Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 25, 2013, 03:31 AM   #1
Vairamuthu
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Joburg
Disk partition

Hi all,

I have MBA 2011 13" 256GB.

I partitioned 150GB for system and 100GB for data and stored all data's.

If my OS get corrupted and i want to install a fresh copy of ML.

Do i have to format only system partition or do i have to format the whole hard disk?


Regards
Vairam
Vairamuthu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 05:07 AM   #2
msjones
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
You will just be able to restore to the system partition without it touching your 'archive' partition.

However, if possible use time machine backups. Always better to have a backup of files and not need it.
__________________
MacBook Pro / Nexus 4.
InfoSec guy.
msjones is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 09:58 AM   #3
Fishrrman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
"Do i have to format only system partition or do i have to format the whole hard disk?"

You would only have to re-initialize the "boot partition". No need to re-initialize and re-partition the entire drive.

As mentioned in reply #2, you should consider some kind of external backup.

I DO NOT recommend using Time Machine, however.

Instead, get an external drive with an overall capacity larger than the total of your internal (that is, 250gb or larger).

Then, partition it, just as you did your internal drive.

Next, download CarbonCopyCloner (or Superduper). You can get CCC here:
http://www.bombich.com/download.html

Now, use CCC to "clone" your internal boot partition (to your EXTERNAL boot partition) and then your internal data patition (to your EXTERNAL data partition).

Do this, and you will be fully protected against a failure of the internal drive.

A CCC backup is BOOTABLE and is also in POFF (plain ol' finder format) -- just mount it and "go". You CAN'T BOOT from a T.M. backup.

You can either buy an external drive, but I actually suggest you purchase the drive "core" and enclosure separately, and build it yourself. It's easy to do, and since you put it together, if anything ever goes wrong with it, you'll know how to take it apart.

I suggest this as an enclosure:
http://oyendigital.com/hard-drives/store/U32-M.html

Then find a 2.5" drive to go inside...
Fishrrman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 06:02 AM   #4
Vairamuthu
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Joburg
Thanks msjones and Fishrrman for your replies guys.

"A CCC backup is BOOTABLE and is also in POFF (plain ol' finder format) -- just mount it and "go". You CAN'T BOOT from a T.M. backup."

This sounds amazing . I already have a 1TB Ext drive.

Can i create partition exactly like my mac and do backup in that hard disk and use the remaining 750GB space for other purpose. Does the bootable option works in my 1TB.

or

The Backup drive should be a exclusive for MAC?

Thanks
Vairam
Vairamuthu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 07:21 AM   #5
benwiggy
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vairamuthu View Post
I partitioned 150GB for system and 100GB for data and stored all data's.
If my OS get corrupted and i want to install a fresh copy of ML.
Do i have to format only system partition or do i have to format the whole hard disk?
Several points worth raising here:
1. OS X rarely gets "corrupted". In ten years of using OS X (10.2 to 10.8), I've reinstalled the OS twice. Most problems are caused by third-party software or problems in the user account.

2. By default, a reinstall of OS X will replace the existing System files and leave your user data, apps and settings in place. So even if something goes wrong, there is no need to separate your files from the system (any more than the standard "user domain" is separate from the system).

3. You don't need to re-format either -- perhaps erase and install, but not re-format.

4. OS X expects to find stuff in particular places, and attempts to alter those locations can cause trouble.

5. I've never partitioned a drive and not wanted it to be different later.

Time Machine is excellent for data backing -- I see no reason not to recommend it. But CCC is ideal for making bootable clone images.
benwiggy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 07:39 AM   #6
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vairamuthu View Post
Thanks msjones and Fishrrman for your replies guys.

"A CCC backup is BOOTABLE and is also in POFF (plain ol' finder format) -- just mount it and "go". You CAN'T BOOT from a T.M. backup."

This sounds amazing . I already have a 1TB Ext drive.

Can i create partition exactly like my mac and do backup in that hard disk and use the remaining 750GB space for other purpose. Does the bootable option works in my 1TB.

or

The Backup drive should be a exclusive for MAC?

Thanks
Vairam
Yes, you can make two or more partitions on the external drive and use one for backups and the other(s) for whatever you want.

There really is no need to partition the internal SSD though. The way OS X organizes user data it is very easy to just copy/backup that data if you want, and as other mentioned, an OS reinstall won't erase your data.

I would just leave one partition on the SSD and use the included Time Machine to backup the entire drive to your 1TB external. Maybe give yourself a 500GB partition on the external for the Time Machine backup. This will allow extra backup space for older versions of your data.

Also, a Time Machine backup can be used to boot and restore the entire system. All CCC adds is the ability to boot from the external and actually run from that disk if you have to.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 10:39 AM   #7
Vairamuthu
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Joburg
I will try both Time machine and CCC .

I partitioned my 256GB in to 150 and 100GB. How can i make it as one single disk?

I felt my mac is getting slower when it was a single disk. Apps took long to start and had system freeze issue while startup.

After partition i am feeling its back to normal and no more freeze during the start up.

Thanks guys for your advice. Much appreciated.
Vairamuthu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 10:44 AM   #8
benwiggy
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vairamuthu View Post
I partitioned my 256GB in to 150 and 100GB. How can i make it as one single disk?

I felt my mac is getting slower when it was a single disk. Apps took long to start and had system freeze issue while startup.

After partition i am feeling its back to normal and no more freeze during the start up.
Use Disk Utility to create one partition.

Whatever your problem was, I suspect that partitioning the drive was coincidental, rather than the solution to the problem. It may have been as simple as rebooting that was the fix.
benwiggy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 05:57 PM   #9
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vairamuthu View Post
How can i make it as one single disk?
Move the data off the second partition, then start Disk Utility and select the second partition. Then click the minus at the bottom to remove it. Then follow this guide to expand the original partition back like it was.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 01:02 AM   #10
Vairamuthu
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Joburg
Thanks a lot Weaselboy & benwiggy

Vairam
Vairamuthu is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 01:37 AM   #11
Vairamuthu
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Joburg
Got a new issues when using CCC.

I partitioned my External HDD 1TB to 160GB(for my system) and balance 840GB with all my data. I repartitioned the 160GB as Mac HFS. 840GB is partitioned on windows NTFS.

CCC can clone the mac to 160GB partition but can't clone Recovery partition .So i can't use this disk as startup disk.

complaining - The underlying disk is not partitioned with the GPT partitioning scheme.

How to partition my disk in way to accomodate the recovery partition with out causing trouble for my data in 840GB partition ?
Vairamuthu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 06:40 AM   #12
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vairamuthu View Post
Got a new issues when using CCC.

I partitioned my External HDD 1TB to 160GB(for my system) and balance 840GB with all my data. I repartitioned the 160GB as Mac HFS. 840GB is partitioned on windows NTFS.

CCC can clone the mac to 160GB partition but can't clone Recovery partition .So i can't use this disk as startup disk.

complaining - The underlying disk is not partitioned with the GPT partitioning scheme.

How to partition my disk in way to accomodate the recovery partition with out causing trouble for my data in 840GB partition ?
You will need to use GPT with HFS+ to boot an Intel Mac and use the recovery partition. See the last post in this thread for a work around.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2013, 12:21 AM   #13
Vairamuthu
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Joburg
solved

I empty my 1TB Disk and did Guid partition in mac. 150 for Mac HD and Rest for the General Backup.

Cloned my System and created Recovery Partition .

Tested using Cloned disk as Startup , Everything works Fine,

Thanks A lot Guys..
Vairamuthu is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot Mount Disk: Corrupted TM Partition msoon77 OS X 0 Apr 1, 2013 02:16 AM
Partition without OS X disk? webs93 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Oct 25, 2012 05:59 PM
Can't resize partition in Disk Utility yjchua95 MacBook Pro 2 Oct 11, 2012 02:00 AM
Can I partition on 10.7.4 without erasing hard disk? Ginny Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 17 Oct 1, 2012 08:28 PM
How to Resize a Disk Partition in Disk Utility? RayeChalar Mac Basics and Help 2 Jul 28, 2012 01:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC