Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 14, 2015, 05:13 AM   #1
jamesjingyi
macrumors 6502a
 
jamesjingyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to jamesjingyi
GTA V on MacBook Pro 13?

Has someone bought it yet and tested it on this model? Mine is the 2.5GHz i5 4GB RAM 128GB SSD+1TB HDD. I'm just worried about the lack of a GPU. If someone has time could they try it on this model? (Especially if its an extra one lying around..)
__________________
13" cMacbook Pro 2014, 11" MacBook Air 2012, iPhone 6 Plus 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB, 160 GB iPod Classic <3
My blog which is updated... Sometimes... Twitter: @jamesjingyi Tumblr Ello
jamesjingyi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2015, 07:41 AM   #2
saturnotaku
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesjingyi View Post
I'm just worried about the lack of a GPU.
As you should be. Unless Rockstar was able to pull out some fairy dust, it's probably a pretty safe bet that the game is not going to run well on your system. It's probably not going to run well on the current 15-inch MBP's discreet GPU. You'll either need some beefy desktop PC hardware, or just buy the game on a console.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15 (Late 2011)
Core i7 2860QM | 16 GB RAM | AMD Radeon 6770M | 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD | Antiglare Display | OS X + Win 8.1
iPhone 6 Plus (Verizon 64 GB)
saturnotaku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2015, 08:22 AM   #3
jamesjingyi
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
jamesjingyi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to jamesjingyi
Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku View Post
As you should be. Unless Rockstar was able to pull out some fairy dust, it's probably a pretty safe bet that the game is not going to run well on your system. It's probably not going to run well on the current 15-inch MBP's discreet GPU. You'll either need some beefy desktop PC hardware, or just buy the game on a console.
Hmm ok thanks.. I was going to wait for the next gen 15". The requirements say that 2GB of DDR5 RAM is pretty substantial, surely since its NVIDIA it should be fine?
__________________
13" cMacbook Pro 2014, 11" MacBook Air 2012, iPhone 6 Plus 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB, 160 GB iPod Classic <3
My blog which is updated... Sometimes... Twitter: @jamesjingyi Tumblr Ello
jamesjingyi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2015, 08:56 AM   #4
saturnotaku
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
It's not only the quantity of RAM but the quality of the GPU. The 750M might have 2 GB of vRAM, but the GPU itself is two generations out of date. Even when it was new, its performance was mid-pack at best. A dedicated gaming system from Asus, Alienware, MSI, or Sager/Clevo with at least a GeForce GTX 970M is going to be the best choice if you want to play it on a notebook.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15 (Late 2011)
Core i7 2860QM | 16 GB RAM | AMD Radeon 6770M | 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD | Antiglare Display | OS X + Win 8.1
iPhone 6 Plus (Verizon 64 GB)
saturnotaku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2015, 05:11 PM   #5
JronMasteR
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Switzerland
I'm playing it on my MacPro with a 780 6GB. I'm able to max it out
without MSAA at 1440p. Runs around 80fps on average.
The Game is very well optimized for PC, one of the best ports I've seen in years.
However, to run it well you need to have a powerful machine.

I think that iGPU's are not supported anyway. They mention a 9800gt or 4870 desktop card as the minimum.
__________________
MacPro 5.1 12 core
2012 rMBP
JronMasteR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2015, 04:39 AM   #6
madeirabhoy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
what are my chances of running it on a 2011 imac, 3.1ghz with a 6970m 1 gig? pretty slim i guess
madeirabhoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2015, 05:21 AM   #7
saturnotaku
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by madeirabhoy View Post
what are my chances of running it on a 2011 imac, 3.1ghz with a 6970m 1 gig? pretty slim i guess
It'll certainly run, just don't expect 60 fps at 1920x1080. 30 fps at 720p at low-medium details is probably more realistic.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15 (Late 2011)
Core i7 2860QM | 16 GB RAM | AMD Radeon 6770M | 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD | Antiglare Display | OS X + Win 8.1
iPhone 6 Plus (Verizon 64 GB)
saturnotaku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2015, 08:28 AM   #8
madeirabhoy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku View Post
It'll certainly run, just don't expect 60 fps at 1920x1080. 30 fps at 720p at low-medium details is probably more realistic.
oh, okay, i can live with that.
madeirabhoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2015, 03:34 PM   #9
actasci
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku View Post
It'll certainly run, just don't expect 60 fps at 1920x1080. 30 fps at 720p at low-medium details is probably more realistic.
you have no idea dude, even with my slightly clocked 6750m i can do more than 50fps at 720p at low-medium.

this is some serious port, i have to admit that.
actasci is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2015, 01:31 PM   #10
merijn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Will GTA V run on my mid 2010 iMac? Radeon HD 5750 1GB, i5-760 @ 2.8GHz, 4GB Ram

Last edited by merijn; Yesterday at 06:15 AM.
merijn is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2015, MacRumors.com, LLC