Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:31 PM   #51
ArtOfWarfare
macrumors 603
 
ArtOfWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Send a message via Skype™ to ArtOfWarfare
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonjumper View Post
Was the last time you checked in 1973?
Whoops. I was thinking of their monetary system. They don't use the euro.
__________________
Don't tell me Macs don't last: 2007 iMac, 2007 Mac Mini, 2008 MacBook Air, all Vintage.
(iMac obsoletion: April 28, 2015, MBA: October 14, 2015, Mac Mini: March 9, 2016)
ArtOfWarfare is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:31 PM   #52
AidenShaw
macrumors G5
 
AidenShaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: The Peninsula
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raftysworld View Post
64GB of RAM. How often do you max that out?
I'm shopping for a new workstation - current one has 24 GiB of RAM that's way too small. I'm getting by with 20 extra GiB of pagefile striped across two SSDs.

I'm not looking at 64 GiB max systems, if it can't do 128 GiB it's not even on the short list.
__________________
Edward Snowden - American Hero.
Daniel Ellsberg: "Edward Snowden: Saving Us from the United Stasi of America"
Marriage equality is unstoppable
AidenShaw is offline   10 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:34 PM   #53
rei101
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Question...

Are the rest of the PCs facing the same issue? because all of them have fan and lots of circuitry exposed. The mac was the one with virtually no cables.

What anybody knows about it?
rei101 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:35 PM   #54
mdgm
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
The current dual-CPU Mac Pro can take 128GB RAM, but Mac OS X can only handle up to 96GB RAM, I think. One would think that the next Mac Pro model will support 128GB RAM.
__________________
Laptop - 2012 rMBP 2.3Ghz, 16GB RAM 256GB SSD
HTPCs - 2Ghz E09MM, 2.53Ghz L09MM, 2Ghz 11MMS
mdgm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:37 PM   #55
designgeek
macrumors 65816
 
designgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: "Town"
someone needs to go hold John Siracusa.
__________________
Always, always, always question everything.
designgeek is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:38 PM   #56
prowlmedia
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woodcrest64 View Post
Omg! Awesome rig mate! What do you do with that much power?
3d and vfx work / rendering etc - my company... www.prowl.co.uk
prowlmedia is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:41 PM   #57
zorinlynx
macrumors 68020
 
zorinlynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida, USA
These regulation changes should always grandfather in existing products.

Also, is people sticking fingers into fan blades REALLY such a big problem? And really, if you're that stupid, don't you deserve what you get?
__________________
Old-school Apple ][ expert! Ask me if you have a ][ question!
Apple user 1983-1992, 2003-Present -- Linux user 1995-Present
Windows-free since 2003! Though I still have to deal with it at work.
zorinlynx is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:43 PM   #58
prowlmedia
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raftysworld View Post
64GB of RAM. How often do you max that out?
Well quite often with 4K video footage work and especially when rendering After effect files. You can multiprocess 24 threads on a 12 core and AE requires 2gb ideally per thread. Preferably 3gb on heavy layered files.

A few other video apps can make use of that kind of Ram too,
prowlmedia is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:45 PM   #59
Renzatic
macrumors 604
 
Renzatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Who puts the washers in the woods?
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorinlynx View Post
Also, is people sticking fingers into fan blades REALLY such a big problem? And really, if you're that stupid, don't you deserve what you get?
It's a good thing those computer fans chopped off my middle fingers, cuz I'd totally be flipping you off right now if I still had em.

DON'T JUDGE ME FOR MY MISTAKES! YOU DON'T KNOW MY PAIN!
Renzatic is online now   4 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:49 PM   #60
dcdc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: London
No Mac Pro Outrage

Errrrrr There is no Mac Pro available in Europe. I thought Apple used to be a Computer company... Why not make a great computer ?
PS Mine is great and faster than the ones they used to make.
dcdc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:49 PM   #61
xnu
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
one digit down

I only have 9 fingers due to the Mac Pro design, darn fans. There are still users that need more then iMac... Please bring me an update... An iMac is not a desktop computer, it is a vertical portable. They are great, typing on one now, but need a Mac Pro for work....
xnu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:50 PM   #62
AidenShaw
macrumors G5
 
AidenShaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: The Peninsula
Quote:
Originally Posted by rei101 View Post
Are the rest of the PCs facing the same issue? because all of them have fan and lots of circuitry exposed. The mac was the one with virtually no cables.

What anybody knows about it?
No - the rest of the crowd added the 50 wire fan protectors years ago.

Only Apple is too arrogant to adapt its products for new regulations. (And saying "new" is generous to the Cupertino fruit company, this reg was enacted years ago...)
__________________
Edward Snowden - American Hero.
Daniel Ellsberg: "Edward Snowden: Saving Us from the United Stasi of America"
Marriage equality is unstoppable

Last edited by AidenShaw; Feb 18, 2013 at 08:58 PM.
AidenShaw is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:53 PM   #63
barkmonster
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lancashire
Quote:
Originally Posted by rei101 View Post
Are the rest of the PCs facing the same issue? because all of them have fan and lots of circuitry exposed. The mac was the one with virtually no cables.

What anybody knows about it?
That's a very valid point. They can't even cite the "easy open" nature of the case as a reason because exposed fan blades in an open case are still present in a lot of PCs. You could go to any number of sites and just pick a motherboard and CPU combo to show that the finished PC built around it has exposed fan blades, not to mention a spidery mess of internal cabling. I don't know why more systems from PC companies haven't been withdrawn for the same reasons at the same time.
barkmonster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:55 PM   #64
zoozx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: ca
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raftysworld View Post
Why would anyone ever need a Mac Pro? An iMac does everything a Mac Pro does, but in a smaller, sleeker, more portable case.
Stupid is as Stupid does.

Really, you need to ask this?

zoozx is offline   11 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:58 PM   #65
xVeinx
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raftysworld View Post
You guys have actually convinced yourselves that you need 12 cores?
I dare you to try assembling genomes on your iMac or Mac Mini. Double Dog Dare. I'll even buy you a latte when you're finished.


__________________
2011 Mac Mini; 2011 iMac 21"
xVeinx is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:00 PM   #66
Lark.Landon
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: So Cal
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoozx View Post
Stupid is as Stupid does.

Really, you need to ask this?

Maybe they're still a child. Don't be so harsh.
Lark.Landon is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:06 PM   #67
StealthGhost
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
$2.499 for a GPU from 2009

Should be the joke of the industry, but the industry has such a hard-on for Macs and such a lack of knowledge at what is in them that they get away with it, to an extent. Obviously most of us know they're CRAZY out of date, but alas, we're not their target.
StealthGhost is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:08 PM   #68
zoozx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: ca
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raftysworld View Post
Why would anyone ever need a Mac Pro? An iMac does everything a Mac Pro does, but in a smaller, sleeker, more portable case.
Stupid is as Stupid does.

Really, you need to ask this?

zoozx is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:08 PM   #69
senseless
macrumors 65816
 
senseless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
The next Pro will clearly differentiate itself from the Imacs.
senseless is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:09 PM   #70
wildmac
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lark.Landon View Post
Maybe they're still a child. Don't be so harsh.
No, the iMac kiddies need to realize that there are professional uses for a MacPro that their beloved iMacs can't handle. The video guys and 3D guys have already spoken up.

The other issue is simply the lame GPUs. There are a lot of us that don't need the horsepower of 12 cores, but do need a better video option than what the iMacs provide. As has been mentioned in other threads here, a MacMiniPro would be great if it had 2 drives, a changeable GPU, and modern ports.
wildmac is offline   12 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:13 PM   #71
aloshka
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildmac View Post
No, the iMac kiddies need to realize that there are professional uses for a MacPro that their beloved iMacs can't handle. The video guys and 3D guys have already spoken up.

The other issue is simply the lame GPUs. There are a lot of us that don't need the horsepower of 12 cores, but do need a better video option than what the iMacs provide. As has been mentioned in other threads here, a MacMiniPro would be great if it had 2 drives, a changeable GPU, and modern ports.
Oh my gosh, that would be ideal. A Mac mini pro. And support dual monitors.
__________________
nMP 6-core 32GB / 1TB SSD | Dual 27" TB | iPad rMini | 5S 64GB ColorWare Yellow/Black
aloshka is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:18 PM   #72
ScholarsInk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by aloshka View Post
Oh my gosh, that would be ideal. A Mac mini pro. And support dual monitors.
Return of the Cube.
ScholarsInk is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:21 PM   #73
SvK
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego
Quote:
Originally Posted by aloshka View Post
I don't know. I've moved on to an rmbp with dual 27 tb's and kind of happy.
That's where i'm at!
Happy (aside form not having 32 gig of RAM)

Its 50% faster than my 2010 quad-core.
It's nearly 6-core speed.and thats perfect for pro audio.

best,
SvK
__________________
"I once thought I was wrong, but I was mistaken."
2010 Mac Pro Quad, 32gig RAM,6 SSDs, Logic Pro 9
SvK
SvK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:21 PM   #74
QCassidy352
macrumors G3
 
QCassidy352's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco
Quote:
Originally Posted by AidenShaw View Post
This is almost unbelievable. Doing a silent rev to add a 50 fan blade guard would have made this unnecessary, and avoided scaring the pro users.

Unless "scaring the pro users" was the whole point....
it is unbelievable, but not for the reason you mention. In the many years the mac pro has been sold in Europe, how many times have customers been hurt by these unguarded fan blades? This is government regulation run completely amok.
__________________
"If Jesus Himself came back to earth and turned water to wine, half of MacRumors would say 'meh, this is red. I wanted white.'"
QCassidy352 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:22 PM   #75
WhyMack
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Extremely nice reel at your site!

Quote:
Originally Posted by prowlmedia View Post
3d and vfx work / rendering etc - my company... www.prowl.co.uk
Extremely nice reel at your site!

What idiot thought that could have been done on an iMac?

Again, great examples of putting all those cores through their paces!
WhyMack is offline   3 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone know when the apple stores will have mac pro 2013? The Doctor11 Mac Pro 8 Dec 31, 2013 06:51 PM
Apple Offering 32-Inch 4K Sharp Displays in European Online Apple Stores [Updated] MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 178 Dec 29, 2013 03:27 PM
Mac Mini Shipping Times Slip to 5-7 Days on Apple Online Stores, Possible Refresh Ahead? MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 191 Nov 1, 2013 11:15 AM
Mac Pro Unavailable in UK englishman Mac Pro 25 Mar 2, 2013 02:33 PM
Apple Online Stores Nearing Immediate Availability of Retina MacBook Pro Models MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 38 Aug 27, 2012 09:20 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC