Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

onecoolazzgeek

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 10, 2010
Hey all. Long time lurker. I had a question to bring forward. I have a 2012 MBA 13 with 256gb and 4gb ram that I bought from Best Buy for 1157.98. Well, since Apple lowered retina prices today, I did some looking around and found an open box 13 Retina 128gb for 1406.99. That price is based off the previous retina price (1699) instead of the current (1499) so I'm thinking I can get them to mark the open box price down to 1206.99. Should I go for it? Any thoughts from owners?

About me:
Writer
Eventual programmer
College student
No need for gaming (built an HTPC for that)

onecoolazzgeek

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 10, 2010
Yeah, I'll be able to. Only had the MBA for 2 weeks and Best Buy doesn't limit returns unless you get crazy with it (This is an exchange I made before).

Rocco83

macrumors 6502
Jul 3, 2011
Do you need the extra horsepower from the rMBP? If not I would stick with the Air. There really isn't a lot of apps yet utilizing the Retina display and most likely you won't see a large shift towards them for awhile yet. I was thinking about this as well, but by time everything I use on my Air takes the shift to Retina it will be time for an upgrade anyway.

Really depends what you do with your laptop and how much horsepower you need.

Osamede

macrumors 6502a
Oct 28, 2009
Do you need the extra horsepower from the rMBP? If not I would stick with the Air. There really isn't a lot of apps yet utilizing the Retina display and most likely you won't see a large shift towards them for awhile yet. I was thinking about this as well, but by time everything I use on my Air takes the shift to Retina it will be time for an upgrade anyway.

Really depends what you do with your laptop and how much horsepower you need.