Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Old Feb 7, 2013, 04:13 PM   #1
Ciclismo
macrumors 6502a

Software tips for hobby photog

Hi, I am awaiting my first Mac and one of the core reasons I need your help is that I enjoy both photography and videography as a hobby.

I use my iPhone 4S as an accompaniment to my GH2, so I will be processing JPGs and RAWs.

I've been giving software a thought, and because budget is an issue, I came up with the following list, but would appreciate advice as I am a noob:

Aperture or Darktable for database and RAW processing,
Pixelmator for 'chopping,
And FCPX for video editing.
Ciclismo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 05:48 PM   #2
oldgeezer
macrumors member

I'd go with Lightroom 4 over Aperture.
oldgeezer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 06:30 PM   #3
firedept
macrumors Demi-God

Adobe Photoshop Elements 11 & Premiere Elements 11.
Aperture
Pixelmator
Lightroom 4
FCPX

All reasonable cost. All have their own purposes. But you will need to do a little research on each of them to see which will best suit your needs. I have tried them all at one point in time and they all do excellent job. Remember that all of them have a learning curve. Easy to find help with them though with just a quick search.

In the end I went with Adobe Master Collection as it best suited my needs, but was way out of the cheap cost range.

Hope this helps.
firedept is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 07:16 PM   #4
Jessica Lares
macrumors 604

I have the Creative Cloud subscription. It really is worth it. Everything for $50 a month. You get Lightroom, Photoshop, After Effects, and Premiere - Both will do you some good. Plus, they're all industry standard tools and have a lot of plugins you can add to them.

You'll find them easier to use than the others too. People write more about this stuff versus open source, and Mac OS exclusive stuff.
Old Feb 7, 2013, 07:19 PM   #5
SnowLeopard2008