Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 15, 2013, 10:39 PM   #1
frjonah
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Almost Heaven... WV
Send a message via AIM to frjonah Send a message via Yahoo to frjonah Send a message via Skype™ to frjonah
Powerline Networking on Mac Pro

Just wanted to give a positive report about a super simple Powerline Network setup to get the web out to my printshop... Wifi broadcast from the house couldn't penetrate the steel building so I picked up a "TRENDnet TPL-406E2K Powerline 500 AV Nano Adapter Kit" on a Newegg "Shell Shocker" deal... I was afraid it wouldn't work since I've read reports of Powerline Networking not working on Macs to start with and the printshop is fed power through a subpanel... well, it was 100% plug-and-play and speeds are much better than what I see on my mbp on Wifi.

Here's the link to what I picked up:
TRENDnet TPL-406E2K Powerline 500 AV Nano Adapter Kit
__________________
www.damascenegallery.com
"Words are instruments of this world, but silence is a mystery of the age to come."
frjonah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 07:51 AM   #2
assembled
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: London
since powerline is just Ethernet at each end, it is completely operating system agnostic...
assembled is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 06:15 AM   #3
designs216
macrumors 65816
 
designs216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Down the rabbit hole
I've been pretty happy with my TrendNET adapters also. I use them to play movies on my BRP downstairs from my NAS upstairs.
designs216 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 06:05 AM   #4
whooleytoo
macrumors 603
 
whooleytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cork, Ireland.
Send a message via AIM to whooleytoo
Kind of amusing how they specify a 10/100Mbps port, then quote speeds of "Up to 500Mbps". How does the extra 400Mbps of bandwidth get out.. magic?
__________________
Mac <- Macintosh <- McIntosh apples <- John McIntosh <- McIntosh surname <- "Mac an toshach" <- "Son of the Chief"
whooleytoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:07 AM   #5
VoR
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
I've got a cheap no-brand set that are the opposite
They're labelled as 1gig power line adapters (the ports are gig) but only operate at 500meg.

They get worryingly hot, but work very reliably at around 200mb with my usage scenario - Infinitely better than the 'expensive' branded netgear ones they replaced.

Last edited by VoR; Feb 18, 2013 at 09:14 AM.
VoR is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Tags
networking, powerline

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Mac Pro wont stay asleep + Networking issue UncleSchnitty Mac Pro 8 May 22, 2014 03:43 PM
Apple TV over powerline captainm1uk Apple TV and Home Theater 18 Nov 22, 2013 05:29 AM
Which NAS? Which Powerline adapters? wooden Buying Tips and Advice 7 Mar 20, 2013 10:52 AM
Win 7 wifi networking stopped working bootcamp Mac pro kgreene Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Mar 16, 2013 01:32 PM
Streaming Media from a NAS and Powerline Networking malfromcessnock MacBook Pro 24 Nov 20, 2012 07:35 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC