Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 7, 2013, 02:09 PM   #1
Svoy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Which Version of Backplane 2009 board 1 or 2?

Hi Guys,

Would you please help me out what version of Backplane board do I need, I have a Mac Pro 2009 double processor board assembly with numbers on a board 820-2336-A and numbers on a sticker/ barcode label ( *J5942024L1LUE* 630-9402 CHINA) Can anybody help me find out which version (Ver. 1 661-4996 or Ver. 2 661-5444 )of Mac pro 2009 Backplane board is compatible with my Processor board.
Thank in advance.
Svoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 04:51 PM   #2
Svoy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Common guys...
Any information the owners of Mac pro 2009 would be helpful, if someone could match the numbers of boards...
Svoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 05:55 PM   #3
chrfr
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svoy View Post
Common guys...
Any information the owners of Mac pro 2009 would be helpful, if someone could match the numbers of boards...
3 hours really is an inappropriately short period of time to bump a thread. You're seeking free help. Be patient.
chrfr is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 06:34 PM   #4
Svoy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrfr View Post
3 hours really is an inappropriately short period of time to bump a thread. You're seeking free help. Be patient.
Thanks, I will...
Svoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 12:57 AM   #5
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
Processor boards

Any 2009 Processor board will work with any 2009 Backplane board.. Even a 2010 will work, but bear this in mind... In order to get westmere support you would need to change out not only the 2009 processor board, but also the 2009 backplane board which costs lots of money and is not worth it..

Instead, there is a better way and I am sure you already know what it is. Look for the 2009 Mac Pro --> 2010 Mac Pro firmware updater. With this firmware updater it will change your 09 Mac Pro to a 10 and will allow you to use your existing boards, and the best part: You can then upgrade them to westmere processors..

Its easy and many have done it. I have and I am enjoying 6-core goodness.

AFAIK, board versions don't make a difference. a 2009 Mac Pro board is the same, regardless.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Svoy View Post
Thanks, I will...
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 08:40 AM   #6
Svoy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPCMacMan View Post
Any 2009 Processor board will work with any 2009 Backplane board.. Even a 2010 will work, but bear this in mind... In order to get westmere support you would need to change out not only the 2009 processor board, but also the 2009 backplane board which costs lots of money and is not worth it..

Instead, there is a better way and I am sure you already know what it is. Look for the 2009 Mac Pro --> 2010 Mac Pro firmware updater. With this firmware updater it will change your 09 Mac Pro to a 10 and will allow you to use your existing boards, and the best part: You can then upgrade them to westmere processors..

Its easy and many have done it. I have and I am enjoying 6-core goodness.

AFAIK, board versions don't make a difference. a 2009 Mac Pro board is the same, regardless.
Thank you for response PowerPCMacMan,
The reason I've started this thread is because I've got a processor board from my friend after he moved out and now I decided to assemble whole Mac Pro from a scratch, I have everything but Backplane board…The last Backplane board 661-5444 I bought on Ebay did not work as suppose to. It powered on , and fans worked but no sound chime and no video.
And everything get back to normal after I switched back to my 2010 backplane board model (except the fans are spinning at full speed because of the differences between the models ). So, I decided to send it back due to defect of the board. Now I am thinking, was it a really defect or it was just a wrong Version ?
So, From what you said, can I just order ANY new version of backplane board 2009 and it should work? Right?
Svoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 11:00 AM   #7
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svoy View Post
…The last Backplane board 661-5444 I bought on Ebay did not work as suppose to. It powered on , and fans worked but no sound chime and no video.
Well, the easiest way to get an answer is asking a reseller who actually carries both versions of the board, such as DV Warehouse. You can either call or send them an email to have your question answered.
xcodeSyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 12:01 PM   #8
Svoy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcodeSyn View Post
Well, the easiest way to get an answer is asking a reseller who actually carries both versions of the board, such as DV Warehouse. You can either call or send them an email to have your question answered.
Hi xcodeSyn,
Thank you for reply...I spoke yesterday with Jason from DVwarehouse, before opening this thread, and he wasn't sure which backplane version exactly should I buy....

Quote:
... That's a tough one. We need numbers off that backplane and/or the machine to get the right board. The processor board alone can not distinguish which you need.


Jason
DVWarehouse
so, in order to get the right backplane version I need either # of backplane matched with my Processor board serial number or machine serial number which I do not have...
It would be more easier if the owners of Mac pro 2009 matched theirs serials this mine.
Svoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 01:52 PM   #9
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svoy View Post
so, in order to get the right backplane version I need either # of backplane matched with my Processor board serial number or machine serial number which I do not have...
Not according to this link explaining what EEE code means:
Quote:
The EEE code is the first 3 of the last 4 letters of the serial. So in case of a QUAD G5 logic board it is xxxxxxEEEx or xxxxxxxR80x. Now when you see a listing with a mention EEE code in case of the QUAD G5 logic board you will see a list of all the possible once R80, UM0, UR0, URA, VU7, VU8 you only need to match one of them. And if you currently have UM0 and get R80 that is no problem. Getting the correct EEE code part is the absolute way of ordering the correct part.
Your processor board EEE code is the first 3 of the last 4 letters, i.e. 1LU. The 661-4996 lists 1LT as part of its EEE code, and that's a match according to the cited link. Besides the version 2 661-5444 apparently did not work and has no matching EEE code listed under it. Can't believe Google is more useful than a real person.

Last edited by xcodeSyn; Feb 8, 2013 at 02:02 PM. Reason: typo
xcodeSyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 02:11 PM   #10
Svoy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcodeSyn View Post
Not according to this link explaining what EEE code means:

Your processor board EEE code is the first 3 of the last 4 letters, i.e. 1LU. The 661-4996 lists 1LT as part of its EEE code, and that's a match according to the cited link. Besides the version 2 661-5441 apparently did not work and has no matching EEE code listed under it. Can't believe Google is more useful than a real person.
Thanks...I really appreciate for your help...
Now I have at least a clue, and I just noticed , in version 1 board EEE code (first 3 of the last 4 letters) begins from digits and version 2 from letters...I hope I wont miss this time...
Svoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 06:33 PM   #11
Svoy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Hello everybody,


I would like to update this thread...I've got and installed a new Apple backplane board Version 1 today and every time I start mac pro it reaches the desktop with kernel panic (Card in Slot2 )...and I do not see an Apple Boot logo on start just a black screen (Video card in Slot 1)....
I run Apple service diagnostic and it failed... ERROR-60 VIDEO CONTROLLER....
Can anybody knows what is it? Could it be just a Video card (Apple Radeon 5770) issue or it causes because of Backplane board failure?
Thanks in advance
Svoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 06:49 PM   #12
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Which 5770 is it?

Where did it come from?

Do you know that it worked in a Mac Pro before?

Some info will help
MacVidCards is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 06:55 PM   #13
Svoy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Which 5770 is it?

Where did it come from?

Do you know that it worked in a Mac Pro before?

Some info will help
Thank you MacVidCards for reply...
I bought it on Ebay...it is Apple radeon 5770 video card...I tested it before on my Mac Pro 2009 with backplane board from 2010 , and everything was ok, except the fans are spinning at full speed...
Is there a video controller on a board by itself or it is on a Video card?
Svoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 07:06 PM   #14
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svoy View Post
Thank you MacVidCards for reply...
I bought it on Ebay...it is Apple radeon 5770 video card...I tested it before on my Mac Pro 2009 with backplane board from 2010 , and everything was ok, except the fans are spinning at full speed...
Is there a video controller on a board by itself or it is on a Video card?
Does it have 2 small MDP ports and a single DVI port.

Do you have power connected?
MacVidCards is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 07:09 PM   #15
Svoy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Does it have 2 small MDP ports and a single DVI port.

Do you have power connected?
Yes, One DVI, and 2 MDP, it is power connected ...
The thing is that it works in system...

PS. I just reset NVRAM/PRAM and partially problem solved, now mac pro reaches the desktop without kernel panic but still fails Video controller test

Last edited by Svoy; Feb 26, 2013 at 08:11 PM.
Svoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2014, 06:58 PM   #16
mwhybark
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
fork!

Hi, this seems to be the only place on the web about this specific issue. I am trying to figure it out with reference to a single-proc early 2009.

Let me summarize the knowledge above.

Apple uses system of EEE codes to identify parts compatibility. the EEE code is embedded in the part SN. the mac pro 4,1 early 2009 came with version 1 and version 2 backplane boards, which have differing sets of EEE codes.

the theory is you match the processor tray EEE code to the backplane EEE code to know if a unit is interoperable. however, by match, they do not mean the codes are the same, they mean they crossreference successfully. vendors publish the EEE codes of the various parts but no one seems to have published a crossreference guide.

mobo v 1 p/n, EEE codes: 661-4996 - 1LT, 7A1
mobo v 2 p/n, EEE codes: 661-5444 - CV7, DD4G

single proc model proc tray 3.66mhz P/N, EEE code: 661-4999 - 4MF, BY0, DCVJ

Earlier in this thread, a dual-proc tray with SN J5942024L1LUE was referenced as having EEE code 1LU. That poster noted,
Quote:
"Your processor board EEE code is the first 3 of the last 4 letters, i.e. 1LU. The 661-4996 lists 1LT as part of its EEE code, and that's a match according to the cited link."
I added the link in the quote for clarity.

I have examined the cited link, and can find no source to correlate the EEE codes 1LT to 1LU.

The cited link includes this:

Quote:
"Now when you see a listing with a mention EEE code in case of the QUAD G5 logic board you will see a list of all the possible once R80, UM0, UR0, URA, VU7, VU8 you only need to match one of them. And if you currently have UM0 and get R80 that is no problem."
Is the in-thread poster who notes 1LT and 1LU as a match interpreting the phrase "you only need to match one of them" to indicate a single-letter position match in the EEE code is a match?

Finally, after gathering the EEE codes for v1 and v2 and for the single-proc boards, I don't think the match is actually a 1-to-1 match, I think it must be a lookup. Is this correct? Apparently there is no comprehensive lookup resource online. Is that correct?

Thanks in advance for your clarifications.
mwhybark is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mid 2009 logic board interchangeable? justanotherape MacBook Air 2 May 22, 2014 10:51 AM
Cost for fixing magsafe board macbook 2009? prubano MacBook 6 Apr 27, 2014 01:00 PM
Areca ARC-1223-8I & ICY DOCK Backplane JavaTheHut Mac Pro 0 Aug 19, 2013 03:21 PM
iMac 2009 LCD contact on Logic Board linnjones iMac 0 Oct 5, 2012 04:20 PM
Mac Pro 2009 - logic board mystery :) Spacedust Mac Pro 4 Sep 20, 2012 10:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC