Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:47 PM   #1
Weerez935
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Problems installing new ssd

I partitioned the drive just like the guide said to do.
However carbon copy cloner kept giving me errors.

Now there is information on the external drive but I do not believe they copied right .

Is there a way to start over? erase whats currently on the external?


Errors:
Archiving or deleting this item /volumes/untitled 1/_ccc Archives/ 2013-02-21 (february 21) 19-49-32
Modifying this item's filesystem entry on the destination /volumes/untitled 1/applications/googlechrome.dmg
Setting information about this item on the destination /volumes/untitled 1/_ccc archives/2013-02-21 (february 21) 19-49-32/ applications.....
Weerez935 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:50 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
What exact errors did CarbonCopyCloner (version 3.4.7 is still free) give you?
And yes, to start over, you need to format the SSD again. Not a problem I guess?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:53 PM   #3
Weerez935
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
What exact errors did CarbonCopyCloner (version 3.4.7 is still free) give you?
And yes, to start over, you need to format the SSD again. Not a problem I guess?
I edited first post.


I tried several times with no success and there seems to be partial files on the drive but I don't know how to delete it, reformat it etc
Weerez935 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:57 PM   #4
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weerez935 View Post
I edited first post.


I tried several times with no success and there seems to be partial files on the drive but I don't know how to delete it, reformat it etc
You have previously formatted the SSD, why does it not work this time?

I guess you have already looked at this guide from one of your previous threads?
How to format a new HDD to install Mac OS X onto (or make a bootable copy onto)
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 09:00 PM   #5
Weerez935
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
You have previously formatted the SSD, why does it not work this time?

I guess you have already looked at this guide from one of your previous threads?
How to format a new HDD to install Mac OS X onto (or make a bootable copy onto)
yes I did that and the copy failed the first time on CCC because the "drive was not ejected properly" Then each other time it gave me the above errors.

Not sure where to go from here
Weerez935 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 09:02 PM   #6
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weerez935 View Post
yes I did that and the copy failed the first time on CCC because the "drive was not ejected properly" Then each other time it gave me the above errors.

Not sure where to go from here
So the reformatting works fine, but using CCC produces those results every time?

What exact SSD do you use in what exact enclosure? What exact CCC version do you use and have you tried SuperDuper! yet?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 09:09 PM   #7
Weerez935
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
So the reformatting works fine, but using CCC produces those results every time?

What exact SSD do you use in what exact enclosure? What exact CCC version do you use and have you tried SuperDuper! yet?
180 gig OWC Aurora Pro 6G for macbook air 2011
OWC envoy enclosure
I used both versions of CCC. I tried the old one first because it was free then proceeding using the new one.

I have not. Will I miss up the drive continuing to try to copy onto it now that there is some data on it?
Weerez935 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 09:11 PM   #8
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weerez935 View Post
Will I miss up the drive continuing to try to copy onto it now that there is some data on it?
No, you will not mess up the SSD.

Normally modern SSDs have a theoretical write/read limit of 10,000 to 100,000 cycles (P/E cycles), meaning if you had a 64 GB SSD and its cycle limit would be 10,000, you would have to write 625 TB to it, which would be 351 GB per day everyday for the next five years. Assuming those numbers vary and it would only be a tenth of that, it would still mean 35 GB per day, which under normal usage no average computer consumer does, not even with temporary files.

Since you purchased this drive from OWC, you probably have a right for technical support. Maybe contact them for Live Chat Support or email support.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 09:13 PM   #9
Weerez935
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
No, you will not mess up the SSD.

Normally modern SSDs have a theoretical write/read limit of 10,000 to 100,000 cycles (P/E cycles), meaning if you had a 64 GB SSD and its cycle limit would be 10,000, you would have to write 625 TB to it, which would be 351 GB per day everyday for the next five years. Assuming those numbers vary and it would only be a tenth of that, it would still mean 35 GB per day, which under normal usage no average computer consumer does, not even with temporary files.

Since you purchased this drive from OWC, you probably have a right for technical support. Maybe contact them for Live Chat Support or email support.
I will try super duper and then try owc
Weerez935 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 09:24 PM   #10
Weerez935
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
No, you will not mess up the SSD.

Normally modern SSDs have a theoretical write/read limit of 10,000 to 100,000 cycles (P/E cycles), meaning if you had a 64 GB SSD and its cycle limit would be 10,000, you would have to write 625 TB to it, which would be 351 GB per day everyday for the next five years. Assuming those numbers vary and it would only be a tenth of that, it would still mean 35 GB per day, which under normal usage no average computer consumer does, not even with temporary files.

Since you purchased this drive from OWC, you probably have a right for technical support. Maybe contact them for Live Chat Support or email support.
Trying superduper it gets all the way to copy and then it fails.
it does succeed in erasing it but fails to copy anything.

Then I get the "hard drive was not properly ejected"
Then I try to eject it and it does nothing
Weerez935 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 09:37 PM   #11
Weerez935
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weerez935 View Post
Trying superduper it gets all the way to copy and then it fails.
it does succeed in erasing it but fails to copy anything.

Then I get the "hard drive was not properly ejected"
Then I try to eject it and it does nothing
turned everything off reformatted/ erased drive.

Super duper fails to erase now
error, "the disk you inserted is not readable by the computer"
Finally got it to erase but still failed to copy

Last edited by Weerez935; Feb 21, 2013 at 09:47 PM.
Weerez935 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 10:26 AM   #12
Apple Techs
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Phoenix, Az
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weerez935 View Post
turned everything off reformatted/ erased drive.

Super duper fails to erase now
error, "the disk you inserted is not readable by the computer"
Finally got it to erase but still failed to copy
Just for right now why don't you try a clean install see how it turns out and restore from a time machine back up....I just did a CCC on the same ssd about a week ago for a customer and everything went through fine can't see why you are having an issue outside of corrupted data....
Apple Techs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2013, 01:58 PM   #13
Weerez935
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I called owc. The tech walked me through it again.

The reason I was having problems is that the toshiba ssd and the owc ssd are different voltages. The envoy is for the stock ssd but the voltage is to high for the owc aura. This isn't an issue with other standard size drives
Weerez935 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Besides a physical install of an SSD, what else should be done when installing an SSD unsolvedmistere MacBook Pro 7 Dec 22, 2013 10:27 AM
Installing New SSD, Moving Spinning to secondary, How to Install OSX on SSD kolbygoodman Mac mini 6 Oct 24, 2013 06:17 AM
Problems after installing SSD as second drive. mifloma iMac 3 Dec 30, 2012 09:36 AM
Installing OS X onto SSD MarcinK95 OS X 0 Dec 26, 2012 01:27 PM
So I'm installing an SSD... Khidd MacBook Pro 8 Dec 8, 2012 09:38 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC