Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 24, 2013, 10:40 PM   #1
Myiphone7
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Will my AT&T iPhone 5 SIM card work with a Galaxy S3 or a Blackberry for AT&T

Will my iPhone 5 data package work with it?
Myiphone7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 10:45 PM   #2
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Blackberries, I think are a bit "special" when it comes to provisioning them. As far as I know, a "normal" SIM won't work with a Blackberry (this is certainly the case over here in NZ).

As for the S3, I don't foresee any issues there so long as it physically fits (you may need an adapter).
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 10:47 PM   #3
jackwills
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New York, NY
No
iPhone 5 uses nano sim and S3 uses micro sim
unless u use an adapter
not sure abt the blackberry I think they use standard sim?
jackwills is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 07:34 AM   #4
ZeroGauge
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dauphin County, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myiphone7 View Post
Will my iPhone 5 data package work with it?
Yes. The sim will work you just need an adapter. I found one for about $1 on Amazon a little while back and it came rather quickly. I have a galaxy S3 and an iPhone 5 and the only issue that I've had was when taking my SIM card from the iPhone and putting it into the S3 was the fact that you'll have to call AT&T for data to start working.
ZeroGauge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 07:38 AM   #5
sawah
macrumors 6502a
 
sawah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I used an adaptor to put my iPhone 5 sim into my Galaxy Nexus. Once I input the right APN my data worked fine, I didn't have to call AT&T at all.
__________________
"Doing something new and different is easy. Doing something genuinely better is hard."
iPhone 4s ios 8b5, LG g2
sawah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 04:18 PM   #6
Myiphone7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroGauge View Post
Yes. The sim will work you just need an adapter. I found one for about $1 on Amazon a little while back and it came rather quickly. I have a galaxy S3 and an iPhone 5 and the only issue that I've had was when taking my SIM card from the iPhone and putting it into the S3 was the fact that you'll have to call AT&T for data to start working.
But it isn't a problem otherwise?

Will I lose my unlimited data?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by sawah View Post
I used an adaptor to put my iPhone 5 sim into my Galaxy Nexus. Once I input the right APN my data worked fine, I didn't have to call AT&T at all.
What does APN mean?
Myiphone7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 05:00 PM   #7
AutoUnion39
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroGauge View Post
Yes. The sim will work you just need an adapter. I found one for about $1 on Amazon a little while back and it came rather quickly. I have a galaxy S3 and an iPhone 5 and the only issue that I've had was when taking my SIM card from the iPhone and putting it into the S3 was the fact that you'll have to call AT&T for data to start working.
No, you don't. I swap my SIM (with adapter) between my Note 2 and iPhone 5 all the time. Nothing has to be done. Data works perfect on both devices. I've swapped the SIM into my old S3, Nexus 4, Optimus G, etc. Never needed to call AT&T.
AutoUnion39 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 07:46 AM   #8
sawah
macrumors 6502a
 
sawah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myiphone7 View Post
But it isn't a problem otherwise?

Will I lose my unlimited data?

----------



What does APN mean?
APN is Access Point Name.
__________________
"Doing something new and different is easy. Doing something genuinely better is hard."
iPhone 4s ios 8b5, LG g2
sawah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 08:01 AM   #9
1080p
macrumors 68000
 
1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Planet Earth
When I swapped from iPhone 5 to Galaxy Note II, AT&T needed to change my data plan from "iPhone Data" to "Smartphone Data." Otherwise my Note II couldn't stay connected to LTE and would only pickup HSPA.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini Quad Core i7 | OSX Yosemite | iPhone 6 | Synology NAS
1080p is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 10:07 AM   #10
Myiphone7
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1080p View Post
When I swapped from iPhone 5 to Galaxy Note II, AT&T needed to change my data plan from "iPhone Data" to "Smartphone Data." Otherwise my Note II couldn't stay connected to LTE and would only pickup HSPA.

I'm afraid I'd have the same problem
Myiphone7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 02:03 PM   #11
sawah
macrumors 6502a
 
sawah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
My iPhone 5 plans works with the Galaxy Nexus because the at&t plan supports hspa+. So I didn't have to change my plan and I still get hspa+.
__________________
"Doing something new and different is easy. Doing something genuinely better is hard."
iPhone 4s ios 8b5, LG g2
sawah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 05:33 PM   #12
ZeroGauge
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dauphin County, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by AutoUnion39 View Post
No, you don't. I swap my SIM (with adapter) between my Note 2 and iPhone 5 all the time. Nothing has to be done. Data works perfect on both devices. I've swapped the SIM into my old S3, Nexus 4, Optimus G, etc. Never needed to call AT&T.
Really? I don't understand why data never works on my S3 until I call At&t to change the data plan. Is your data plan for the iPhone 5 or an Android device?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myiphone7 View Post
But it isn't a problem otherwise?

Will I lose my unlimited data?

----------



What does APN mean?
As long as the phone isn't purchased through an upgrade it shouldn't interfere with your unlimited data at all. A member in this thread also brought it to my attention that you don't have to call At&t when trading your SIM card from your devices so there really shouldn't be any issues.
__________________
Gold iPhone 6 64GB 2013 MacBook Pro 13" Apple TV (3rd Gen) Space Gray iPad Mini 16Gb
ZeroGauge is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will Unlocked iPhone 5s with T-Mobile SIM work with AT&T LTE after switching SIM? howierr iPhone 8 Sep 3, 2014 10:59 AM
Swapping sim card between iPhone 4 and S4 on AT&T MacUser03 Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 16 Sep 16, 2013 07:59 PM
Data & Voice at The Same on iP5 Verizon with AT&T Nano Sim Card Works apierrec iPhone 7 Oct 6, 2012 02:02 PM
Use AT&T iPad 3 with iPhone SIM card? moonman239 iPad 2 Jul 4, 2012 11:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC