Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Old Feb 11, 2013, 10:21 AM   #1
Resyek
macrumors newbie

Photo storage question(s)

I just recently purchased a rMBP with a 256 GB SSD internal drive (from a 15" MBP with a 500 GB HDD). I am a beginning photographer, but have quickly realized how much space my photos are taking up on my drive.

A co-worker of mine has the higher end retina (512 GB storage), but told me he doesn't keep all of his photos on his internal drive, only the project he is currently working on, and keeps all other photos on external drive(s). So, that got me thinking: should I bother exchanging my rMBP (just purchased within the week) for a larger capacity SSD, or should I be keeping the majority of my photos on an external drive?

How do you guys/gals store your photos? Internal or external drive?

Thanks so much!
Old Feb 11, 2013, 10:30 AM   #2
Bending Pixels
macrumors 6502a

If I was getting a rMBP, I would definitely get one with the 512gig SSD vs 256, mostly to avoid the possibility of running out of disk space. And yes - I do archive finished photo projects to an external drive.
Bending Pixels is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 10:41 AM   #3
blueroom
macrumors 603

Get a NAS, it stays on your network and doesn't require any plugging or unplugging USB cables.

Many NAS's like Synology also have tools for photographers.
http://www.synology.com/events/2013_...er.php?lang=us
blueroom is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 09:08 PM   #4
VirtualRain
macrumors 603

Quote:
Originally Posted by Resyek View Post
I just recently purchased a rMBP with a 256 GB SSD internal drive (from a 15" MBP with a 500 GB HDD). I am a beginning photographer, but have quickly realized how much space my photos are taking up on my drive.