Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 11, 2013, 05:14 AM   #1
RiseDarthVader
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Multiple options to "open with" the same application problem

So I have this problem with my Adobe CS6 apps. When I want to "open with" something instead of having the Adobe apps showing up once as a option I get duplicates of them which link to the same app. Here is an example I screenshot. Anyone come across this before and know of a solution? http://i.imgur.com/e3XHZOM.jpg
RiseDarthVader is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 05:23 AM   #2
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiseDarthVader View Post
So I have this problem with my Adobe CS6 apps. When I want to "open with" something instead of having the Adobe apps showing up once as a option I get duplicates of them which link to the same app. Here is an example I screenshot. Anyone come across this before and know of a solution? http://i.imgur.com/e3XHZOM.jpg
Give this Apple Support Communities discussion a read. There may be a solution for you in it.

"Open with" Duplicate Entries
__________________
Magnificent Seventh
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 04:29 PM   #3
RiseDarthVader
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Thanks one of the posts in that link worked. And in case anyone else has this problem and wants the solution I did:

Quote:
Open terminal then copy and paste in

/System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/lsregister -kill -r -domain local -domain system -domain user

Wait until terminal returns to the command line. Quit Terminal. After that, restart.
RiseDarthVader is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 04:50 PM   #4
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiseDarthVader View Post
Thanks one of the posts in that link worked. And in case anyone else has this problem and wants the solution I did:
Excellent, glad it worked out for you!
__________________
Magnificent Seventh
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC