Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 29, 2013, 05:52 AM   #1
jacktoner
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Prston
Help, Apple Airport Express, should I buy or not?

Hello,
i am at university and in 1st year so if i was to buy the Airport express, i would be getting 3 years out of it at least! At uni they only offer wired ethernet cable however, i am using my macbook pro as a router for my other apple products (ipod touch, iPhone 4s and iPad) and i wondered wethere the airport express would be much faster and easier?

also i would appreciate it if people said what you actually use the airport express for because although apple enlists all its uses, i wondered which are actually useful etc.

also, how easy is it to set up wireless printing as i would use the wireless priting to print my pages notes from iPad. also is the internet speed any faster or cover a wider area than the macbook pro.

WOuld anyone recommend this product to me?

many thanks in advance!!!!!
jacktoner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 08:23 AM   #2
Attonine
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tripoli, Libya
I used my MBP for internet sharing for a long time. Eventually I bought a Time Capsule. The only difference I really noticed was with convenience if I had taken my MBP to the office or been on a trip. I needed to set-up the MBP on my desk, before I could connect other devices to the internet, rather than just walking into my apartment, flopping on the couch and start surfing.

If you don't move the MBP much, are not experiencing speed issues, I would say save your money.

Airport express (also Airport Extreme, and Time capsule) is very easy to set-up. Usefulness of the various features is really dependant upon what features you need. Wireless printing is easy to set-up. I currently use wireless printing, I have changed the DNS server away from the default used by my ISP, and I have also assigned specific DHCP addresses for various devices using MAC addresses to reserve the DHCP address. If you are using your college ethernet to access the internet, there may be some things you cannot do, or that may cause conflicts, so the Airport Express may have to be used in bridge mode.
Attonine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 11:04 AM   #3
osofast240sx
macrumors 68000
 
osofast240sx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacktoner View Post
Hello,
i am at university and in 1st year so if i was to buy the Airport express, i would be getting 3 years out of it at least! At uni they only offer wired ethernet cable however, i am using my macbook pro as a router for my other apple products (ipod touch, iPhone 4s and iPad) and i wondered wethere the airport express would be much faster and easier?

also i would appreciate it if people said what you actually use the airport express for because although apple enlists all its uses, i wondered which are actually useful etc.

also, how easy is it to set up wireless printing as i would use the wireless priting to print my pages notes from iPad. also is the internet speed any faster or cover a wider area than the macbook pro.

WOuld anyone recommend this product to me?

many thanks in advance!!!!!
It's very easy to setup, you will love it. You can always take it back if it's not right for u. Radio shack and bestbuy sells them also
__________________
iPhone 5s 64Gb T-mobile Gold13" MacBookPro BaseiPad air, ATV3Airport ExpressiPhone 5, 64Gb, black(wife)iPad mini(wife)
osofast240sx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 11:19 AM   #4
palmharbor
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Airport...dead

I have one...want it? After the complicated programming process plugged into the AC in my home office, you unplug bring to the site where it will it be used and none of the settings hold and it flashes yellow. Spoke to AppleCare and after a long time on the phone they were unable to help me but suggested the non-replaceable battery was probably at fault.
To make a battery with limited life, unreplaceable is poor design judgement at best.
palmharbor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 02:30 PM   #5
pepe77
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Stupid question- did you create a new profile when you moved the AE to your new location in the office(?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by palmharbor View Post
I have one...want it? After the complicated programming process plugged into the AC in my home office, you unplug bring to the site where it will it be used and none of the settings hold and it flashes yellow. Spoke to AppleCare and after a long time on the phone they were unable to help me but suggested the non-replaceable battery was probably at fault.
To make a battery with limited life, unreplaceable is poor design judgement at best.
pepe77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I buy Airport Express from Amazon? Zerosopher Mac Peripherals 6 Dec 26, 2013 11:13 PM
AirPort Express - Buy Or Not? Fakensta Buying Tips and Advice 14 Sep 3, 2013 03:31 PM
Buy airport express now or wait? Paskell Buying Tips and Advice 8 Feb 25, 2013 09:20 PM
Should I buy Airport Express Router? davyvfr Mac Peripherals 7 Dec 28, 2012 11:28 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC