Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 8, 2013, 12:39 AM   #1
miksterman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Handbrake Audio Settings for Dolby Digital 5.1 with ATV 3 preset

Been coming across some Blu rays I'm ripping with MakeMKV that only has a Dolby Digital 5.1 audio. What I'm trying to do is setup the movie with a audio track for the television speakers and another track for surround system. When I bring the MKV file into Handbrake and select the ATV 3 preset the audio settings automatically go to one audio track as a AAC (CoreAudio) Dolby Pro Logic II and a second audio track as AC3 Passthru. If I wanted one of the audio tracks to be a Dolby Digital 5.1 track would I change the AC3 Passthru to AC3 (ffmpeg) for it to be 5.1 surround sound or would I use a different setting?
miksterman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 12:50 AM   #2
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
The AC3 Passthrough is the original audio from your rip. It should say Dolby Digital 5.1 to the left of AC3 Passthrough in the audio pane.

It's a drop down menu item.
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 12:52 AM   #3
mabaty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boise, ID
https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/SurroundSoundGuide

I believe AC3 is digital surround.
__________________
I write stuff on a bottlerocket
mabaty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 01:05 AM   #4
miksterman
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
The first image is how the ATV 3 setting does the audio. The second is how I was thinking but not sure if is the correct way.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image 1.png
Views:	751
Size:	117.9 KB
ID:	395355   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image 2.png
Views:	556
Size:	116.7 KB
ID:	395356  
miksterman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 02:24 AM   #5
bucksaddle
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Just leave the settings as they are from the ATV3 preset and you will get what you are trying to achieve. AC3 passthru means pass through the 5.1 track unaltered (i.e. no conversion, downmixing, etc). Therefore your encoded file will have one AAC stereo track for your TV and one unaltered 5.1 track for surround sound.

If you choose your second option your converting the 5.1 track to another 5.1 track with ffmpeg - conversion always results in losing some information.
bucksaddle is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC