Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 18, 2013, 02:59 PM   #1
Tacticus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
How do I restore MacBook to factory settings?

Hi, I am looking to sell my MacBook Pro and need to restore it to factory settings, does anybody know how I do this ? I don't have any installation disks (it didn't come with any).
Tacticus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 03:02 PM   #2
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Reboot and hold Cmd-Opt-R at the chime to get into Internet Recovery. You will then be able to launch Disk Utility and wipe the hard drive, then reinstall OS X. This process may take more than an hour.
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 03:07 PM   #3
Tacticus
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Great thanks, the reinstall OS X step ..... I don't have discs so would that be from the hard drive ?
Tacticus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 03:13 PM   #4
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Internet Recovery will download the installer, no DVDs needed.
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 03:26 PM   #5
Spink10
macrumors 68020
 
Spink10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacticus View Post
Great thanks, the reinstall OS X step ..... I don't have discs so would that be from the hard drive ?
I would recommend downloading and creating a bootable OS X Lion/ML thumb drive. Much faster than internet recovery unless you have super blazing internet.
Spink10 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 03:48 PM   #6
DayVe3000
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: England
What MBP/OSX do you have?
DayVe3000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 04:37 PM   #7
hkim1983
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
If your computer originally started on Lion, but you manually upgraded to Mountain Lion, what does Internet Restore install?

Also, while we're at it...how would you secure erase a SSD on OS X?
hkim1983 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 04:53 PM   #8
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by hkim1983 View Post
If your computer originally started on Lion, but you manually upgraded to Mountain Lion, what does Internet Restore install?
Internet Recovery (Cmd-Opt-R) uses the computer's serial number to download the version that it came with. This is not the same as the Recovery System (Cmd-R) which reinstalls the same version as is currently present.
Nermal is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 05:03 PM   #9
hkim1983
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal View Post
Internet Recovery (Cmd-Opt-R) uses the computer's serial number to download the version that it came with. This is not the same as the Recovery System (Cmd-R) which reinstalls the same version as is currently present.
Thank you!
hkim1983 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 01:44 AM   #10
Tacticus
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Thanks for all the help everyone, I will give it a go
Tacticus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 07:19 AM   #11
cntwtfrmynwmbp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I had the exact same question here (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1543870), but no answers there.

So I'm happy about finding this thread

Has anyone an idea about the SSD question? (see quote below).

Quote:
Originally Posted by cntwtfrmynwmbp View Post
The MBP has an SSD. I've read somewhere that secure erasing may harm the SSD. How to deal with that?

Thanks for your help!
cntwtfrmynwmbp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 02:34 PM   #12
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by cntwtfrmynwmbp View Post
I had the exact same question here (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1543870), but no answers there.

So I'm happy about finding this thread

Has anyone an idea about the SSD question? (see quote below).
That is correct... you don't want to secure erase an SSD. If you want to make sure your data is safe before you sell, just turn on Filevault2 encryption on the drive and wait for it to finish encrypting. Then follow the step in this thread to get to Internet Recovery and erase Macintosh HD, then reinstall the OS.

When you erase the HD, it will erase the encrypted Filevault2 volume. So even if someone used tools to recover what you erased, it would still be encrypted.
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 03:05 PM   #13
PatriotInvasion
macrumors 6502a
 
PatriotInvasion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Why does secure erase harm the SSD and why would Apple still provide a secure empty trash feature on SSD-based Macs?
PatriotInvasion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 04:32 PM   #14
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatriotInvasion View Post
Why does secure erase harm the SSD and why would Apple still provide a secure empty trash feature on SSD-based Macs?
The theory is that a secure erase by overwriting with zeros like DU does needlessly adds wear cycles to the drive. If you look at DU on a SSD Mac, you will see the secure erase option is greyed out.
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 04:51 PM   #15
cntwtfrmynwmbp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
That is correct... you don't want to secure erase an SSD. If you want to make sure your data is safe before you sell, just turn on Filevault2 encryption on the drive and wait for it to finish encrypting. Then follow the step in this thread to get to Internet Recovery and erase Macintosh HD, then reinstall the OS.

When you erase the HD, it will erase the encrypted Filevault2 volume. So even if someone used tools to recover what you erased, it would still be encrypted.
Thanks! I'll try that.
cntwtfrmynwmbp is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 05:30 PM   #16
Josh125
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Katy, TX
Thumbs up

Great information!
__________________
3.06 GHz
Josh125 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 07:28 PM   #17
PatriotInvasion
macrumors 6502a
 
PatriotInvasion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
The theory is that a secure erase by overwriting with zeros like DU does needlessly adds wear cycles to the drive. If you look at DU on a SSD Mac, you will see the secure erase option is greyed out.
Secure erase is greyed out in Disk Utility, but you still have the option to "Secure Empty Trash" when emptying your trash bin. Isn't this in fact doing the same thing on a smaller scale?

And, if secure erase is the way to go for a HDD, how do you prevent recovery of data on an SSD if secure erase is not an option?
__________________
27-inch iMac [Late 2013, 3.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i5, 8GB of memory, 256GB of flash storage], iPad Air [16GB, silver], iPhone 5s [16GB, silver], Time Capsule [1TB, A1355, 3rd Generation]
PatriotInvasion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 10:13 AM   #18
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatriotInvasion View Post
Secure erase is greyed out in Disk Utility, but you still have the option to "Secure Empty Trash" when emptying your trash bin. Isn't this in fact doing the same thing on a smaller scale?

And, if secure erase is the way to go for a HDD, how do you prevent recovery of data on an SSD if secure erase is not an option?
Yes, it would seem so. A secure empty trash does overwrite the area with random data, so in theory this adds one more "write cycle" to that area of the disk.

To prevent data recovery with an SSD you can either encrypt then delete like I described in post post above, or you can boot from Linux and run the ATA secure erase command which does not add a write cycle.
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 12:36 PM   #19
PatriotInvasion
macrumors 6502a
 
PatriotInvasion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Yes, it would seem so. A secure empty trash does overwrite the area with random data, so in theory this adds one more "write cycle" to that area of the disk.

To prevent data recovery with an SSD you can either encrypt then delete like I described in post post above, or you can boot from Linux and run the ATA secure erase command which does not add a write cycle.
Thanks. So if you only plan to have the SSD-equipped Mac for say 3 years and only do a secure empty trash occasionally, I'm guessing write cycles shouldn't be too big of a deal?
__________________
27-inch iMac [Late 2013, 3.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i5, 8GB of memory, 256GB of flash storage], iPad Air [16GB, silver], iPhone 5s [16GB, silver], Time Capsule [1TB, A1355, 3rd Generation]
PatriotInvasion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 02:01 PM   #20
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatriotInvasion View Post
Thanks. So if you only plan to have the SSD-equipped Mac for say 3 years and only do a secure empty trash occasionally, I'm guessing write cycles shouldn't be too big of a deal?
I would not worry about it. There is some good info in this article on the topic.

This is from the article. Even with the newer TLC NAND, at 10GB writes a day you are looking at over 11 years. So even if secure empty trash cut that back somewhat, the computer will likely be dead and gone before the SSD starts to die.

Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2013, 10:04 AM   #21
jonmanheim
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Details?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal View Post
Reboot and hold Cmd-Opt-R at the chime to get into Internet Recovery. You will then be able to launch Disk Utility and wipe the hard drive, then reinstall OS X. This process may take more than an hour.
Can you give a little more detail on this process? I restarted with Cmd-option-R and got into a screen that says Mac OS X Utilities. I choose the Disk Utility option and Disk Utility opens. I have options to Erase or Restore my hard drive. But I don't see where it tells me there is an Internet Recovery option.
Thanks
jonmanheim is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2013, 10:07 AM   #22
saturnotaku
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonmanheim View Post
Can you give a little more detail on this process? I restarted with Cmd-option-R and got into a screen that says Mac OS X Utilities. I choose the Disk Utility option and Disk Utility opens. I have options to Erase or Restore my hard drive. But I don't see where it tells me there is an Internet Recovery option.
Thanks
You want to select the "install a new copy of OS X" option when the recovery program loads, not Disk Utility.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15 (Late 2011)
Core i7 2860QM | 16 GB RAM | AMD Radeon 6770M | SSD | High-Res Antiglare | OS X + Win 7
iPhone 4S (Verizon 64 GB)
saturnotaku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2013, 10:27 AM   #23
chabig
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
I don't think the option key is required to boot to OS X Recovery. All you need is cmd-R.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4718
chabig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2013, 10:49 AM   #24
jonmanheim
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku View Post
You want to select the "install a new copy of OS X" option when the recovery program loads, not Disk Utility.
OK. And then there is some kind of Internet Recovery? Because I do not have disks to restore OSX
jonmanheim is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2013, 11:01 AM   #25
chabig
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Yes. If its a newer machine it will boot over the Internet provided you put it on a network. Be patient because it is not fast.
chabig is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC