Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 25, 2013, 01:01 PM   #1
xraytech
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Exclamation WARNING!!! DO NOT USE "NetoTV Installer"

So I recently JBed and installed XBMC on my 2nd Gen AppleTV.

Installed XBMC using the "Brainless" method, used "NitoTV Installer". Now I can't SSH into my AppleTV to do other stuff.

So I'm guessing NitoTV Installer is the culprit.

How can I fix this?

Last edited by xraytech; Feb 26, 2013 at 09:21 AM.
xraytech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 04:11 PM   #2
waw74
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2008
password is alpine

also make sure you're doing "ssh root@##.##.##.##"
lower case r - only say this because you said "Root password"
and if you don't do the "root@" you're trying to use your user login on your computer

otherwise it's re-jailbreaking.
waw74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 04:43 PM   #3
xraytech
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by waw74 View Post
password is alpine

also make sure you're doing "ssh root@##.##.##.##"
lower case r - only say this because you said "Root password"
and if you don't do the "root@" you're trying to use your user login on your computer

otherwise it's re-jailbreaking.
Thanks, I've tried all that.

Time to restore I guess.

Anybody else wanna chime in?
xraytech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 05:57 PM   #4
xraytech
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Before I restore and re-jailbreak let me rephrase. I don't think its a password issue.

Here's what I get when enter ssh root@xx.xx.xx.xx on my terminal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xraytech View Post
Bernard-Manansalas-MacBook-Pro:~ Bernard$ ssh root@xx.xx.xx.xx
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
@ WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED! @
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
IT IS POSSIBLE THAT SOMEONE IS DOING SOMETHING NASTY!
Someone could be eavesdropping on you right now (man-in-the-middle attack)!
It is also possible that a host key has just been changed.
The fingerprint for the RSA key sent by the remote host is
xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx.
Please contact your system administrator.
Add correct host key in /Users/Bernard/.ssh/known_hosts to get rid of this message.
Offending RSA key in /Users/Bernard/.ssh/known_hosts:1
RSA host key for xx.xx.xx.xx has changed and you have requested strict checking.
Host key verification failed.
Bernard-Manansalas-MacBook-Pro:~ Bernard$

Last edited by xraytech; Feb 25, 2013 at 06:04 PM.
xraytech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 06:09 PM   #5
brentmore
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Honolulu
Did you recently install a new system? If so, that may be the cause. Try deleting the known hosts and try again.
brentmore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 06:12 PM   #6
xraytech
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentmore View Post
Did you recently install a new system? If so, that may be the cause. Try deleting the known hosts and try again.
Trying that right now.

Anybody else got an idea?
xraytech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 09:27 PM   #7
waw74
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2008
that just means that you have ssh'ed into something with that address before, and it had a different fingerprint, i'm pretty sure even re-jailbreaking will cause that to pop up as it resets the system fingerprint on the aTV.

i know reinstalling linux on my server box will cause that to pop up.

if you know a terminal text editor you can use that, and just remove the offending line.
or just type the following command into terminal

Code:
sudo rm ~/.ssh/known_hosts
you'll have to type in your user password after you do that.
waw74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 02:45 AM   #8
xraytech
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by waw74 View Post
that just means that you have ssh'ed into something with that address before, and it had a different fingerprint, i'm pretty sure even re-jailbreaking will cause that to pop up as it resets the system fingerprint on the aTV.

i know reinstalling linux on my server box will cause that to pop up.

if you know a terminal text editor you can use that, and just remove the offending line.
or just type the following command into terminal

Code:
sudo rm ~/.ssh/known_hosts
you'll have to type in your user password after you do that.
AWESOME!!!

Thank You.
xraytech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 03:57 AM   #9
TriJetHero
macrumors 601
 
TriJetHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: World
Next time you can also do

Ssh-keygen -R xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

Will only remove key for the target ip
__________________
iPhone 6 iOS 8.0 Stock
iPhone 5 iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 4 3G iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 2 WIFI iOS 8.0 GM
TriJetHero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 04:25 AM   #10
xraytech
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
THANK YOU TO EVERYONE!!!

Issue fixed.

Jailbroken and installed XBMC "The Old Fashioned Way"

Last edited by xraytech; Feb 26, 2013 at 04:32 AM.
xraytech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 07:09 AM   #11
TriJetHero
macrumors 601
 
TriJetHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: World
maybe wanna change the tittle as it not accurate
__________________
iPhone 6 iOS 8.0 Stock
iPhone 5 iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 4 3G iOS 7.1.2 Stock
iPad 2 WIFI iOS 8.0 GM
TriJetHero is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I create a "generic" 10.9 installer? JPamplin OS X Mavericks (10.9) 7 Apr 1, 2014 04:48 PM
Bootcamp "Installer disc cannot be found" bootcamp88 MacBook Air 0 Nov 6, 2013 05:35 PM
What is "Mobile Device Installer Package" yalag iOS 7 9 Aug 14, 2013 06:51 AM
No Disk Utility in "Utilities" menu in Mac OS X Snow Leopard Installer nosuchthing Mac Basics and Help 0 Jul 24, 2012 01:11 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC