Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Old Feb 14, 2013, 05:39 PM   #1
Omnius
macrumors 6502a

TV Tuners

I've done the research and it sounds like the Elgatto EyeTV Hybrid is the best general tv tuner.

However, I'm curious about other people's opinions. What is the best tv tuner? Why do you like it? Why is it better than others?

What software options are out there? Is there something amazing that I just don't know about?
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 06:24 PM   #2
eRondeau
macrumors 6502a

My friend's Onkyo home theatre amp has a built-in TV tuner that feeds his projector. Works very well for him. Watched the Superbowl on it (off-air) and it looked amazing.
eRondeau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 06:29 PM   #3
Peace
macrumors P6

I've been using Hauppauge products for a few years. If you have cable TV service they work great with Elgato's EyeTV software.

http://hauppauge.com/site/products/data_hdpvr2.html
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 07:56 PM   #4
cdavis11
macrumors regular

I have had very good luck with the silicon dust had homerun dual.

Works very well with EyeTv. So well I bought a 2nd unit for a total of 4 tuners.
cdavis11 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 08:04 PM   #5
blueroom
macrumors 603

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdavis11 View Post
I have had very good luck with the silicon dust had homerun dual.

Works very well with EyeTv. So well I bought a 2nd unit for a total of 4 tuners.
HDHomeRun dual is superior to the Eye TV hybrid (runs hot, single tuner) unless USB is your thing.

I've got a pair running on WMC7, Eye TV couldn't use two different antenna sources, plus a $20 yr guide data subscription.
blueroom is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 10:34 PM   #6
waw74
macrumors 68020