 24, 2012 09:49 AM
USB 3 to Firewire 800 adapter? skadd Mac Peripherals 3 Nov 24, 2012 01:54 PM
USB 3.0 vs. Firewire 800 afurry13 Wasteland 44 Jul 10, 2012 05:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC