Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 25, 2013, 02:33 PM   #1
sampdoria
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Remote Access Mac from Windows

I can successfully remote access my Time Capsule Disk (with a DynDNS alias ) via AFP from my MBP.

I can somewhat successfully remote access my Mac Mini from my MBP with 'Back To My Mac' enabled on the Mac Mini. It feels a bit slower than remote accessing the TC though.

I can also successfully access my Mac Mini from a Windows PC within my local network. I'm very happy with this too .

I'd like to remote access my Mac Mini from a Windows PC via SFTP (or comparable). I googled "remote access mac from pc" and I find some somewhat outdated guides which don't apply anymore. FYI- running OS X Mountain Lion on the Mac Mini. Please advise. Thanks!
__________________
create magic not havoc
sampdoria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 05:31 PM   #2
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
I Looked at FTP/FTPS/SFTP. I ened up with SFTP since it uses SSH (port 22). This allows me to SSH in and SecureFTP in without any extra ports being opened.

Good luck.

EDIT: And I have the same setup. Mac mini (sig) running ML with OS X Server app. I also use FlleZilla client to SFTP into my system.
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 02:18 PM   #3
sampdoria
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwhities View Post
I Looked at FTP/FTPS/SFTP. I ened up with SFTP since it uses SSH (port 22). This allows me to SSH in and SecureFTP in without any extra ports being opened.

Good luck.

EDIT: And I have the same setup. Mac mini (sig) running ML with OS X Server app. I also use FlleZilla client to SFTP into my system.
That works! I am also remote accessing the Mac Mini with a DynDNS alias as well. Thanks!
__________________
create magic not havoc
sampdoria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 04:40 PM   #4
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
Quote:
Originally Posted by sampdoria View Post
That works! I am also remote accessing the Mac Mini with a DynDNS alias as well. Thanks!
Great to hear. I've been spoiled with a comcast business class connection with 5 static IPs. In April, I'll lose it as I'm going to trim and cut expenses as money is getting tight(er). So I too will be looking at DynDNS or another service like that.

I'm glad that it's all working for you. Welcome for sure.
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 08:10 AM   #5
switon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
RE: DynDNS...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwhities View Post
Great to hear. I've been spoiled with a comcast business class connection with 5 static IPs. In April, I'll lose it as I'm going to trim and cut expenses as money is getting tight(er). So I too will be looking at DynDNS or another service like that.

I'm glad that it's all working for you. Welcome for sure.
Hi all,

I've been using DynDNS for nearly three years for my home server and have not had any problems. If you are using their "free" service, however, you do have to "touch base" once a month to refresh it -- but this can be done automatically.

Good luck with DynDNS,
Switon
switon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 04:45 PM   #6
sampdoria
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by switon View Post
Hi all,

I've been using DynDNS for nearly three years for my home server and have not had any problems. If you are using their "free" service, however, you do have to "touch base" once a month to refresh it -- but this can be done automatically.

Good luck with DynDNS,
Switon
I am not sure if they offer the free service anymore which I have and refresh once a month by signing into my account. How do you do this automatically?
__________________
create magic not havoc
sampdoria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 08:20 PM   #7
switon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sampdoria View Post
I am not sure if they offer the free service anymore which I have and refresh once a month by signing into my account. How do you do this automatically?
Hi sampdoria,

I know that Dyn.com does not offer the free dynamic dns service any longer (although, as of about 6 months ago, if you do their free 14-day trial and terminate it before the end of the 14 days, you are given the option to keep one dns name).

I automatically refresh once a month using a cron job.

Switon
switon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 12:56 AM   #8
sampdoria
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by switon View Post
I automatically refresh once a month using a cron job.
dare I ask what is a cron job?
__________________
create magic not havoc
sampdoria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 07:47 AM   #9
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
Be careful....

Open up Terminal and type:

man cron

and man crontab

Good luck.
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 11:39 AM   #10
chown33
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by sampdoria View Post
dare I ask what is a cron job?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cron

Be sure to read the "See Also" section of that article for alternatives, such as at and launchd.
chown33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 12:16 PM   #11
switon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
RE: crontab and AppleScript/Calendar...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sampdoria View Post
dare I ask what is a cron job?
Hi sampdoria,

Cron is a unix utility that runs a daemon that will start any other job at any specified time, including repeating times. It works well and takes just a minimum amount of effort to configure --- typically just a single line will then spawn any job you wish once a month, or once a week, or daily, or hourly, etc. If you have an /etc/cronjob file, then Apple's launchd daemon will launch the crond daemon which will spawn the specified jobs at the specified times. The manpage documentation is particular fine in this case, so view it with the Terminal command: "man cronjob".

Another way of achieving the same thing is to use AppleScript in conjunction with the Calendar. So you make an AppleScript to run the job you wish to run, and then use Calendar to execute the AppleScript at the time (repeating) that you wish to run the job.

Regards,
Switon
switon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 08:24 PM   #12
sampdoria
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I learn something new everyday. Thanks!
sampdoria is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Remote Desktop Unable to Access MAC From Internal or External thesage OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Jan 4, 2014 08:35 AM
'Parallels Access' Launches in App Store, Bringing Mac and Windows Access to the iPad MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 49 Sep 16, 2013 12:10 PM
Remote access of Mac from windows-mac over internet meashish OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 6 Jul 24, 2013 01:19 AM
How do I remote access ML Server with Windows like AFP? wally13 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 11 Apr 1, 2013 08:28 PM
Best way to access VPN and RDP into remote Windows PC d000hg OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 6 Oct 26, 2012 01:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC