Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 16, 2015, 08:18 PM   #1
Sossity
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
macbook pro retina vs non retina laptop for cs6 InDesign

I recently bought a 2013 retina macbook pro 15 inch, and was planning on selling my mid 2010 non retina macbook pro 15 inch with a matt screen.

however, upon opening adobe indesign cs6 on my retina, all the text is very blurry, looks bad. I read that adobe does not offer an update to indesign for retina screens, so I am left with blurry text. I managed to update my other cs6 design premium apps, except indesign and acrobat pro. indesign has gone to CC for retina support. I dont like being forced to subscribe.

Now I am undecided, should I keep my older non retina macbook pro for indesign to look ok? I was going to try to sell it on ebay to get some money back from the retina macbook pro.

does anybody know of any workarounds to get cs6 indesign to look ok on a retina?
Sossity is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2015, 10:30 AM   #2
chaosbunny
macrumors 68000
 
chaosbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: down to earth, far away from any clouds
What kind of mode do you use with the retina screen? At the "best for retina" setting the text is really awful. If you use the 1680x1050 or 1920x1200 screen mode, which is better anyway because you get more screen space, the blur becomes less noticeable from a normal viewing distance.
__________________
>> Mac Pro 5,1 | 6x3.46ghz | GTX670 | 24gb | 240gb ssd | 9tb hds | usb3 | Dell U2711 + Wacom Cintiq 13" HD <<
chaosbunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2015, 03:52 PM   #3
Sossity
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
yes, I was looking at with the default setting, I found an app called swith res, and tried this, it lokked better.

should I hang on to my older laptop? or sell it?
Sossity is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2015, 05:53 PM   #4
keremtezcan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London, UK
Try updating InDesign to the Creative Cloud version, that should fix any Retina issues.
keremtezcan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2015, 03:43 AM   #5
chaosbunny
macrumors 68000
 
chaosbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: down to earth, far away from any clouds
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sossity View Post
yes, I was looking at with the default setting, I found an app called swith res, and tried this, it lokked better.

should I hang on to my older laptop? or sell it?
If it looks more or less ok now on the new one which obviously is faster too and there is no reason to keep the old one (backup machine, maybe good for a family member, ...) why not sell it?

Only you can decide if you can work with the retina and InDesign CS6 now. Maybe try it for 2-3 weeks and if you never feel the need to touch the old book in that period sell it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by keremtezcan View Post
Try updating InDesign to the Creative Cloud version, that should fix any Retina issues.
Yes, and it's only about 700,-/year!
__________________
>> Mac Pro 5,1 | 6x3.46ghz | GTX670 | 24gb | 240gb ssd | 9tb hds | usb3 | Dell U2711 + Wacom Cintiq 13" HD <<
chaosbunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2015, 12:02 PM   #6
heehee
macrumors 68020
 
heehee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Same country as Santa Claus
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sossity View Post
yes, I was looking at with the default setting, I found an app called swith res, and tried this, it lokked better.

should I hang on to my older laptop? or sell it?
CS5 looks perfectly fine on my 15 rMBP.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-03-19 at 1.01.33 PM.png
Views:	46
Size:	378.2 KB
ID:	535792  
heehee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2015, 02:54 AM   #7
Sossity
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by heehee View Post
CS5 looks perfectly fine on my 15 rMBP.
Thanks for this, what screen resolution are you running this at?
Sossity is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2015, 05:30 AM   #8
heehee
macrumors 68020
 
heehee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Same country as Santa Claus
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sossity View Post
Thanks for this, what screen resolution are you running this at?
The highest one, I think 1920x 1200?
heehee is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2015, MacRumors.com, LLC