Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 23, 2013, 10:19 AM   #1
michaelsaxon
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
iPhone without cell service

OK. Apologies in advance if this is a dumb question. I'm thinking about getting rid of my phone service on my iPhone 4 (too expensive, don't use it that much, can get data with my iPad Mini that is cheaper).

Anyhow, if I disconnect the service, what should I expect to happen with my phone? Will I still be able to use GPS for apps like Runkeeper? Will it be functionally identical to an iPod Touch? Any things I'm not considering?

Thanks.
michaelsaxon is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 10:22 AM   #2
617aircav
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelsaxon View Post
OK. Apologies in advance if this is a dumb question. I'm thinking about getting rid of my phone service on my iPhone 4 (too expensive, don't use it that much, can get data with my iPad Mini that is cheaper).

Anyhow, if I disconnect the service, what should I expect to happen with my phone? Will I still be able to use GPS for apps like Runkeeper? Will it be functionally identical to an iPod Touch? Any things I'm not considering?

Thanks.
Everything will work that does not need data. GPS will work but maps won't without data. If cost is an issue how will you afford the iPad data plan?
617aircav is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 11:06 AM   #3
michaelsaxon
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Thanks.

My phone (even after a discount) is $80 a month and I really only use data and iMessage with it. I rarely make calls. When I need to, I can use our VOIP phone at home or my wife's cell.

My iPad Mini data plan is $30 a month.

$80 - $30 = $50 saved a month.
michaelsaxon is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 11:12 AM   #4
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
There are cheaper pre-paid plans for the casual user, but is cool, use it as an iPod. Am sure some camping-type apps u can pre-load maps like finding your way in the boondocks.
__________________
Solution: FREE, Explanation: Is gonna cost ya.
Mrbobb is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 11:20 AM   #5
CEmajr
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelsaxon View Post
Thanks.

My phone (even after a discount) is $80 a month and I really only use data and iMessage with it. I rarely make calls. When I need to, I can use our VOIP phone at home or my wife's cell.

My iPad Mini data plan is $30 a month.

$80 - $30 = $50 saved a month.
You could get it unlocked and use one of the prepaid options like Tmobile or Straight talk which are $30-50 per month depending on which plan you choose.

In fact since you rarely make calls, Tmobile has a 100 minute, 5GB prepaid plan for $30 per month.
CEmajr is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 11:25 AM   #6
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
If you cancel your iPad data plan as well, use i.e. the option above on your iPhone and then tether your iPad to the iPhone, you won't loose any functionality at all (except that you need to keep your iPhone in a 30ft radius (read: in your pocket) when you want to surf over cellular on your iPad).
Giuly is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 11:46 AM   #7
Nolander07
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
If connected to wifi it would be identical to an iPod touch. I have been doing that with my old iPhone 4 for a few months. Everything will work except phone and regular texts (iMessage will work).
Nolander07 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 12:05 PM   #8
Gav2k
macrumors 601
 
Gav2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nolander07 View Post
If connected to wifi it would be identical to an iPod touch. I have been doing that with my old iPhone 4 for a few months. Everything will work except phone and regular texts (iMessage will work).
This plus added GPS.
__________________
iPad 3 4G 64Gb - iPad 2 3G 64Gb - iPad 3G 32Gb - iPhone 2g 8Gb - iPhone 3g 8Gb - iPhone 3gs 16Gb - iPhone 4 32Gb -iPhone 4s 64Gb - MacBook unibody Alu - mac mini i5 2.5Ghz - mac mini 2Ghz
Gav2k is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 01:18 PM   #9
michaelsaxon
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
I've shied away from those other plans because some aren't 3G (I can't even imagine going back to EDGE) and I've read reviews of others that say they get hosed on the data (bandwidth caps,etc.) or that they have really poor customer service. This was a while ago, so perhaps I need to reconsider this.

Plus, my iPhone is unlocked... Thanks for all the valuable input!
michaelsaxon is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 01:33 PM   #10
antman2295
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelsaxon View Post
I've shied away from those other plans because some aren't 3G (I can't even imagine going back to EDGE) and I've read reviews of others that say they get hosed on the data (bandwidth caps,etc.) or that they have really poor customer service. This was a while ago, so perhaps I need to reconsider this.

Plus, my iPhone is unlocked... Thanks for all the valuable input!
Straight talk runs off of At&t's towers, and they are only $45 a month for unlimited everything.
antman2295 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 02:01 PM   #11
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
I have a 3GS which was originally on AT&T. I'm on Sprint (the 3GS is not my main phone), so since it was given to me I've used it as a backup phone/iPod touch.

I put Talkatone on it. Talkatone leverages Google Voice and allows you to make VOIP calls/SMS/MMS, all free when on WiFi. iMessage still works, but it shows my iMessage friends an email address instead of a phone number because the phone is not activated.

So as long as I am on WiFi I get the same functionality with Talkatone as I would if the phone was actually using a carrier. Every place I go (home, work, Starbucks) has WiFi so this works. Google Voice is free of course and they let you choose your number.
__________________
PowerMac G4 QuickSilver - 1.6Ghz DP | Sprint iPhone 5 - iOS 7.1.2 / Eclipse Black
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!
eyoungren is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 02:24 PM   #12
upnorth85
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Can you receive calls on your google phone number in a Wi-Fi area? If yes, do you have to log out from google talk on all PC/laptops for this to happen?
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyoungren View Post
I have a 3GS which was originally on AT&T. I'm on Sprint (the 3GS is not my main phone), so since it was given to me I've used it as a backup phone/iPod touch.

I put Talkatone on it. Talkatone leverages Google Voice and allows you to make VOIP calls/SMS/MMS, all free when on WiFi. iMessage still works, but it shows my iMessage friends an email address instead of a phone number because the phone is not activated.

So as long as I am on WiFi I get the same functionality with Talkatone as I would if the phone was actually using a carrier. Every place I go (home, work, Starbucks) has WiFi so this works. Google Voice is free of course and they let you choose your number.
upnorth85 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 02:42 PM   #13
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
Quote:
Originally Posted by upnorth85 View Post
Can you receive calls on your google phone number in a Wi-Fi area? If yes, do you have to log out from google talk on all PC/laptops for this to happen?
Yes, you can receive calls and messages. You just have to have the Talkatone app running. It runs in the background so you can continue to do everything else you want to do. It will also warn you when it's about to terminate so that you can open it again and keep it going. When you get a call or text it pops up just like it does normally.

The dev suggests not messing with any settings if you login to your GV account on a computer. I suppose that's a downside, but I don't use GV on any of my computers so that doesn't affect me. If you do use it on your computers then you may have a conflict.

Talkatone is here (and also in the app store). I chose it at the time because I wanted an app that let me make normal calls and messaging without requiring the people I wanted to communicate with to install anything.

Oh yeah. It's fully functional with ads. You don't have to buy it to get the full functionality, but if you do it removes ads and gives you a few extra perks.
__________________
PowerMac G4 QuickSilver - 1.6Ghz DP | Sprint iPhone 5 - iOS 7.1.2 / Eclipse Black
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!
eyoungren is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 07:03 PM   #14
upnorth85
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Thanks.
I presume you do a call forward of your GV number not to your any cell number but to your google messenger account? For some reason, my GV calls terminate on my Android device which has a SIM, not on my iPhone 5 with no SIM.
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyoungren View Post
Yes, you can receive calls and messages. You just have to have the Talkatone app running. It runs in the background so you can continue to do everything else you want to do. It will also warn you when it's about to terminate so that you can open it again and keep it going. When you get a call or text it pops up just like it does normally.

The dev suggests not messing with any settings if you login to your GV account on a computer. I suppose that's a downside, but I don't use GV on any of my computers so that doesn't affect me. If you do use it on your computers then you may have a conflict.

Talkatone is here (and also in the app store). I chose it at the time because I wanted an app that let me make normal calls and messaging without requiring the people I wanted to communicate with to install anything.

Oh yeah. It's fully functional with ads. You don't have to buy it to get the full functionality, but if you do it removes ads and gives you a few extra perks.
upnorth85 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 07:26 PM   #15
michaelsaxon
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Well, I've just paid Google Voice $20 to port my number to their service. If I have this figured out right, they will just cancel my AT&T account, which I have no need to resume with a different number, and I still have my phone number safely ensconced in the Google Voice service.

I've also downloaded that Talkatone app...

I'll let everyone know how this goes.
michaelsaxon is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 08:08 PM   #16
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
Quote:
Originally Posted by upnorth85 View Post
Thanks.
I presume you do a call forward of your GV number not to your any cell number but to your google messenger account? For some reason, my GV calls terminate on my Android device which has a SIM, not on my iPhone 5 with no SIM.
I don't know how to answer that one. Talkatone takes care of all the setup. I simply gave it my Google credentials and it set all that stuff up with my GV number. What it does behind the scenes I don't know. However, I'm on Sprint and Sprint has a deal with GV where you can call the GV number and it will ring your cell phone. But it never gets to that point because Talkatone intercepts the call on my 3GS. If I don't pick up on the 3GS it just goes to voicemail instead of ringing my iPhone 5.
__________________
PowerMac G4 QuickSilver - 1.6Ghz DP | Sprint iPhone 5 - iOS 7.1.2 / Eclipse Black
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!
eyoungren is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 08:22 PM   #17
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by upnorth85 View Post
Thanks.
I presume you do a call forward of your GV number not to your any cell number but to your google messenger account? For some reason, my GV calls terminate on my Android device which has a SIM, not on my iPhone 5 with no SIM.
That's right. The Talkatone app logs in as your Google Talk, so you want to make sure that you have that set up to ring in your Google Voice preferences.
bohbot16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 04:51 AM   #18
michaelsaxon
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Google Voice's porting of my number finished last night. Everything, including the Talkatone app, seems to be working just fine. I have my GV number forwarding to my home phone and the Talkatone app, which all seems to work splendidly on my home network.

I'm going to try some things with my iPad Mini and its LTE connection today.
michaelsaxon is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 06:55 PM   #19
michaelsaxon
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
I think this combination is brilliant. Between GV's ability to forward my old cell to my work phone, home VOIP phone, and this app on my Mini, I'm rocking! And I've made several outbound calls on the Mini and my headphones/mic with this app.

I'm satisfied!
michaelsaxon is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 03:43 PM   #20
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by 617aircav View Post
GPS will work but maps won't without data.
There are nav apps that store map data locally and do not require data for maps.
takeshi74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 04:04 PM   #21
617aircav
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by takeshi74 View Post
There are nav apps that store map data locally and do not require data for maps.
Yeah everybody knows that, I was referring to the built in app.
617aircav is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phone keeps jumping/loosing cell service bluerocka iPhone 7 Oct 10, 2012 07:49 PM
Can you use an old iPhone 4 without cell service? EnvyX2 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 6 Oct 7, 2012 11:14 PM
iPhone 5 cell phone service Tmurray315 iPhone 0 Sep 28, 2012 11:05 AM
Horrible cell service Iphone 5 At&t bosco500 iPhone 7 Sep 26, 2012 01:16 PM
what is the functionality of an iPhone without cell service saltyzoo iPhone 23 Aug 17, 2012 06:32 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC