Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 17, 2013, 08:11 PM   #1
Chiguyjp
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Sprint 4S unlock

Hey all,

Just made a bad purchase choice and was wondering if there is an unlock for a 4s running 6.1.1 yet. Or is there anyway to get a sprint 4s unlocked(again running 6.1.1)? any information would be great.
Chiguyjp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 11:03 PM   #2
emoore
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Are you looking to use it on another network? Because I've been researching this for a few months. I have a sprint 4s and I have yet to find a reliable way to use it on another network, i.e. tmobile. There are a few SIM cards (Gevey, Rim-7) but looking at the reviews they don't seem to work reliably. When my contract is up I'm probably just going to sell the sprint 4s and get an unlocked AT&T model so I can use it on tmobile or wait for the tmobile iphone.
emoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 04:16 PM   #3
okwhatev
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
just bought the "New GPP" sim card for my Sprint iPhone 4S and can confirm it does work with ios 6.1.1 with my att/straight talk GSM 4G HSPA service... although (like all interposer sims) it takes some patience and experience with carrier preference settings to get everything working perfectly. although it does work... i cant for the life of me figure out why i cannot PLACE outgoing FaceTime calls. I can recieve them just fine. when i EJECT the sim i can make outgoing FaceTime calls instantly. weird huh?
okwhatev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 04:20 PM   #4
emoore
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
That's good news. I'll have to research the GPP sim. Does FaceTime work over wifi both directions?
emoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 07:25 PM   #5
Demonface
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Jersey/Miami
I also have the GPP Sim and it works perfectly . If you want I can tel you where mine was purchased . I didn't test Facetime so I wouldn't know if it works sorry.
Demonface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:42 PM   #6
Dominicanyor
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I went to AT&T and tried to swap my services from sprint. My 4s that I have with spring could not be done because AT&T SIM card will not would not work on my sprint. So to make a long story short I'm still with sprint.
Dominicanyor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:45 PM   #7
Chiguyjp
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
That would be great... anythig is better than trying to flash it and resell.
Chiguyjp is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC