Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 13, 2013, 09:58 AM   #1
Anastasia72
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Need some help with Mac Pro, Apple is making no sense

I currently have a late 2009 iMac that is no longer meeting my needs. I was looking the last 2 days at a Mac pro tower and Apple is making me crazy, so I really need some help deciding what my options are.

I am a 3d hobbyist that is starting to make some side money and need to upgrade my system. I currently use Blender (and render textures), Zbrush, and also looking to move up to Photoshop CS6 extended from CS4 extended. Obviously my iMac is not going to cut it for dealing with larger scenes and higher poly count models.

So first question being..I talked to both the Apple store in my area and to Apple online. Both places are telling me I can never upgrade the Mac pro from the ATI 5870 card, how can this be?

I was looking at the Nvidia K5000 (which is a mac card) and they tell me I can not use this card? This makes no sense at all. I am not 100% sure this is the card I will end up wanting, but just a card I am looking at as a possibility, but I do know I will not want to stick with an ATI card that is not even the newest gen card, probably not now and definitely not in the future.

2nd question...for the programs I mentioned above that I am using (also hopefully Maya when I have a bit more money after the new rig) what kind of pro tower set up should I be looking at to get work done the fastest and handle things without any hiccups?

I would like zbrush to be able to handle at least 4 mil poly count, which is def can not now, but even higher poly count would be great. I am really tired of not being able to take my current programs to their max with an iMac and think I am ready to throw this iMac out the window! Also, I need to be able to have large scenes in blender and batch bake out textures overnight, currently my textures take at least 5 min a texture and this is DEFINITELY not cutting it.

Any advice would be great!

Last edited by Anastasia72; Feb 13, 2013 at 10:05 AM.
Anastasia72 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:53 PM   #2
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Apple does not have good GPU upgrade solutions right now. The Apple rep is only discussion official solutions.

There are aftermarket solutions that are both more powerful and more cost effective, although there can be some slight incompatibility issues.

It would probably serve you well to read this thread.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 02:05 PM   #3
Anastasia72
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
thanks! this is just as I thought. I knew Apple reps had to be crazy telling me I can not put a good Nvidia card in the pro. I even asked them if a Nvidia can be put into the 2009, why not in the current model and the response was 'Well because this model does not have that option' and I said well what about if I buy one to put in and the answer was still 'no that will not work'

Gotta love Apple reps, I was ready to go to PC lol
Anastasia72 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 03:39 PM   #4
OS6-OSX
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: California
As listed below I have the Q4000 (mac). It is an older card that works with what I do. The price drop along with rebates made the difference. With Maya the question may be "Quadro vs. GTX?" Check out the Autodesk forums. Which ever you decide make sure you have the correct driver!

MacPro 2008 3.1 | 14GB Ram | Quadro 4000 | MC6.0 | OS 10.6.8 | MOTU HDX-SDI | ATTO R644| LaCie 324
OS6-OSX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 01:39 AM   #5
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
Wanna hear something else? How many times have people asked if the 5870 will work in the 3,1 Mac Pro? Apple still flat out denies that their 5770/5870 can't be used in anything other than a 2010 Mac Pro. Oh wait a minute... on Apple's website the 5770's requirement is a 2010 Mac Pro.. No mention of 2009 Mac Pro?

I challenge all the time the Apple store reps about video card compatibilities.. Someone has to make money and thats AMD. Their firmware is a universal firmware where it will work on all of the Mac Pro models since AMD's RADEON cards are not 64-BIT EFI only.

Yes, this burns me up also! They even told me a GT120 won't work in a 3,1 Mac Pro! They are paid to deceive.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Anastasia72 View Post
thanks! this is just as I thought. I knew Apple reps had to be crazy telling me I can not put a good Nvidia card in the pro. I even asked them if a Nvidia can be put into the 2009, why not in the current model and the response was 'Well because this model does not have that option' and I said well what about if I buy one to put in and the answer was still 'no that will not work'

Gotta love Apple reps, I was ready to go to PC lol
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC