Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 24, 2013, 09:58 PM   #1
kylera
macrumors 6502a
 
kylera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seoul
Do I need to keep the images I use for desktop backgrounds around?

Title says all. Do I need to store whatever images I'm using for my desktop backgrounds, or can I trash them?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Current Macs: 2012 13" MBA | 2011 27" iMac | PowerBook G4 12" | eMac 700Mhz
Current iOS: iPad 4 3G 64GB | iPhone 4S 16GB
kylera is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 10:55 PM   #2
xShane
macrumors 6502a
 
xShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by kylera View Post
Title says all. Do I need to store whatever images I'm using for my desktop backgrounds, or can I trash them?

Thanks in advance.
Do a test. Set an image as the desktop background and then delete it.
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" 2.6, 8GB, 750GB, 1GB VRAM
"Everything for the people, nothing by the people."

"Be the change that you wish to see in the world."
xShane is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 02:40 AM   #3
warvanov
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Keep it around. While the system may be able to remember the image if you delete it, I've found that periodically and very rarely it will forget it, and if you don't have the image stored somewhere you'll have to track it down again to reset it as your background.
__________________
13" 2.3GHz MacBook Pro // 1.83GHz Core 2 Duo Mac mini // iPhone 5
warvanov is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 07:29 AM   #4
Vairamuthu
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Joburg
Once you set the image as background you can Trash it . The background won't change until you change with a new image.

You need to back it up if you need the old background image.
Vairamuthu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 10:19 AM   #5
Fishrrman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Put the desktop images into your home folder inside the "pictures" folder (let them stay "loose" inside, i.e., not in any other folder).

They will be "off the desktop", but still there for safekeeping...
Fishrrman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 11:52 AM   #6
Drew017
macrumors 65816
 
Drew017's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: East coast, USA
Send a message via Skype™ to Drew017
Quote:
Originally Posted by kylera View Post
Title says all. Do I need to store whatever images I'm using for my desktop backgrounds, or can I trash them?

Thanks in advance.
Yes, because even though the system will cache the wallpaper, you still should back it up in case you want to change it etc. Wallpaper shouldn't take up too much space, so IMO you shouldnt worry about it.
__________________
Who'll put on my shoes while I'm walking slowly down the hall of fame?
MacBook Air 13 inch (Mid 2013); Intel Core i5; 4GB RAM; OS X 10.10 Yosemite
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Drew017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Desktop: 27" iMac Desktop Backgrounds [2560x1440] RedReplicant UI Customization 13 Oct 29, 2013 11:21 PM
Random Desktop Backgrounds From Nested Folders Fluvance OS X 3 May 18, 2013 01:00 PM
Post your PowerPC Desktop Backgrounds ppcfanforever1 PowerPC Macs 23 Mar 20, 2013 04:57 AM
Mission Control showing two desktop backgrounds Iphone4sinwhite OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Oct 25, 2012 05:28 PM
deleted images still in desktop wallpapers ? original2 MacBook Air 3 Jul 14, 2012 03:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC