Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 20, 2013, 01:11 PM   #1
falterego
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern California
Question Headless Remote Upgrade

I have a remote data center with several headless Mac Minis running Photoshop jobs on images. We need to upgrade some of our filters and other components and the requirements mean we need to do a OS upgrade from 10.5 to 10.6.

Is this something that can be done remotely using ARD? I've read a few posts about the Xserve having ARD support for similar upgrades, but I haven't been able to find anything referencing a non-server OS upgrade being done this way.

If it weren't for the 24/7 operation of the PS jobs I'd copy the DMG and follow the steps outlined for the Xserve. However, I can't risk the upgrade not working and us losing access to 1 of 5 systems for several days before we can have someone onsite to do the upgrade manually.
__________________
Why am I sticky and naked? Did I miss something fun?
2012 13in MBA | 2011 Mini Server | VZW iPhone 5s | VZW iPad mini | Airport Extreme N
Solid state is my way of life.
falterego is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 01:58 PM   #2
phr0ze
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Columbia, MD
Are you just after screen sharing? That can be turned on quite easily.
__________________
2012 11" MBA i7/8/256
2011 Mac Mini
Black iPad Air 64GB Verizon
Black iPhone 5S 32GB ATT
phr0ze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 10:58 PM   #3
mdgm
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Have you checked to make sure your systems running 10.5 have enough RAM installed to run 10.6? Also have you checked to make sure those systems are on the supported list for 10.6?

If you need to put more RAM in some systems you'll have to go on-site anyway to upgrade them.
__________________
Laptop - 2012 rMBP 2.3Ghz, 16GB RAM 256GB SSD
HTPCs - 2Ghz E09MM, 2.53Ghz L09MM, 2Ghz 11MMS
mdgm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 10:21 AM   #4
Adz76
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dagobah System
If you need to do a software update and reboot the machines I'm guessing this won't work.

Not sure if Macs POST like PCs but if they do you wont pass that as you need input devices present for the POST to be successfull.

I'd find out if they do, if they don't you should be fine.
Adz76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 04:12 PM   #5
falterego
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern California
We're able to reboot them remotely on a semi-regular basis if one of the PS scripts fails, so I know they will boot into the OS, login and run the scripts with no interaction. I have confirmed that all hardware supports 10.6, they can actually go all the way to 10.8, but it is not necessary to go that far.

My primary concern is being able to access the systems once they have rebooted into the install screens. I think we're just going to hold out until someone can be onsite for the install. I'll test the ARD connection when I have someone at the facility for other tasks.
__________________
Why am I sticky and naked? Did I miss something fun?
2012 13in MBA | 2011 Mini Server | VZW iPhone 5s | VZW iPad mini | Airport Extreme N
Solid state is my way of life.
falterego is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 05:01 PM   #6
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by falterego View Post
I think we're just going to hold out until someone can be onsite for the install. I'll test the ARD connection when I have someone at the facility for other tasks.
That's the smart move. Even if a dozen random strangers on the Internet told me it were possible, I'd still have someone on site.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote does not work after CPU upgrade Abdulhaq Mac mini 2 Jun 30, 2013 01:24 PM
AirPlay and iPhone Remote App not working after iOS upgrade? Uabcar Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Nov 3, 2012 02:36 PM
Remote Upgrade to Mountain Lion Server crose01 Mac mini 5 Jul 30, 2012 09:49 AM
How To Install 10.8 on a Headless Mac Mini Using Remote Desktop MadDoc OS X 2 Jul 27, 2012 04:44 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC