Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Old Feb 12, 2013, 09:34 AM   #1
doubledee
macrumors 6502

Two-Factor Authentication for Macs?

Is there any way - for a consumer - to add "Two-Factor Authentication" to his/her Mac?

As a contractor, I have worked for a lot of clients that have issued me a Windows-based Laptop which had one of those RSA Security Key-Fabs, where you had to have the randomly generated code from the Fab, along with your normal Windows Log-In Credentials to get onto the laptop and use it.

In this day and age of hackers and lost laptops, I am hoping that I can incorporate something similar for my own personal MacBook. Especially, because when I am away from home, it has my life on it?!

Sincerely,

Debbie
doubledee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 10:15 AM   #2
BlendedFrog
macrumors regular

You are one paranoid person based on your threads here but take a look at this product by Sophos. It is full disk encryption that requires a password on boot before it will allow you to get to the mac login screen.

http://www.sophos.com/en-us/products...n-for-mac.aspx

My advice: Take a deep breath and go outside and enjoy life. Realize that no amount of hiding on the internet is going to protect you. If you want that kind of protection....don't use the internet.
BlendedFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 10:35 AM   #3
Weaselboy
macrumors G5

Quote:
Originally Posted by doubledee View Post
Is there any way - for a consumer - to add "Two-Factor Authentication" to his/her Mac?

As a contractor, I have worked for a lot of clients that have issued me a Windows-based Laptop which had one of those RSA Security Key-Fabs, where you had to have the randomly generated code from the Fab, along with your normal Windows Log-In Credentials to get onto the laptop and use it.