Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 12, 2013, 03:51 AM   #1
Khechog
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
switching apps only brings up menu bar

Hi, I'm back on Mac after a hiatus and I'm adjusting to the differences between Spaces and Mission Control. The new way of doing things has me using cmd/TAB to switch apps, or sometimes just using the dock. I'm finding that when I switch to an app that is in a desktop other than the one currently selected, the OS delivers it's menu bar, but not it's currently open windows. To get to the currently open windows I have to switch desktops using Mission Control. The behaviour I'd expect is that on selecting the app I zoom over to the desktop that contains it. I have my apps options set to keep them in particular desktops. Can anyone tell me if it's possible to make OS X behave in the way I'd like it to?

Thanks
Khechog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 04:19 AM   #2
Khechog
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
A bit extra info - some apps do act as expected. I have iTunes set up to be fixed to a certain desktop. If I go to a different desktop and then click on the iTunes dock icon I am moved to the desktop which contains iTunes. Not so for Safari, Mail, Pages... There's disparity between non-Apple apps too. Choosing Photoshop via the dock takes me to the desktop containing Photoshop, but choosing Bridge just calls it's menu bar to whatever desktop I'm currently inhabiting, leaving the window sitting in it's own desktop.

----------

More info again! Single click on dock icon = call app menu bar to current desktop. Second click = go to app in containing desktop. Also, it doesn't happen all of the time. With PS sometimes I'm taken to the desktop, sometimes it just calls the menu bar. If I use cmd/TAB then I only get the menu bar behaviour or the move desktop behaviour, trying to select the app again using this method having just been given the menu bar does not then move me to the correct desktop.
Khechog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 04:48 AM   #3
pring1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Not sure if this helps sorry but I have just tested.

Desktop 1: Safari open.
Moved to desktop 2. Cmd+Tab to Safari icon.
Screen changes to desktop 1 and the open Safari window.

Using the mouse and clicking on it in the dock from desktop 2 also has the same expected effect as above.

I use multiple desktops a lot and I haven't noticed this problem to be honest.
pring1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 10:30 AM   #4
Khechog
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Thanks, that suggests it's specific to my machine, I'll get in touch with Applecare.
Khechog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 11:40 AM   #5
gumblecosby
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Have you this selected? :
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-02-12 at 17.36.29.png
Views:	10
Size:	131.0 KB
ID:	396386  
gumblecosby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 11:48 AM   #6
Khechog
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
No, I didn't, and that was the problem. Thank you for taking the time to point it out, I really thought I was at the beginning of a tiring tech support journey.
Khechog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 12:01 PM   #7
gumblecosby
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khechog View Post
No, I didn't, and that was the problem. Thank you for taking the time to point it out, I really thought I was at the beginning of a tiring tech support journey.
No problem. Glad to help. Best of luck with Mountain Lion.
gumblecosby is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'CloudyTabs' Brings iCloud Tabs to Third-Party Mac Browsers via the OS X Menu Bar MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 16 Mar 13, 2014 10:09 PM
Some icons missing on Desktop Menu Bar, Safari Menu Bar and Finder Menu Bar chroniceater MacBook Air 7 Jan 14, 2013 11:50 AM
Have apps in menu bar instead of dock? RadicalProject OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Nov 11, 2012 01:37 PM
What are some iTunes menu bar ticker/crawler apps? Libertine Lush Mac Applications and Mac App Store 7 Sep 6, 2012 04:15 AM
Can anyone suggest any retina supported menu bar apps? CHMK MacBook Pro 2 Sep 3, 2012 10:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC