Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dapitts08

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 1, 2009
looking for a new drive...

i am a graphic designer and am running out of space on my 1TB Lacie rugged...and would like to move onto a 3TB portable external....

any suggestions for a replacement?

or will my best bet to buy the drive and an enclosure?

if so, any enclosure suggestions?

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
"or will my best bet to buy the drive and an enclosure?
if so, any enclosure suggestions?"

I have always preferred buying the enclosure and drive _separately_, and then assembling them myself.

This way, you get to see how they go together, so if you ever encounter a problem, it's just as easy to take them _apart_ and troubleshoot.

If portability isn't a requirement, you might consider one of these:
http://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Dock...=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=B003UI62AG

You want to look for an enclosure (or dock) that has either an
ASMedia 1051e controller chip
or an
ASMedia 1053 controller chip.

Either of these support UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) for faster performance on UASP capable systems.

dapitts08

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 1, 2009
"

If portability isn't a requirement, you might consider one of these:
http://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Dock...=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=B003UI62AG

thanks!

yeah...portability is pretty important to me on occasion...i work from home so there are times when i like to hit up a coffee shop or two...

i have thought about docking stations but haven't pulled the plug because of this...

but now i am wondering if there is a snap and go type of enclosure that i could get along with a docking station for those occasions i am on the go...hmmm

g4cube

macrumors 6502a
Apr 22, 2003
looking for a new drive...