Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 14, 2013, 03:35 AM   #1
mulo
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
Canon 7d battery

Woke up this morning to my 7d that wouldn't turn on. So I charged the batteries and ended up with the result that my 7d says it cant communicate with either battery, in the body or in the grip?

does anyone have any idea what can be done about this?
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 05:05 AM   #2
nabbet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...d.php?t=870455

----------

From that thread this would be my advice:

"Originally Posted by Keyan
You could also try pulling the backup battery and then using a cotton swab with just a drop or two of isopropyl (rubbing) alcohol on it and cleaning the contacts where the main battery interfaces with the camera.

I was having intermittent communications problems with batteries.....
I followed these instructions and it worked fine with my 7D."
nabbet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 08:25 AM   #3
mulo
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
I tried cleaning every bit i could find but no luck
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 08:31 AM   #4
nabbet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
With rubbing alcohol?

If so, you most likely will have to turn the camera in for repair.
nabbet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 09:15 AM   #5
Designer Dale
macrumors 68040
 
Designer Dale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Folding space
Quote:
Originally Posted by nabbet View Post
With rubbing alcohol?

If so, you most likely will have to turn the camera in for repair.
Rubbing alcohol is a very common cleaner for electrical contacts and there is no issue here. Even if you use a bit too much it evaporates quickly and leaves no residue to muck things up.

OP: if both batteries don't work when installed directly in the camera body there may be something in the circuitry that needs repair. If you have a voltage meter check each battery to see if they are putting out any juice. I think one bad battery can kill all of them in a series, which is what a grip is.

Dale
__________________
How to Post, Quote and Multi-Quote Photos - My Google Docs Folder 12/2011
I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message.
Designer Dale is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 11:11 AM   #6
mulo
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Designer Dale View Post
Rubbing alcohol is a very common cleaner for electrical contacts and there is no issue here. Even if you use a bit too much it evaporates quickly and leaves no residue to muck things up.

OP: if both batteries don't work when installed directly in the camera body there may be something in the circuitry that needs repair. If you have a voltage meter check each battery to see if they are putting out any juice. I think one bad battery can kill all of them in a series, which is what a grip is.

Dale
with rubbing alcohol and all, both batteries power the camera on their own, in the grip or in the body, and they do too with both in the grip. while their in the grip it recognises that there are two batteries in, but cannot communicate with either.

I do have a multimeter which i tried to use, but its made for my work as an electrician and therefor is far too big and robust, so I couldn't get anywhere near the contact pins.
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 11:23 AM   #7
JoeFkling
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
OEM batteries or 3rd party?
JoeFkling is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 11:44 AM   #8
nburwell
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: PHL
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeFkling View Post
OEM batteries or 3rd party?
I was going to ask the same question.

It seems as though you will probably have to send it in to Canon to have them take a look at it.

Do you still have a warranty on it?
__________________
13.3" rMBP 2.5GHz l iPhone 5s l iPad rMini l 4G iPod Touch l Apple TV l Nikon
nburwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 11:48 AM   #9
JoeFkling
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
The other thing of course is to find another 7d and try your batteries in it and visa versa. Then you can know for sure if its the batteries or the body.
JoeFkling is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 11:59 AM   #10
7enderbender
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: North East US
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulo View Post
Woke up this morning to my 7d that wouldn't turn on. So I charged the batteries and ended up with the result that my 7d says it cant communicate with either battery, in the body or in the grip?

does anyone have any idea what can be done about this?
Hm, trying to sort through what you're saying here. So you have two batteries, right? And you have a battery grip attached?

And you have tried both batteries in the grip and directly in the body with the grip detached?

Is the grip original Canon or third party? How about the batteries? Any chance the charger is busted (any chance you can test the battery with a multimeter?)? Do you take the grip on and off often? Any chance you've bent one of the contacts inside?
And how does the camera tell you it can't communicate without juice? So there must be something else going on.

You might also want to change the little backup battery (CR-something) and then see if you can reset the camera.
__________________
iPhone 5, iPod classic 160gb
Mac Mini i7 256GB SSD 8GB RAM; NEC 27" monitor; IBM ThinkPad T60 laptop
7enderbender is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 02:47 PM   #11
mulo
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7enderbender View Post
Hm, trying to sort through what you're saying here. So you have two batteries, right? And you have a battery grip attached?

And you have tried both batteries in the grip and directly in the body with the grip detached?

Is the grip original Canon or third party? How about the batteries? Any chance the charger is busted (any chance you can test the battery with a multimeter?)? Do you take the grip on and off often? Any chance you've bent one of the contacts inside?
And how does the camera tell you it can't communicate without juice? So there must be something else going on.

You might also want to change the little backup battery (CR-something) and then see if you can reset the camera.
Yes, two batteries. and the grip hardly ever comes off.

The camera in fact works just fine, but I get this message every time i turn it on: (not my own image)
Thumb resize.

everything is OEM, well except my CF card which is sandisk

and your absolutely right, I tried with both batteries in the grip, either battery in either grip slot, and either battery in the body, all of which produce the above result...

I was using the camera yesterday with no issues at all and 50% power left on both batteries, I did forget to turn it off but auto power off shuold have taken care of that in three minutes. When i woke up this morning it was dead, after charing the batteries back up, this is what i get..

I was going to try my batteries in a friends 60d and vice versa but she's out of town for the weekend, and bought her camera with her.

I'm trying a cleaning again, seems i forgot a pin or two! - same result
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.

Last edited by mulo; Feb 14, 2013 at 03:05 PM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 03:59 PM   #12
ijohn.8.80
macrumors 65816
 
ijohn.8.80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Adelaide, Oztwaylya.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulo View Post
The camera in fact works just fine, but I get this message every time i turn it on: (not my own image)
Thumb resize.
You must be in the Northern hemisphere mulo, it looks upside down to me in Australia!

Sorry, couldn't resist.
__________________
YouTube is not the resurrection of Dada
ijohn.8.80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 04:01 PM   #13
mulo
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
Quote:
Originally Posted by ijohn.8.80 View Post
You must be in the Northern hemisphere mulo, it looks upside down to me in Australia!

Sorry, couldn't resist.
hahahahaha

But your right, I am in northern Europe
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 04:32 PM   #14
ijohn.8.80
macrumors 65816
 
ijohn.8.80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Adelaide, Oztwaylya.
mulo, it doesn't look good for you I'm afraid.

Over on dpreview is this thread about it. The final post was most interesting. Also mentioned in that thread was that it would drain quickly, even when physically turned off.

Are you using Magic Lantern at all, because your battery must be chipped to do this with the 7D.

Also on dpreview is this thread about it. This post further into it was interesting.

Hope something helps, or that you're still under warranty.
__________________
YouTube is not the resurrection of Dada
ijohn.8.80 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 08:50 PM   #15
tgara
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Somewhere in the Delta Quadrant
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulo View Post
Yes, two batteries. and the grip hardly ever comes off.

The camera in fact works just fine, but I get this message every time i turn it on: (not my own image)
Thumb resize.

everything is OEM, well except my CF card which is sandisk

and your absolutely right, I tried with both batteries in the grip, either battery in either grip slot, and either battery in the body, all of which produce the above result...

I was using the camera yesterday with no issues at all and 50% power left on both batteries, I did forget to turn it off but auto power off shuold have taken care of that in three minutes. When i woke up this morning it was dead, after charing the batteries back up, this is what i get..

I was going to try my batteries in a friends 60d and vice versa but she's out of town for the weekend, and bought her camera with her.

I'm trying a cleaning again, seems i forgot a pin or two! - same result
I have a 7D. As you probably know, it uses the LP-E6 battery pack which includes a chip that allows the camera to keep track of the shutter count for that charge and the general health of the battery.

Since you say you can use your camera after clearing that warning, it seems to me that either (1) the chips in the batteries got fried, or (2) the circuit that monitors the battery inside the camera got fried.

Try this: Remove the grip, insert a battery, then go into third yellow Wrench menu and select Battery Info. What is displayed?
tgara is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 05:57 AM   #16
mulo
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
Quote:
Originally Posted by ijohn.8.80 View Post
mulo, it doesn't look good for you I'm afraid.

Over on dpreview is this thread about it. The final post was most interesting. Also mentioned in that thread was that it would drain quickly, even when physically turned off.

Are you using Magic Lantern at all, because your battery must be chipped to do this with the 7D.

Also on dpreview is this thread about it. This post further into it was interesting.

Hope something helps, or that you're still under warranty.
No Lantern nor warranty...

i'm trying the freezer thing now....... - same ol same ol

Quote:
Originally Posted by tgara View Post
Try this: Remove the grip, insert a battery, then go into third yellow Wrench menu and select Battery Info. What is displayed?
tried that many times, it shows the location of the battery and says it cant communicate with it.
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.

Last edited by mulo; Feb 15, 2013 at 06:03 AM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 07:46 AM   #17
tgara
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Somewhere in the Delta Quadrant
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulo View Post
No Lantern nor warranty...

i'm trying the freezer thing now....... - same ol same ol



tried that many times, it shows the location of the battery and says it cant communicate with it.
Well, then, it sounds like the chip inside the battery may be toast. I suggest that you start with a new, OEM Canon battery. If you get the same message with a brand new Canon battery, I'd send it in for service.
tgara is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 10:04 AM   #18
Designer Dale
macrumors 68040
 
Designer Dale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Folding space
I was thinking that something like a hard reset might be worth a try so I did a search on it and came up with this from POTN:
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...d.php?t=807406

See the reply about removing all of the batteries for about a half hour.

Dale
__________________
How to Post, Quote and Multi-Quote Photos - My Google Docs Folder 12/2011
I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message.
Designer Dale is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 02:10 PM   #19
mulo
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
All-righties!...

Tested my camera with a friends batteries, same result.
Also tested my batteries in her camera, which worked fine....

So I guess I'll be taking my camera in for repair, like I can afford that, I just bought a brand new car!...

I wonder if i can get a discount on calibration with my lenses if i get it done at the same time?!
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 06:01 PM   #20
tgara
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Somewhere in the Delta Quadrant
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulo View Post
All-righties!...

Tested my camera with a friends batteries, same result.
Also tested my batteries in her camera, which worked fine....

So I guess I'll be taking my camera in for repair, like I can afford that, I just bought a brand new car!...

I wonder if i can get a discount on calibration with my lenses if i get it done at the same time?!
Actually, you might. When I sent my 7D and 24-70 lens in for a cleaning, I also asked them to do a calibration. It's best to have the body calibrated to the lenses you actually use. In the US, Canon will provide you with a cost estimate prior to doing the work, so you can ask for an itemized list of services if you want them. FYI, when I had mine done (sensor clean, lens calibration to my body), it was $90US, including shipping back to me, which I thought was a reasonable price.

BTW, what kind of car did you get? Please don't say one of those European micro cars that remind me of rollerskates.... Hopefully, it's a BMW M3 or something....
tgara is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 10:43 AM   #21
mulo
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgara View Post
Actually, you might. When I sent my 7D and 24-70 lens in for a cleaning, I also asked them to do a calibration. It's best to have the body calibrated to the lenses you actually use. In the US, Canon will provide you with a cost estimate prior to doing the work, so you can ask for an itemized list of services if you want them. FYI, when I had mine done (sensor clean, lens calibration to my body), it was $90US, including shipping back to me, which I thought was a reasonable price.

BTW, what kind of car did you get? Please don't say one of those European micro cars that remind me of rollerskates.... Hopefully, it's a BMW M3 or something....
kay, so $90 in the us should clock in at around $200 here..

oh and I did buy one of those horrible tiny cars! Thats all I could afford (the result of 205% tax on cars, its stupid!)
Its $24.000 paid it in full, no loan... - I could get a ford mustang for that amount of money in the us...

in regards to the BMW M3, my father has a 520d, clocking in at $100.000 here, with no extras. more expensive then the M5 in the us....
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.

Last edited by mulo; Feb 16, 2013 at 10:51 AM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 01:23 AM   #22
mulo
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
Got my camera fixed.... $500 to find and retighten a loose screw inside the camera.....
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 11:23 AM   #23
tgara
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Somewhere in the Delta Quadrant
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulo View Post
Got my camera fixed.... $500 to find and retighten a loose screw inside the camera.....
That was an expensive screw!
tgara is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 11:28 AM   #24
mulo
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgara View Post
That was an expensive screw!
yeah i got screwed real good
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 12:51 PM   #25
tgara
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Somewhere in the Delta Quadrant
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulo View Post
yeah i got screwed real good
That can be good sometimes!
tgara is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC