Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 13, 2013, 03:24 PM   #1
gaddster
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: liverpool, england
Do I really need 32GB RAM?

Hey guys

Not long now before I receive my new imac 27 i7, 1TB fusion with 680mx and 8gb ram.. hopefully here in a week.

I do a lot of video editing these days (fcpx, premier pro etc) and had every intention to buy 32gb ram (probably crucial) BUT do I really need that much?

Am I being self indulgent here by maxing out the ram??
gaddster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 03:28 PM   #2
HenryDJP
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
There will never be a time in this lifetime for a computer to have too much ram. Go for it, especially for your needs. You certainly can't go wrong, right?
HenryDJP is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 03:37 PM   #3
Jonathan20022
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
You'll be satisfied with the 8 trust me, if you feel like you need to expand on it. I'd say either add another 8gb, or 16gb.

32 is a bit overkill, from someone who edits videos and does heavy gaming on my own computers. I never exceed 10 or 12 at most pushing my computer, at this point 32gb is just a bragging point. There's almost no one out there that even reaches that amount in use actively and if someone here does I'd like some proof at the very least.

You'll be okay with one of the smaller upgrades trust me.
Jonathan20022 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 03:43 PM   #4
Twimfy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan20022 View Post
You'll be satisfied with the 8 trust me, if you feel like you need to expand on it. I'd say either add another 8gb, or 16gb.

32 is a bit overkill, from someone who edits videos and does heavy gaming on my own computers. I never exceed 10 or 12 at most pushing my computer, at this point 32gb is just a bragging point. There's almost no one out there that even reaches that amount in use actively and if someone here does I'd like some proof at the very least.

You'll be okay with one of the smaller upgrades trust me.
I'd say 16GB is probably today's safe zone. I've pushed the 8GB limit from time to time whilst using Xcode with a few other things open. Especially if I'm using PS to edit graphics for a game and then testing right away.

Grand Central is brilliant but not perfect.

Anyway if you can afford 32GB then go for it. Certainly can't do any harm.
Twimfy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 03:44 PM   #5
gaddster
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: liverpool, england
Maybe I am focusing on the wrong thing, i use a 21.5 dual core with 16gb 1067 ram and the machine struggles with video for sure

fine for dreamweaver and photoshop etc
gaddster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 03:49 PM   #6
HenryDJP
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaddster View Post
Maybe I am focusing on the wrong thing, i use a 21.5 dual core with 16gb 1067 ram and the machine struggles with video for sure

fine for dreamweaver and photoshop etc
If it's struggling, that doesn't necessarily mean it's from lack of ram, especially since you say you are using a dual core? Do you mean you have a Core 2 Duo? If so then then video editing might need more processing power. Also what video editing program are you using?
HenryDJP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 03:50 PM   #7
Jonathan20022
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaddster View Post
Maybe I am focusing on the wrong thing, i use a 21.5 dual core with 16gb 1067 ram and the machine struggles with video for sure

fine for dreamweaver and photoshop etc
Yeah for anything like 3D rendering or video editing/processing I would first work with the graphics card and processor. In reality, even the 675MX would have sufficed but you definitely made the right choice in going with the 680MX. Putting it into General Terms, your RAM really would only affect your speed while handling multiple processes and having multiple things actively runnig.
Jonathan20022 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 03:58 PM   #8
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
32GB is extremely handy if you do any VM/Parallels stuff. I have Windows 7 in Parallels, and it flies with 16GB RAM dedicated to it.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 03:59 PM   #9
24Frames
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
16GB is likely to be adequate for what you do.
8GB is insufficient.
32GB is probably unnecessary.
24Frames is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 04:03 PM   #10
crows
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Since you can get 32GB for about $170 why not just get the 32GB, like some one else said if you do any VM's it will help you greatly to have so much free ram to assign for the vm. Just use your iMac when you get it and if you feel it needs more RAM after the test then upgrade, if not you can just wait and ram will get cheaper over time.
crows is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 04:08 PM   #11
lixuelai
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Why not get 24GB?
lixuelai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 04:12 PM   #12
gaddster
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: liverpool, england
Thanks everyone..

could i purchase 16gb and utilise the 8 already in? (I know you have to do something in the setup like 8,4,8,4)

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by lixuelai View Post
Why not get 24GB?
ha just asked the same question
gaddster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 05:05 PM   #13
Jonathan20022
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaddster View Post
Thanks everyone..

could i purchase 16gb and utilise the 8 already in? (I know you have to do something in the setup like 8,4,8,4)

----------



ha just asked the same question
Yup! That's what I plan on doing with mine, I don't need 32gbs because I'm going to be Dual Booting, so I don't need to have RAM to dedicated to VM.

But yeah, you can combine RAM in different combos, 24gb is a nice spot without spending too much cash.
Jonathan20022 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 06:06 PM   #14
bembol
macrumors 6502a
 
bembol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: iCloud
My sister uses her Mid-2010 27" iMac less she doesn't use Handbrake, Toast, FrostWire like I do and I upgraded hers to 12GB since it was cheap, cost her $25 a year ago.

I don't even know if the Apps I listed uses RAM but if the price goes down, I will max her out at 32GB.
__________________
SHIFT_
27" iMac Late-2012 Base w/32GB RAM & 3TB Fusion | 16GB iPhone 5S Gold 32GB Black LG G3 64GB Space Grey iPad Air LTE
bembol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 06:21 PM   #15
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaddster View Post
Maybe I am focusing on the wrong thing, i use a 21.5 dual core with 16gb 1067 ram and the machine struggles with video for sure

fine for dreamweaver and photoshop etc
You have to pay attention to where it's struggling. Is it out of ram and struggling? Beyond that while it's often safe to go beyond 8, you don't necessarily have to jump to 32. Cost obviously matters to you. Why wouldn't you simply buy 2x8 and see how it runs, then another 2x8 later if it's actually necessary? If it's a new computer, assuming this will last you several years, you should never be really out of ram aside from the times when OSX is just weird about letting go of inactive memory. Add it until memory specific problems go away. You don't need a whole thread of opinions to figure that out. For further reference look at the recommended specs in the software packages this thing will run.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 06:29 PM   #16
jnowakphoto
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Here's my take on this. You are already spending ~$2500 on this right? Why not spend another 200 for 4x8GB sticks and be done with it?
jnowakphoto is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 06:52 PM   #17
kennyap
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cayman Islands
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnowakphoto View Post
Here's my take on this. You are already spending ~$2500 on this right? Why not spend another 200 for 4x8GB sticks and be done with it?
This is also what I think every time I see this question come up - for models that are user-upgradeable. I don't see the dilemma really, especially for the price of this upgrade. I know I use the full 32GB in my 2011 iMac, will put the same amount in my 2012 iMac which should arrive any day now.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4ghz 680mx 840 Pro SSD 512gb
2012 13" rMBP | 2011 27" Imac 3.5ghz 2gb vram
2011 MBP 17" | 2011 MBA 11" & 13"
kennyap is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 07:01 PM   #18
mrmarts
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Melbourne Australia
I use two macs an mid 2010 imac and 2012 macbook pro which both use 8GB of ram both are running fine for small tasks like word processing, web browsing and casual gaming still runs fine. But seeing you are buying a new computer I would encourage you to put in 32GB as it will be advantage in the long run.
__________________
Late 2013 13" MacBook Pro Retina | Time Capsule 2TB | Iphone 5 64GB Black | Apple TV 3 Living Room | iMac 27" Late 2013: i7 3.5 GHz, 16GB Ram, 3TB Fusion, 780M, |Ipad Air 128Gb Space Grey
mrmarts is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 07:05 PM   #19
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaddster View Post
Hey guys

Not long now before I receive my new imac 27 i7, 1TB fusion with 680mx and 8gb ram.. hopefully here in a week.

I do a lot of video editing these days (fcpx, premier pro etc) and had every intention to buy 32gb ram (probably crucial) BUT do I really need that much?

Am I being self indulgent here by maxing out the ram??
32gb of RAM for an iMac is worth about 160 bucks.

Just buy it and forget about memory for a few years.

OS X will use it for caching (even if you aren't runnning apps that will consume it all), and more memory does make a difference.


8GB DIMMs are the biggest cost effective size at the moment. They're very cheap - you're talking a difference of 80 bucks between 16GB and 32GB on a ~ $1500+ (?) system. fill your slots with them and be happy.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnowakphoto View Post
Here's my take on this. You are already spending ~$2500 on this right? Why not spend another 200 for 4x8GB sticks and be done with it?
This...
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 10:22 PM   #20
bembol
macrumors 6502a
 
bembol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: iCloud
Or one just spent $2,500 and budget just got a little tighter.


Again, the point is it can wait unless you really need it or simply have the funds to upgrade.
__________________
SHIFT_
27" iMac Late-2012 Base w/32GB RAM & 3TB Fusion | 16GB iPhone 5S Gold 32GB Black LG G3 64GB Space Grey iPad Air LTE
bembol is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:01 PM   #21
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Seems quite unlikely that you'd need that much RAM. Start with much less. Check for page outs using Activity Monitor. Unless you're paging out, skip the extra RAM. Maybe donate some money to your favorite charity instead.
LPZ is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 11:13 PM   #22
pianojoe
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: N 49.50121 E008.54558
Send a message via AIM to pianojoe
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
Seems quite unlikely that you'd need that much RAM. Start with much less. Check for page outs using Activity Monitor. Unless you're paging out, skip the extra RAM. Maybe donate some money to your favorite charity instead.
I second that. I currently have 24GB in my MacPro and I do need all of it—running Logic Studio and Kontakt 5, heavy-lifting GBs of sampled instruments and audio files.
Yes, look for page outs. That’s a fact-based answer to your question.
Then, avoid buying Apple’s boutique-pricing on RAM. :-)

(I second the donating part as well.)
pianojoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 12:04 AM   #23
12dylan34
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan20022 View Post
There's almost no one out there that even reaches that amount in use actively and if someone here does I'd like some proof at the very least.
You knew that there would be that one guy... After Effects is using about 22 of my 32 at the moment.

Really though, I could live with 16. It's just a matter of being able to have more frames cached at any given moment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-02-13 at 10.55.57 PM.png
Views:	37
Size:	84.8 KB
ID:	396831  
12dylan34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 12:51 AM   #24
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Even with no page outs, OS X will use extra ram as cache.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 02:13 AM   #25
gaddster
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: liverpool, england
Lots of great responses here, love the 'page out' ones although I dont have a clue what that means

I dabble with after effects from time to time so I can see where the extra Ram would benefit there.

I think buying the crucial ram at £148 will at least ensure I dont buy anymore ram for a for years
gaddster is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
last minute decision; 21''/3.1Ghz i7/ 16gb RAM/ 512 flash. Do I need 32gb RAM 27''? bluesnina iMac 10 Feb 10, 2014 06:57 PM
2011 MP 2.2 i7 16 gb ram vs 2012 iMac 2.9 i5 32gb ram absoluteelsewhe iMac 3 Feb 8, 2014 03:03 PM
32GB RAM and no high ram usage tasks iMacLate2013 iMac 5 Jan 25, 2014 08:19 AM
32GB ram G5 quad rabidz7 PowerPC Macs 9 Dec 27, 2012 07:04 PM
Swap still being used even though I have 32GB of ram macmee OS X 3 Dec 21, 2012 11:45 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC