Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

micke1967

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 1, 2012
Hi
I have ordered an iMAC and its my very first apple computer so Im new to OS X...
However have been working with computers for many years..

Now to my question I read some article in a swedish computer magazine today stating that the threats towards OS X is increasing and according to F-Secure in the year 2011 there was 59 documented threats towards OS X...2012 the number had increased to 121 new malicious threats...
about 85% of these are stated to be "Backdoors" and 7 % Trojansand 4% being false security softwares...

So I wonder..how serious should I take this?? Do I need to get an antivirus software to my iMAC???
And if so which one is the best for OS X and iMAC??

Best Regards Micael from Sweden :apple:

Tanax

macrumors 65816
Jun 15, 2011
Stockholm, Sweden
No doubt, many Macrumors-people will say that you don't need it since OS X is "so secure". Fact of the matter is, if you download anything from the Internet and click "Continue" upon opening it, you are exposing yourself to any number of things.

There are no "viruses" per say but there are definitely threats, like you said. Having an Anti-virus(which protects you not only from viruses but from threats as well) to search a downloaded file before opening it is definitely not a bad idea.

I can't recommend any AV though as I have no thoroughly explored the various options but if you find any good AV that doesn't clog down the computer, feel free to post here what you choose :)

Lycka till!

crows

macrumors member
Nov 26, 2012