Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 8, 2013, 11:42 AM   #1
baxlobs
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Suffolk UK
iPhoto comparing photos

Is there an easy way to compare 2 photos side by side in iPhoto?

In PS Elements on my PC I could select a couple, press F12 (IFRC) and they would come up side by side full screen.

I cannot see any similar function in iPhoto.
baxlobs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 03:22 PM   #2
Volkan1984
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I would recommend something like Gemini. You will find it in the Mac App Store as a paid app.. Now on sale IIRC.
Volkan1984 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 03:31 PM   #3
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
If you are pushing any limits of iPhoto... I would upgrade to Aperture. It leaves iPhoto in the dust... yet fully integrates with everything in OSX.

Aperture does this and so much more. It is a bargain in the MAS. $80 if I remember right... and if you buy iTunes gift cards when they are on sale... Aperture is only $64.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 04:10 PM   #4
baxlobs
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Suffolk UK
Thanks,

I guess if I need a different program I should consider getting PS Elements for Mac? At least I am already familiar with it to some extent, or is Aperture altogether superior?
baxlobs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 04:54 PM   #5
Volkan1984
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynz4 View Post
If you are pushing any limits of iPhoto... I would upgrade to Aperture. It leaves iPhoto in the dust... yet fully integrates with everything in OSX.

Aperture does this and so much more. It is a bargain in the MAS. $80 if I remember right... and if you buy iTunes gift cards when they are on sale... Aperture is only $64.

/Jim
Does Aperture show duplicates? If so, would you be able to tell me how?
Volkan1984 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 09:20 PM   #6
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volkan1984 View Post
Does Aperture show duplicates? If so, would you be able to tell me how?
Duplicates are handled at import. You can set Aperture 3 (A3) to not import duplicates. Each original is imported exactly once and is stored in exactly one project.

From there... you can have as many versions of that original. However, versions do not take up any space (for all practical purposes).

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 12:41 AM   #7
Volkan1984
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynz4 View Post
Duplicates are handled at import. You can set Aperture 3 (A3) to not import duplicates. Each original is imported exactly once and is stored in exactly one project.

From there... you can have as many versions of that original. However, versions do not take up any space (for all practical purposes).

/Jim
Ah yes. I was asking because I lost all my pictures (wasn't thinking straight).

Then I imported a lot of pictures from different places (Dropbox and an external hard disk) and Aperture did not recognize that most pictures were already in the library. The EXIF data of the pics is gone, causing Aperture to not see dupes..

Hence the question if Aperture can show dupes once in library.

I used the app Gemini for this and this did the trick for me. Anyway thanks for your reply!
Volkan1984 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 03:20 AM   #8
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volkan1984 View Post
Ah yes. I was asking because I lost all my pictures (wasn't thinking straight).

Then I imported a lot of pictures from different places (Dropbox and an external hard disk) and Aperture did not recognize that most pictures were already in the library. The EXIF data of the pics is gone, causing Aperture to not see dupes..

Hence the question if Aperture can show dupes once in library.

I used the app Gemini for this and this did the trick for me. Anyway thanks for your reply!
From memory... Aperture uses file name, file type, size, and maybe date to determine duplicates. Hence... if you were to import raw, export JPEG, re-import the JPEG... it would in fact come in because the Original RAW and the newly imported JPEG would be different files.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 10:57 AM   #9
Dave Braine
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Warrington, UK
Quote:
I cannot see any similar function in iPhoto.
This works for me(iPhoto09 v 8.1.2). Select the photos(2,3,4 etc), View Menu>Full Screen.
__________________
PPC Mini, 10.4.11, Intel Mini, 10.6.8, White MacBook 10.9.2
iPhone 3GS, using o2 PAYG
Dave Braine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 12:13 PM   #10
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Braine View Post
This works for me(iPhoto09 v 8.1.2). Select the photos(2,3,4 etc), View Menu>Full Screen.
I cant seem to do that in iPhoto '11. I thought it was there... but I use iPhoto so infrequently I just may be missing it. Once I got Aperture... there has been little to no reason to use iPhoto... except to help out friends/family who have questions.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2013, 04:00 PM   #11
baxlobs
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Suffolk UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Braine View Post
This works for me(iPhoto09 v 8.1.2). Select the photos(2,3,4 etc), View Menu>Full Screen.
Thanks, but it doesn't work in iPhoto 11, I just get the fullscreen view of all the photos, not just the ones I selected.
baxlobs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 08:02 AM   #12
Dave Braine
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Warrington, UK
Yeah, I though it might be a iPhoto11 thing.
__________________
PPC Mini, 10.4.11, Intel Mini, 10.6.8, White MacBook 10.9.2
iPhone 3GS, using o2 PAYG
Dave Braine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 10:25 AM   #13
snberk103
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: An Island in the Salish Sea
Quote:
Originally Posted by baxlobs View Post
Thanks,

I guess if I need a different program I should consider getting PS Elements for Mac? At least I am already familiar with it to some extent, or is Aperture altogether superior?
Ideally, you would get both Aperture and Ps Elements..... though I know that may more money than you want to spend. However, they do different things.

Aperture is a Digital Asset Manager, that helps you organize and collect your images... and it also does some editing. Edits done in Aperture are 'non-destructive'. Also, you can create many versions of a an image in Aperture with no space penalties.

Ps E is an editing application. It edits by replacing the original with the edited version (by default, though you can do a 'save as' - if you remember). Different versions take up more space. However, the editing capabilities of Ps E are greater than what you can do with Aperture.

Generally speaking, most photographers will do their organizing Aperture and the bulk of their editing. They will then use Aperture to send some images to an editing application, such as Ps E, for some heavy duty editing. The editing program returns the finished image to Aperture which stores it next to the original master image. This is one of the few instances where different versions of an image in Aperture actually do take up extra space.

Hope this helps....
__________________
My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world. - Jack Layton
snberk103 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 10:53 AM   #14
Mike in Kansas
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Metro Kansas City
Quote:
Originally Posted by snberk103 View Post
Ideally, you would get both Aperture and Ps Elements..... though I know that may more money than you want to spend. However, they do different things.

Aperture is a Digital Asset Manager, that helps you organize and collect your images... and it also does some editing. Edits done in Aperture are 'non-destructive'. Also, you can create many versions of a an image in Aperture with no space penalties.

Ps E is an editing application. It edits by replacing the original with the edited version (by default, though you can do a 'save as' - if you remember). Different versions take up more space. However, the editing capabilities of Ps E are greater than what you can do with Aperture.

Generally speaking, most photographers will do their organizing Aperture and the bulk of their editing. They will then use Aperture to send some images to an editing application, such as Ps E, for some heavy duty editing. The editing program returns the finished image to Aperture which stores it next to the original master image. This is one of the few instances where different versions of an image in Aperture actually do take up extra space.

Hope this helps....
A cheaper alternative to PS Elements is Pixelmator. It too is a pixel-level editor. It is on the App Store for $15. I use it instead of PSE when needing to do things that Aperture can't do.
__________________
13" 2012 MBA/i7/8GB/256GB
24" 2008 iMac/2.8GHz/6GB/240GB SSD & 2TB FW800 HDD "Fused"
2GB TC; ATV 3; 32GB iPad 4; iPhone 5
Left Nikon for Fuji X-E1, Fujinon 18-55mm OIS, 55-200mm OIS, 27mm f/2.8
Mike in Kansas is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help comparing HTC One and iPhone 5 photos VinegarTasters Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 7 Mar 21, 2013 01:30 PM
Emailing photos from iPhoto Forkjulle Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Oct 12, 2012 03:44 PM
iPhoto Recogonizes 4S but not my photos? orange42 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Sep 14, 2012 03:21 PM
iPhoto Library delete all photos- Time Machine back up cannot find photos either Silvina3a Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Aug 21, 2012 02:58 AM
iPhoto photos m.i.a.? lsawtell Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Jun 30, 2012 07:08 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC